Humans logo

Aim to be good for something

A direct line to my passion

By Hayley BarklaPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Aim to be good for something
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I’m new to the scene, along with every other covid-crisis-come-kick-start-your-dreams visionary. Better late than never, they say…

While on holiday celebrating my husband’s big five-o last year, we were doing just that, dreaming our dreams.

“Just imagine if the government would pay us to stay home for a while and we could create whatever we wanted, how amazing would that be!”

Our decision to tree change three years earlier and plonk ourselves atop of a breathtaking mountain plateau in Australia had swiftly become a ‘work away from home’ farce. The change-of-pace lifestyle we envisaged was ever increasingly slipping through our fingers.

We smiled. What a notion, getting paid to stay home. Crazy talk.

“But realistically, we didn’t uproot everything to live this way. Let’s give it six months and if we’re still unhappy at work, we’ll both resign and ride the wave. Agreed?”

“Agreed.”

Chin-chin!

Literally weeks later, when my husband and I both lost our jobs on the same day – as tourism took an overnight nose drive – we popped the champagne cork! I know, taboo to celebrate a worldwide pandemic but I’m the silver lining type. And oh, what a lining. Our government had swooped in and were offering sizeable payments to do as we’d flippantly fantasised – stay at home. You couldn’t write this stuff!

Under a blanket of fresh mountain air, I could breathe once more. I felt free, alive, and if my passion had taught me anything, in full acceptance I had irrevocably been handed the glass slipper I’d sought for near on a decade. Out of global bedlam, my Prince Charming had gallantly ridden in, knelt before me and placed the missing shoe on my unsteady foot. The time had come to walk my own path.

Passion, Paper and a Pen

Passion itself can take you by surprise but not the feeling it sparks within, that is undeniable. When that feeling is knocking at your door every waking moment, it must be answered and respectfully, but repeatedly told, “Go away.” Until finally, it comes back with a vengeance, battering ram charged, and barges through your life to lounge itself quite arrogantly by the fire, scotch and cigar in hand. That’s when you know, it’s settled in for the long haul, and you may as well take your seat.

“Calling all test bunnies!”

This is how I slowly leaked my private passion out into the world. In the safe space of my closest 300 Facebook friends, I invited the first five respondents to receive a channeled message, on the provision I knew nothing of their life, and they provided their god-honest feedback. I refused to be the contestant on The Voice whose family really should have told them “Singing is a good hobby for you darling, not a great career move.”

And yes, you read correctly… I write on behalf of the Universe. There I said it. Phew, glad to have that out on the table. It’s my true love, my place of peace, my contemplation cavern. I cannot live without it. I tried for years, it only ended in divorce. My private affair with the world within and beyond kick started in my early twenties, at a time when my mantra was “If you can experience it, you can’t deny it.” Since, I’ve channeled direction for my own maze of life, and for those near and dear. I’ve filled countless journals with wise, wise words, many which blow my own mind. Frankly put, I’m not that talented to conceive of such vastness in thought and creative expression.

Spiritual Nonsense

I wish to make it ardently clear. I believe there is quite a divergence in esoteric and spiritual communities, and the subsequent services they provide and prices they charge. Let us not beat around the bush, charlatans do exist, as within any industry. But this isn’t a lesson about the good, the bad and the ugly. There is a ‘faith’ for every person and each to their own, for their own good. ’Tis what makes us human.

But truth be told, this is one of the reasons I’d held back for so long. I don’t wish to be aligned with stereotypes; I want to be a person who breaks them. I’m equally turned off by airy fairy, witchy-poo, tarot readers, set to divulge details of your fortune, your future boyfriend, and your castle in the country. Amplify that with the limited viewpoint mainstream adheres to borne from these guises, and we’ve lost what can be a powerful proponent to self-development, self-worth, and personal resilience. Fortunately, there are a new breed of seekers and servers exploding onto the stage. And timely isn’t it, when the world’s people need guidance, love and support like never before.

Aim above morality.

Be not simply good,

be good for something.

- Henry David Thoreau

I aim to challenge people’s thinking. I aim to provide a palette for them to muse upon – taking a little bit of that colour, and dab of that to create their own masterpiece of knowing and exploration within and beyond this world. I aim to help people become something outside of their nine-to-five labels. To look at craziness, chaos and calamity and be able to pass through it with one eye on the horizon. Acknowledging it as part of life’s game, and aware smoother seas lie ahead. I aim to encourage people to marvel at this glorious vehicle they find themselves in, and on, and wake up from their self-indulged slumbers. I aim to trigger people to find the relationship in aloneness, and the generosity in self. I aim to remove the fear and firewalls built around ‘spirituality’. I aim to be good for something.

Back to the Bunnies

As bunnies breed, what started as five, quickly became eight. To my delight, not only did each message flow with ease, but they were also all distinctly different and met with a round of applause from their audience. After years of practice, I’d managed to pull the proverbial rabbit out of the hat.

With my newfound confidence, I’d still take another 6 months to pull together a website, social media accounts and start to find my voice. It’s a brave new world for me, one in which I can be heavily scrutinised. But I can’t go back. It’s just not possible. My passion has popped its cherry and the sheer thought of returning under my rock and playing hide and seek is met with defiant will.

Channeled messages of personal truth are not my end game, of that I’m acutely aware. With all due respect for what they can offer on an individual level, I dream way bigger. I desire so much for the appeal to broaden - massively - because in my experience, what can be delivered is not fluffy fantasy. It can be cut-throat, life-changing, mind-bending argument. There is no hiding nor pretending in the face of a new truth, one that hits you right between the eyes.

I wish to ignite this same passion in others and offer them ways and teachings to see the magic in their everyday lives. The clues. The puzzle pieces. It’s all a grand game of chess from the vantage point of the player. You hold all the pawns. You are the opponent and the score keeper. You are the black and you are the white. You can move between both contrasts with strategic will and by forced hand. You call check mate.

My grander dream is just starting. Twenty thousand words into gestation, and it has a lot to say. I don’t want followers per se, I want explorers ready to adventure beyond boredom and open into words, and worlds, of wonder.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Barkla

I struggle with labels.

I love new discoveries.

I’m ‘meh’ about mainstream.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.