Humans logo

Am I Obsessed?

I Need to Walk Every Day

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

Introduction

Last Thursday my step count was around fifteen hundred, the lowest it has been apart from when I was in bed in hospital and recuperating after the operation in Alnwick. That is about half a mile and was done in the house because the weather was so bad.

My normal target is seven thousand steps a day which is around two and a bit miles. When I did such a low number of steps I felt so much like I had actually failed.

I don’t know if it’s the fact that I now carry my phone to record my steps, and feel I need to walk that distance each day. I know walking is good for me and has kept me in fairly good condition despite all my health problems.

But Walking Is Good For Me

As I’ve said before, but also it is a state where I can listen to music as I walk, and I also get ideas for writing on my walks. I don’t get this as much when I am in, watching TV or doing chores. I think it was more that I hadn’t been out and taken the air that upset me, and lost my inspiration, thinking of all that I might have created had I gone out, but I was looking at the rain and stuck inside.

Today I have been for a walk although inspiration is a little short at the moment which is why I am putting down these thoughts, and I hope that this may possibly inspire someone who may be in a similar situation, to move themselves to do something.

I have ideas coming through but have done a couple of playlists, and for some reason have been made to think that my poetry is a sign of laziness on my part, although I know in reality it is anything but. I am at my computer at the moment and Queen and David Bowie are on the player singing “Under Pressure” which is an indicator of how I feel.

What I Feel I Must Do

Maybe it’s my age or the onset of time, but I feel I must always walk, exercise, listen to music and keep moving and going forward. I used to be able to spend a lot of time in bed drinking coffee and reading papers, but that is something I cannot do anymore, although I often feel I want to do it.

This goes back to me not actually producing lots of things in the same genre, and in some ways that make this almost a chore, but it is a marker, a sort of diary entry about my Vocal creations and how I motivate myself to produce writing whether it be articles, poetry or fiction.

As I write this I have a new vaguely horror fiction coming into my head, but that is a task for the weekend, but I feel I need to finish this although I probably won't share it on Social Media, it is just where I am up to at the moment.

A Drawn-Out Conclusion

I don’t know if anyone will read this, but it is mainly to clear out my system for the next piece of fiction and poetry which may happen sometime tomorrow.

I don’t feel this is creative enough and have all my self-doubt creeping in but as always, I will finish this and get on to my next piece, where it will be horror or a poem, I don’t know yet but we will see

advicediy
2

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Excellent!!! Hearted!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.