Humans logo

Attraction to Perfection

The Moment it all Made Sense

By Ashley MatteiPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

I know that girl over there. I have seen her somewhere but where? Ah, that is it, softball six years ago we played on the same team. It was brief because she was a sub player on a team that I had been a part of for two years. She came to play and fill in for some girls we were missing that night and she had brought her girlfriend with her to play too. I remember thinking “wow that girl is hot”. I never acted on anything regardless if she was single or not because well, I was technically in a relationship, at least to the outside world. Though that story is for another time! But that was the thing about back then, it was simple attractions to what I knew I could not have.

Now fast forward six years and I am seeing her again and wow! That is really all I could muster up in my mind when I figured out who she was. We were friends on Facebook but never really spoke to one another besides a comment or a “like” here and there on each other’s posts. But now she was standing in front of me working on the same campus that I had been working on for the last few years. She had been there about seven months, but I had never seen her because I worked off campus and only did relief hours on the units. But this day was graduation for the kids on the campus and she was there setting up for recreation and I was there doing meet and greets because I was coming back to the campus full time as the Family Advocate so my office would be the first you would approach when pulling onto campus. She came right up to me and said, “hey how have you been”? I was frozen inside though still managed to respond. We could not really engage in a long conversation because we were both super busy that day.

Months went by and I never heard a word from her and never even saw her on campus because I was always off campus doing family visits in the community. The following February I had walked into the café on campus and she was in there and I had to talk to her so I sparked up a conversation about the upcoming softball season and if she was playing. I hadn’t been playing the last couple of years because of health issues going on with my youngest. Anyways, the conversation was started and it was towards the end of March that she came to my building to print things and it just so happened to be a day when I was sitting in my office with the door open and right across from the printer. Her and her boss had come in my office and we were talking about events and activities that the kids could do with the local college volunteers. The entire time my heart was pounding. What was it about her? I just could not shake how she made me feel every single time I saw her.

We would message each other on Facebook every once in awhile and then on April 5th we started talking in a way that was not just friends. We were both single. I was not looking for anything at the time. I wanted to focus on my boys and my career and swore I would not start anything new. Seems the Universe had another plan. From April 5th on every time I heard the vibration of my phone against a hard surface or the ping of a text message come in my heart dropped, but in the most amazing way. I felt like a little kid again getting excited because my crush looked at me. There was a night the following week or week after that I was just having a rough go. One of those “I need a drink” days. I had told her I was going to sit by the lake because well I went there a lot when I needed to destress, and my boys were with their Dad that night. Sitting by the water at night was so calming. Then I see her pull up next to me. I rolled down my passenger window and we started talking for about ten minutes before it clicked, and I asked her if she wanted to sit in my car with me. If she didn’t need to pee an hour later we would have stayed longer! I could get lost in her conversation. The way her hair was up and tucked tight under her head band. The way her eyes locked with mine and her skin smelled when she got close enough to me. Everything about her I noticed and wanted more of. Then April 21st we met at the lake again and this time she brought some adult beverages to walk out on the pier with. After awhile of us just talking and looking at the moon shining bright over the water I asked her if she wanted to come back to my house and see my kitten! Ha, I owe that little guy one! She had been commenting on pictures of him on Facebook so I figured well how about she sees him in person! We went back to my house, she followed me there which was only about ten minutes away so was not too bad. It was late but neither of us had to work the next day and it was a night I just did not want to end so I welcomed the late-night hours. Sitting on the couch we were both lost in conversation and she was sitting up and just looking at me. I asked her what she was thinking about. She laughed and said “Well how about I just show you”. And there it was. Her lips pressed against mine and I felt my entire body heat up like it was electric. Her kiss, her taste, it was indescribable. She stopped and looked at me like she was afraid she did something wrong and I grabbed the side of her face to pull her into me and we just kissed. Our bodies getting closer to one another, our hearts beating so fast. I know my heart was beating like crazy! That moment right there made me fall head over heels in love with her.

Two and a half years later she sits on the couch across the living room as I type this, my wife.

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Ashley Mattei

I am a 34 year old Boy Mom times 3! My wife and I just celebrated our first wedding anniversary in October! Writing is a passion for me and I believe the best stories are told through experience!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.