Humans logo

As Long as there’s Merlot

Romance can be unexpected

By M.K TaylorPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
“As long as there’s Merlot”

‘The place is nice, I’ll give Emma that..’ I thought to myself looking around the restaurant trying to spot a quiet corner or delicious window view, I arrived early more out of anxiety than excitement. Dating was not my strong point and it definitely wasn’t something I enjoyed, but here I was on a gloomy afternoon hunting the perfect first date spot for a blind date.

I figured if I had the chance to pick the table I might be able to quell some of the anxiety welling up inside of me.

“Afternoon, can I seat you?” Came a voice that cut through my crowded mind.

“huh.. oh, uh yes I didn’t know seating was allocated” I fumbled over my words as my eyes fell on the waitress. She was stunning and even in work wear confidence flowed off her as though she once ruled the world and now served tables just for fun.

“Great, my names Celina. I’ll be your server, here by yourself?” She said as she turned and started toward the tables.

“yes- I mean no, my friend set up a blind date?” I said struggling to keep up with her. She must’ve picked up on my tone as her response was far from what I expected. “that’s rough, You know what I have just the table”.

Down a narrow walkway the room opened out to reveal a few intimate tables, the fire place crackling on the far wall giving the room a warm soft glow against the grey scapes of a gorgeous window view.

“Here, quiet and private. This date turns out good or bad this is the place to be. take the one near the fire so you don’t freeze half to death in your dress” She declared nodding in the tables direction.

I’d protest about the dress but she wasn’t wrong I did not take into account the weather when I picked out the white summer dress. settling in to my table, I gazed over the view grey clouds rolling over the peaks in blankets, making the sky an irresistible dark grey blue. The vineyards sprawled out along the valleys below little lines of precious fruit once converted by gods and man alike I dwelled on the thought as my skin soaked up the fires warmth and defrosted my partially frozen bones.

It had been hours and as the light faded all I could do was sigh and watch the colours in the sky change.

“Here, it’s on the house” I jumped at the sound of Celinas voice is been so engrossed in my own thoughts I’d forgotten where I was

“wait.. on the house?” I asked apprehensively, transfixed on her expression as though my brain was the internet of the nineties trying to load. I amused her the glisten in her eyes gave it away, one eye brow raised a smirk briefly crossed her lips as she gestured in the direction of the Merlot bottle sat in front of me.

“If you don’t want it I can take it back” she teased.

“No, I mean yes-” ‘damn it get it together!’ My mind screamed as I closed my eyes and took a deep breath

“I meant to say thank you” I said opening them to look up at her Celina laughed

“yep, this dates gonna go great for you” her sarcasm palpable. As soon as she turned I lunged for the bottle ‘gods of the grape, I swear you help me through this I’ll take that wine tour and buy cases of your nectar just get me through this’.

The merlot had just touched my lips when all hell broke loose of the far side of the bar, people shouting and the sound of wooden table legs grinding on the stone floor. Celina rushed away to the other side of the bar that obscuring my view.

Craning my neck up to see what on earth was causing such chaos I was mortified

“oh, god no- it can’t be” I said to myself in horror rummaging through my bag, receipts falling to the floor as I went in search for my phone.

Quickly pulling up the picture of the handsome man I was to meet and glancing back through the small gap to confirm my fears ‘it is, oh god, NO’ it was my date drunk as a sailor stumbling into tables and insulting anyone who protested.

“HEEEEEY! TTHE- You are!” He shouted spotting me through the gap, The concern on Celinas face visible even though she was half way across the room.

I quickly ducked down trying to hide, ‘no, no, no, no, this is not happening’ the only way out was back through the restaurant and past my drunken blind date! I fumbled to collect my receipts, unceremoniously swiping the bottle of Merlot off the table and attempting to force it into my bag that was much to small for it. ‘I have to get out of here, what was I thinking?’ Internally scolding myself for agreeing to come here.

Suddenly the whole table shifted and hot heavy liquor breath flooded my senses.

“Hey! I’m Brandon!” My nose burning from his stench and ears ringing from his volume I looked up mortified, attempting to physically push him off as he attempted to kiss me, slipped grabbed the bottle from my bag on the way down. Shattering into a million pieces, dark red liquid splashing up onto my dress and pooling on the floor.

“What is wrong with you?” I shouted rising from my seat, his semi conscious body at my feet drenched in Merlot and miraculously unharmed by glass shards he attempted a response but the noise that arose was more comparable to a drunken walrus than a man.‘I’ve had enough, this wasn’t worth my time’.

I was seething, a fire inside me fuelled by embarrassment, anger and a desire for revenge on Emma for sending me this lump had me at boiling point, collecting what was left off my things.

Celina crossed the room with security As I used the space between his shoulder blades like a stepping stone To walk away from this metaphorically and seemingly literal dead date.

“Woah- hey” Celina caught my arm as I crossed the room toward the crowded restaurant and exit

“get off me!” I hissed my anger spilling over,

“look I know you’re mad and embarrassed but that guys not worth your time. There’s a back exit” the words spilled out of her so quickly and with such kindness it was like she’d dumped a bucket of cold water on my rage and the false confidence that came with it.

“Plus my shift just finished and you are owed a bottle of Merlot” she said. I glanced at the limp man as security lifted him from the floor my Merlot shoe print on his back

“Okay, but I left my jacket and beanie in the coat check” I sighed defeated.

“Okay wait here a second” she said running off. ‘What am I getting myself into’ I thought but before mind could wander off to the possibilities she was back. Her deep chocolate brown hair now hung down over one shoulder revealing an undercut and a leather jacket hiding her uniform ‘god, she’s beautiful’ I had to physically shake my head to think clearly but I could feel the heat in my cheeks and knew she could tell.

She smiled and grabbed my hand

“this way” before I could protest we slipped through a side door behind the bar and were barreling down some steps so fast that I felt I’d fall and we’d both tumble to the bottom. My heart pounded in my chest as I desperately tried to keep my footing. Bursting out the door into the cool night I hurriedly put on my jacket ‘a summer dress was not a wise choice’.

“Did you drive here?” Celina asked as she swung her leg over her motorcycle and began lighting a cigarette between her lips

“No I ubered” I said voice trembling, she took a deep breath of smoke then words started spilling out

“Okay well if you’re up to it I know a nice spot on the mountain we could have a do over date? If you know, you’d date a girl at all. Not that that’s the reason I helped you out! you just, I don’t know, seem like my kind of person- I have extra riding gear we can take the bike, I mean if you want to. I have Merlot.”

I couldn’t help but smile I hadn’t pictured her being shy or stumbling on her words. In that moment, I was watching a confident goddess astride her motorcycle loose her cool for a moment and offer Merlot to me just to get a date, something sparked and I knew there was no other answer

“why not? As long as there’s Merlot.”

dating
Like

About the Creator

M.K Taylor

single mum, in a remote community making magic from nothing. Learning how to channel my creativity through writing, I’ve always had a passion for writing but I often write the way I think being adhd this can be problematic 😅

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.