Humans logo

Baggage

Some souvenirs can't be taken from you

By Seki LynchPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Baggage
Photo by Waldemar Brandt on Unsplash

I'd run from Leeds after running from London. Leaving a seven-year relationship at 24 puts a certain kind of blue in you. The blue grew. I couldn't stop hearing her voice. In December chill, mum drove from Leeds to London to collect me in a white Transit van. Into this, I packed up our life together. Before its rear doors, I cried as if she were dead. Here was my great failure. Compressed, condensed, stacked in front of my eyes. What had I done? Yes, I was the one that did the breaking. For those who have never left a relationship, if the love is still there, it turns upon you. It does for you like the elder brother of the person you love.

To escape, I did what I was good at. I drank. I made drinks. I drank more. Defiantly strong my body handled the hangovers. In chorus, my heart and soul howled.

Snare by Seki Lynch

Driving around in terrible states: drunk, drugged, streaming tears and torn, I followed any road that might make me forget for a while. Anything that might give me a little gulp of air. The funny thing is, the more you pursue escape, the more you sink. So, down I sank. Somewhere along the line, two years passed.

I had always wanted to travel. Cuba, because of Hemingway (I'd thought I wanted to write); Peru, because I wanted to see Machu Picchu; Mexico, because I'd a friend there who taught English, I thought I might do the same. Like in The Old Man and the Sea, I had my own lions on the beaches in the evening to find. My dreams weren't enough. I cobbled together fare for a few plane tickets. I didn't know if the money left over would sustain me through the trip. But I knew I had to go.

From Unsaid by Seki Lynch

Taking off I really believed the plane would go down. How could I possibly have made it out alive?

The plane landed. After two months in Cuba, I went on to Peru. Returning to Lima after living in the Amazon with a shaman for two weeks, I made a rookie mistake. I went to get change in a shop so I could pay the taxi driver. He drove off. Inside was my backpack with everything I owned. Contact lenses for the rest of my trip (my eye prescription is -10 (for those that don't know, read I'm blind as a bastard bat)); iPhone (cracked); art I'd traded for poetry; notebooks full of notes from the trip. All gone. I still had three months to go. And not a soul on the planet knew where I was.

In the humid night, I went through the streets from hostel to hostel trying to find a place to stay. Everywhere was full. After two trips to the police station, I made my way down to the dark-cliffed coast, which drops dramatically into the Pacific Ocean. Under the moon, the sea hushed. There I sat awaiting the sun. Eventually, behind me, the city began to stir. In front lay an ocean of uncertainty. But, odd as it may seem, I felt great. Everything I needed was there. In me. I knew I was going to be alright.

From This Is How I Find You by Seki Lynch

Travel taught me serendipity. It taught me loneliness. It taught me that I can't run from myself (though I still try). It taught me how lucky I am even when it seems all my luck has run out. And it taught me I can still feel good wearing an ensemble assembled from lost property clothing.

Journeys begin within us, well before a plane ticket to anywhere. The bright souvenirs from these inner adventures live on inside. And cannot be stolen by a taxi driver. The taxista that night somehow gave by taking. For that, to him, cheers.

love
Like

About the Creator

Seki Lynch

Seki is an author, poet, copywriter and ex-bar manager for his sins. His first book is a compendium of ten different spirits called, 'Ten Drinks that Changed the World'.

For more work, visit: https://sekilynch.cargo.site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.