Humans logo

Art Journaling

An act of self care

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
36
Art Journaling
Photo by Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

“Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”

― Pablo Picasso

I love art therapy.

I find it very relaxing and therapeutic for myself.

My art journal is like my best friend. It’s heard so much of my pain and joy for so long now. I have been working on it for two years. Ever since mid pandemic, it’s been a work in progress for me to sit down and doodle or paste things into my journal.

As I’m writing this, I have a stack of things that are meant to go into this journal that I haven’t done anything with yet. I just bought feathers (like two months ago) to glue into the pages of this book. Procastination is a strong suit of mine.

There is something healing in discovering who you are through so many different types of art forms.

Art therapy is a tool therapists use to help patients interpret, express, and resolve their emotions and thoughts. Patients work with an art therapist to explore their emotions, understand conflicts or feelings that are causing them distress, and use art to help them find resolutions to those issues.

Art therapy as a discipline began in the 1940s and became more widespread in the 1970s. Like other expressive arts therapy, such as dance therapy or music therapy, it draws on creativity.

Quote taken directly from psychology.com

How To Start an Art Journal

My advice to you when starting an art journal?

  • Start with a clean journal or an old book. I love buying dollar store sketchbooks and using those but a lined notebook would work too. You don't have to spend a lot of money on it.
  • Gather scrap paper. I like using scrapbook paper, or using scraps from other books and notebooks.
  • Other scrap materials such as movie tickets, special mementos, etc.
  • Get glue, tape or whatever medium you would like.
  • Scissors are a must. I like using those craft scissors that make crinkles for the pages.
  • Stickers (optional) I like using these to make my pages stand out better. You don't have to invest in lots, just a trip to your local dollar store is enough.
  • Paint (optional) I personally don't use paint in my own journal but I know of other people who do. You can create your own lovely backgrounds just with your medium of choice.
  • Add quotes/sketches/doodles
  • The biggest thing? Make sure your pages are dry. You don't want your book sticking together. Been there done that.
  • And the main thing? Have fun with it! You don't have to be an artist to create an art journal.

I’ve found stickers on Amazon for a reasonable price but you don’t have to invest in a lot of money to get creative! All you need is a blank journal and some tape or glue to really get started on it!

Art journaling is a way to express yourself, and allows you to be creative at the same time! I found this tool so helpful and I’ve brought it to my counselling sessions before.

Here are a few pictures of from some of my art journal pages. Don’t mind the mess, it explains how my ADHD brain ticks.

I’ve had this poster for years and I never found a better place for it than in the cover of my journal
This page is messy but I tried to fix parts of it by adding more cutouts
I cut up a self help journal and used the quotes in my own journal

One of the first pages in my journal

Blank page ready for some quotes to be added

Moral of the story here: your art journal doesn’t have to be perfect as you’re the only person that is going to be reading it. It’s just meant to be used as a tool in your journey towards healing.

What do you think of art journaling?

Have you tried it before?

Did you find this post helpful at all?

Let me know in the comments down below!

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

quoteslisthumanitydiy
36

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred6 months ago

    Hi we are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    I like journaling. I draw, write, and find clips from quotations and I often draw weather symbols that help manage my mood. Art is a wonderful way to help us express emotions that would otherwise be difficult to express. I never worry about the mess because that is the process of journaling

  • Sarah D8 months ago

    Tips on Art Therapy that can help anyone! Thanks! Read my story about creative dreaming. https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Naveedkk 8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Hauwa Saeed8 months ago

    Truly inspirational piece…. Congrats on top story ❤️

  • This is well deserving of top story! Beautiful 🙏❤️✨ Ps. I love the Abraham hicks quote in there! I just mentioned this in my last article 😇🕊️❤️✨

  • Priya8 months ago

    I have never tried this before! This article inspires me to create. Thanks;-)

  • Coral Levang8 months ago

    This is a wonderful reminder to me. Just how important art journaling is. I've had some issues recently where my art is concerned, and you have prompted me to get up off My you know what and to continue to create. Thank you.

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    Truly inspiring. I absolutely love the uniqueness of each page and how they each tell a different story. I’ve heard of art therapy yet never truly understood it, so thank you for this breakdown! I’m highly intrigued! Congratulations

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    What an artfully written article! Well done!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Great story, Chloe and your journal looks like fun. I have so many art projects to complete, there's no time or room, but I can see this would be good therapy.

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    This is suuuch a good idea! Totally inspired to try this. Thanks Chloe!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    <3 :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.