Humans logo

African Echoes: Breaking the Shackles of gender stereotypes

Empowering the Voices of Women in a Traditional Society

By Nazy AnnPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2

Dear Diary,

Today, as I sit here and pour my heart out to you, I can't help but feel overwhelmed by the weight of societal expectations placed upon me simply because I am a woman. Growing up in this typical African home, I was taught that my future would revolve around leaving my parents' house and moving to my husband's house. From a very young age, the values of a woman were deeply ingrained in me, like an unyielding echo that followed my every step.

Living in this environment, I am constantly reminded that I am not allowed to make mistakes in the home, as it would imply a lack of proper upbringing. Any misstep is met with the reprimanding words, "Is this what you will be doing in your husband's house?" I am tired of this never-ending loop of expectations and limitations.

I am human, and like any human, I am flawed. But in this place, it feels as though my flaws are amplified, and any mistake I make is attached to this notion of my future husband's house. It's as if my worth as a woman is solely dependent on being the "perfect" homemaker. I want to scream and tell them that I am not perfect, nor will I ever claim to be. I am allowed to make mistakes, to learn from them, and to grow.

There are times when I genuinely enjoy doing house chores, and I take pride in caring for my home. But that doesn't mean I should be confined to just that role. Other times, I yearn for a break, to relax and embrace the baby girl lifestyle. It doesn't make me lazy; it doesn't mean I won't do well in my husband's house. I believe in equality of all genders, and I firmly stand by the notion of mutual respect and submission in a marriage.

I am tired of being treated differently because of my gender. It's no longer acceptable to define my worth by society's traditional views. I am a woman, and I am so much more than the roles they try to box me into. I am strong, resilient, and capable of anything I set my mind to. My worth is not limited to my domestic abilities; it extends far beyond that.

I am taking a stand against this suffocating narrative, against being belittled and underestimated because I am a woman. I will no longer accept this notion that I am meant to serve and be less. I refuse to be confined by these outdated norms. I am reclaiming my power and my identity, embracing my flaws, and embracing my humanity.

So, here's to the journey of self-discovery and self-empowerment. I will embrace my imperfections, learn from my mistakes, and continue to grow into the person I want to be. I will strive to break these suffocating chains and pave the way for a future where women are celebrated for their strengths, dreams, and aspirations.

I am not just a woman; I am a force to be reckoned with. And I will no longer allow anyone to tell me otherwise.

Yours truly,



Nazy Ann



family
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.