Humans logo

ANNE NJEMANZE: Why I Had to Leave Nollywood and Find 9-5 Job

Anne Njemanze opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

You may not know her by her actual name, but you definitely know or have at least heard about the famous character she played all the way back in 1996: Domitilla. Nollywood actress Anne Njemanze was the talk of the town when the blockbuster movie, Domitilla, came out and became an instant hit. The movie was a career launcher and help pad for so many names in the movie industry such as Kate Henshaw, Ada Ameh, Sandra Achums, Charles Okafor, and more. It was a massive movie, and Anne Njemanze was the lead. That was in 1996.

Anne Njemanze as Domitilla in 1996's "Domitilla"

These days, Anne Njemanze is still working and you can catch her on the long-running TV show, Tinsel. But, her path in Nollywood has not been smooth at all. There was a time when Anne Njemanze was not getting calls at all from Nollywood, so much so that she had to essentially leave the industry and go and find another skill for herself. Anne made this revelation during a new Channels TV interview where she talked about why she had to leave Nollywood and get a 9-5 job. Here is what Anne Njamenze said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Anne Njemanze during interview

The revelation happened when during her interview, Anne Njamenze was asked "You're a motivational speaker, you're a cultural arts officer, writer, producer, actress, voice over artiste. How do you do all that?" She responded:

ANNE NJEMANZE: It's God. It's God that gives me the ability to try. There was a time there was nothing really, as far as Nollywood is concerned. There was a time I was off the grid.

"Did you offend anybody?"

ANNE NJEMANZE: No no no. Nollywood is harsh this way, and I think most of the creative industry. They don't see you, they don't remember you. So I went through that phase and it was tough. It wasn't easy. So I got a job. Somewhere along there, I got a job, and I said "hey, acting won't pay the bills all the time so get an everyday job, get a skill, learn a skill, hone your skills, and fly with it." And it was when that started, somehow, I have a man named Ehi, he said "no, sit down, write this radio drama scripts for me, you do the voicing", and money was coming in.

But you see, as far as Nollywood was concerned, nobody was seeing me for a long time. You have to be able to sustain yourself financially first, and then sustain yourself mentally so that you don't lose it. It's not easy. It's not easy to just be amongst so many people and they say [about you] "who's that?". But now, that's different again, and that's why I say it just has to be God. For you to leave all that, and then still come again and be on the lips of people, it's God.

Wow! The entertainment industry really is not easy sha. You always have to be in people's faces otherwise, truly as Anne said, people will forget you. What do you think about what Anne Njemanze said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.