Humans logo

Another brief note from that very dark place...

...In the heart of the Sunshine State.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Via the free image site, Pixabay.

18OCT2022; 0017, TUE- Maryland, USA

I promised a review of a recent feature film and I haven't forgotten. More importantly tho, today's the Born Day of a BFF (Best Friend Forever).

"Mike" gave me his express permission to attempt to publish the letter below for posterity and potential prosperity. Thankfully, his Lovely Lady "Bridget" has no qualms about me being his best man next Spring when they tie the knot.

I still can't believe that I only met her in person once over the course of the past several years I've known the two of them. Such is life.

That's neither here nor there tho. Back to the topic at hand, my dear readers; leaders; and greeters.

Let's cannonball into this penning to my fav Little-Big Bro, before this becomes another 1,757 word post; like from three years prior with my bio younger brother. Without further ado, and here's to you, an "actually factually" awesome audience.

[Begin transcription:]

30MAY2022; 2113, MON- Florida, USA

To my favoritest younger Bro,

Peace and blessings to you and y'all's protectorate. Of course my pocket dictionary just informed me of my dismal at best word choice.

That's the price of calling on a helping hand too late into the play. If I'd [have] stuck closer to my roots, this might could be a "brief Love note" full of Kurtis Blow like metaphors and analogies.

Another upbringing core value that I regret losing off and on is my spirituality. As previously stated, it'd have feasibly kept me out of this [current] sitch.

Anyways, I'm grateful that this not so brief missive was initiated at 9:13 PM; for several reasons. Not least of which being that Moms was born on a Friday the 13th.

Why I've completely failed at asking her 'bout you recently is bemusing, and beyond me; utterly. My memory misses me on if I even managed to pass along her celly to you, Bossman!

"Don't be like me"; haha. Whole time tho, it'll be on the back of one of the "attachments" included with this particular dinner discussion topic.

I mere seconds ago realized that my pen is less focused than one'd come to imagine from an "Investigative journalist". My earlier transition was intended to be "Anywhos"; as popularized by the late, great Hip Hop man of magnificence, MF DOOM.

Regardless, the watch; bracelet; and prayers are prodigious, as well as much 'preciated. That's [categorically] "all day; everyday".

Big Homie, we talking "actually factually" and "truly duly". Or, if you prefer: "no question"; "no cap"; and "no funny".

I'm out of time, space, and energy for tonight tho, Famo. Stay prayed up and paid up; 'cause one of us at minimum need remain Free; all in all.

Brotherly Love,

D. [Redacted], Sgt., U.S. Army (Ret.); fmr Sniper

Darrius Unity, Girl Dad (2x); & plant Poppa

***

***

[End transcription]

***

A few more words on my mans (sic) Mike before I submit this 142nd or so post to the most gracious mods (moderators) of all time; haha. On the real tho, I'm grateful for the several posts that are still in my drafts due to rejection from the mods.

In a similar vein, I'm extremely grateful to Brotha Man for never getting too, too short with me over my many and grave infractions. Everything from frequently flaking and being super late to our link(up)s; to forgetting to call on previous Born Days.

I've been forgiven for other repeated and even weirder wrongs as well. Thank the Heavens; and sweet, Black Baby Jesus too.

Concluding on a high note: I'm hoping, praying, and wishing for myriad more links full of his patent positivity dovetailing with my customary cynicism. Because balance is best, IMHO (In My Humble Opinion).

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

humanityfriendship
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.