Humans logo

..and Everything in its Place

A holiday snafu

By Jason KnightmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
..and Everything in its Place
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I have a younger sister, and when we were little, my mother encouraged us to learn the ABCs and count and start reading things before we were even in kindergarten. Later, as she got a little bit older, one of the things my sister was proud of when she first could do it was to sound out words with the alphabets she learned. She would go around various things and point and sound out words such as on television, refrigerator contents, and so on. We would help her if she got it way wrong or encourage her when she got it right. This is important, later.

Now, my mother’s mother was somewhat well-to-do. She had a formal dining table that could seat twelve, and she often held many of the family gatherings. One year, she was hosting Christmas dinner for us along with grandpa, an uncle, my dad, my sister and myself, and a close elderly couple of friends who had no family nearby or visiting.

That midmorning, we conducted our personal gift exchange. We watched everyone open presents and enjoy or be shocked over whatever they got. A short while later, my mother and grandmother went to the kitchen and got to doing Christmas dinner final steps in earnest. Of course, my sister and I merely occupied ourselves with our new toys for the time being.

Well, soon the uncle arrived, and about thirty minutes later, the elderly couple arrived. There was a bit of conversation between the adults for a while, but, inevitably, the time to serve dinner approached. My mother came to the doorway and asked us if I could pitch in with the effort and help by setting the table. I always liked being helpful so I had no problem. She said I would need to get plates, silverware, glasses, and napkins onto the table, and I was to ensure each chair had one of everything. (They had already arranged it so only nine seats were at the table, not all twelve.) I was happy to prove myself, so I jumped up to get started. My sister, however, said she wanted to help, and I thought the least dangerous item (since she was two years younger) was for her to do the napkins. I didn’t want her to drop a plate or injure herself with a knife or something. It seemed logical at the time. Boy, was I wrong.

I went into the kitchen to get started, but I didn’t pay attention to the fact that she then scampered upstairs instead of following me to get the napkins. I set out the plates and went back into the kitchen for the silverware. I now see my sister having a box of something on the opposite side of the table, but I can’t really make out what it is, but something white is going down on the dark table, so I assume she is doing what she is supposed to be doing.

As I come around with more things to set, I notice they look weird and that I had never seen them before. I didn’t say anything to anyone because I didn’t know anything was wrong. So, after I was done with the silverware and plates and glassware, and my sister was done with the napkins, my grandmother and mother called out from the kitchen that dinner is ready and requested everyone make their way to the table. Everyone from the living room got up and went to the dining table, and everyone started giggling, then laughing uproariously. My mother and grandmother exited the kitchen, totally perplexed, until my mother saw it first, and she went white as a sheet. My grandmother was too embarrassed, and she turned right around and headed back into the kitchen with the platter she was bringing out.

The conversation went something like this:

“What did you do? Where did you get those napkins?” My mother rapidly started plucking them off the table while looking at me, like it was my fault.

I pointed at my sister. “I didn’t, she did! I got the silverware and stuff.”

My sister ran to the box she set down and pointed at the front of the box: “See mommy? Nnapp-kkinns.” She pointed out the letters as she sounded them out. She smiled so big and wide, so proud of herself…

My mother didn’t have the heart to say anything further, she just finished putting the Sanitary Napkins from the upstairs bathroom into the box and restored it where she found it. We were able to find the real napkins and resume the meal without further incident.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Jason Knightman

I'm a half-centennial, aspiring new author in the Columbus, Ohio, area. Ultimately, I hope to write three trilogies with my first set of concepts, along with a few short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.