Humans logo

Be evenly yoked

Don't settle for just anyone.

By MICHELLE SMITHPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

We as humans want everything to go our way. We want a relationship when we feel like it. Want to be loved when it is convenient for us. However, we put ourselves into situations that aren't ideal for us. We are to be evenly yoked with our partner. So being unevenly yoked isn't going to make for a great match. Yet we don't see that because our heart wants what it wants and to love who it wants to love.

It has been heavy on my heart lately, that thought of being alone. Thoughts of not being with someone since my last relationship ten months ago. Now, I'm not looking for pity or throwing a pity party but I just wanted to take time out to remind others about the type of relationships you should be looking for. We are always forcing relationships and wondering why they aren't lasting. We should be looking for a relationship with someone who is on the same page as our self making the relationship, "evenly yoked" together.

I would like to take time to explain how to be evenly yoked with your partner and why being unevenly yoked isn't right. We can't force something that isn't meant to be. I've learned from my experience. I might be feeling lonely now but I am not alone, we forget that others surround us as well as family/friends. I thought I found someone who was evenly yoked with me but I was wrong. Here I am now ten months later back at square one but pushing onward. Others have experienced similar situations; however, the relationship was most likely with an unbeliever (unevenly yoked).

Being evenly yoked means working together and putting communication as a priority. We are not perfect people but we should be in sync with one another on a majority of things in the relationship. Therefore, the person that you wish to spend your life with should be going down a similar path as you.

Being with someone who isn't headed in the same direction as you are is a relationship headed for disaster. Being yoked with someone who is on the same path as you sets a better chance at the relationship lasting. When in a relationship,you should be focused on how you can improve it instead of looking for all the reasons to leave when it gets hard. We need to be wanting to work through the hardships/trials of the relationship in order to be evenly yoked. There will always be bumps in the road as things progress and being evenly yoked with your partner means you will be able to face anything.

I tried looking up more information about being evenly yoked and unyoked with your partner. Then it dawned on me that I didn't need to research it. Within me I know the reasons why we shouldn't be with someone who isn't on the same path as me. In order for a relationship to work, we need to be willing to put the effort and time into the relationship. Nothing is going to easy.

Through experience I've noticed that I'd match with men who claimed to want the same future as I. Then as the relationship progressed it showed the others true colors. Hence the reason being evenly yoked is important. We can't expect things to be perfect because we are not perfect and far from it. Relationships are meant to last. A goal should be setup from the start on where you see the relationship going. There is nothing wrong with having expectations.

Overall, you should surround yourself with others who are goal oriented just like you and are willing to set standards for what you are expecting. We are all different, we have different personalities but that is what attracts us to each other besides our looks. There is more to a person than what is on the outside and we need to learn that because when setting our expectations or standards, we never know what to expect from how they look but learn a lot from how they act.

Be evenly yoked instead of unevenly yoked. You will see the communication and the love you two have for each other will weight out all the rough patches you will face. From experience I can relate, unfortunately I'm still waiting on my prince charming. However, don't give up. Just keep chugging along in your life and that special someone will come along, it will take time but when you do find that person you will know you are meant to be together. Don't settle for what you don't deserve and know that being evenly yoked together just builds a stronger bond between you two.

advice
Like

About the Creator

MICHELLE SMITH

An inspirational poet. Writing poems to show others that it is okay to show feelings another way. I've tried a couple articles but I've found I'm better at the poetry. Just want to inspire and encourage others through tough times.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.