Humans logo

Allow Yourself To Take A Leap Of Faith And See What Happens

You never know where life will lead you.

By sara burdickPublished 26 days ago 5 min read
2
Allow Yourself To Take A Leap Of Faith And See What Happens
Photo by Victor Rodriguez on Unsplash

When I walked away from a 6 figure salary, I thought I made the biggest mistake of my life.

When I bought a one-way ticket, I was drunk. Most poor decisions in my life started with this sentence, so why did I think this one would turn out any differently?

This was not a hasty decision, though. It wasn’t something I decided on the spur of the moment. For five years, I had talked about and dreamed about quitting my job. I hated my job—okay, hate is a strong word—I hated being on the hamster wheel of the “normal” life/world.

I used to get laughed at, “Sara, I thought you would have quit by now,” but you are still here.

Going to work day in and day out—who does that anymore, right? Well, for 15 years, I did (okay, more like 20 years, but who’s counting). Most of us do.

It’s how we survive and work.

Single, childless. What did I have to lose? What did I have to gain? I already felt like I was dying inside, and it couldn’t get any worse, right?

Would I allow myself to take a leap of faith? See what is on the other side of “normal.” Would I allow myself to trust myself fully and actually do it? Or have you watched Eat, Pray, Love one too many times?

Could I do it? Could I be like Elizabeth Gilbert (ok, she had a book deal; I had a dream, a backpack, and a lot of internal baggage, problems, and fear)? So it was the same, right?

When I woke up in my drunk/ hungover haze, I instantly thought, “What did I just do?”. Yes, of course, I can return the ticket. Not the end of the world.

Except it was. I promised myself to change my life, no matter what. At this moment, I trusted my gut/ instincts and intuition.

So I decided at that moment something in my life had to change if I would get on a plane to Colombia in less than six months. I needed to pay off my debt of at least 20K in less than six months, or I knew I would fail.

Ok, so I am a nurse. Working at the top-rated hospital in the world. How did I accumulate so much debt? Drinking, partying, shopping, depression, and the vicious cycle just repeated itself.

Until it didn’t.

I finally had a goal, a dream, something new to work toward.

As soon as I was no longer hungover, I planned my new life. When you decide to plan something, it’s exciting in the beginning. I picked up two side hustles. Well, maybe it’s not a side hustle if you have to go to work. I picked up two additional jobs at clinics in Beverly Hills.

Fortunately, it’s easy for a nurse to work herself to death. How do you think I got into this situation? Nurses, we work our asses off, and then we burn out and crash hard.

But I had a light at the end of the tunnel; now I had a goal, a dream, and I would succeed.

Guess what? I actually paid off the debt.

I think I surprised myself also, but nurses, we will work ourselves to death. We are like a good mule to a farmer.

I was beyond miserable at this point. Yes, out of debt, one step closer to my goal. I had moved into my car to avoid paying excessive rent.

It worked, and I did it. My credit card had a zero balance for the first time.

I should back up a little. By the time I lived in my car, I had already downsized my life. All of my belongings fit into my car. I was planning this for a while. I just didn’t think I would ever actually do it.

As they say, live for the life you want, not for the life you have. Who said this? I will site it as.. anonymous, but an intelligent person who is not me.

Through this, I realized maybe I could actually do this, debt-free; I saved the money I was earning. Would it work, though? Can I put in my two weeks? Can I get to that place in less than three months?

I told everyone about my plan to travel the world. Except my family.

Eventually I told them.

I realized I was living a sort of nomadic life in my car. Maybe I could actually travel the world. Alone, single, searching for the meaning of life, or just running away.

At this point, I had already tried AA, quitting drinking off and on. Maybe I just needed to leave my life of misery to get out of my head.

Desperately seeking a change, I did. I got on that plane. I quit my job. My favorite part of my last day of work was.

Someone I worked with who I hadn’t seen for a few weeks looked at me and said.

Sara, I see you are still here. I thought you were quitting. I said I am; today is my last day.

Never give up. Take that leap of faith and see what happens. If nothing else, you will have a wonderful story to tell.

Please follow along for more. Also, if you would like to see more in-depth reasons why I quit my nursing job after 15 years, please visit this video I made after I quit!

Thank you for reading. Please comment. What is something you have taken a leap of faith in doing? How did it turn out?

XOXO

S

travelStream of Consciousnesshumanity
2

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.