Humans logo

A Sultry Summer

Passion at it's best

By Amy McGuffeyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
A Sultry Summer
Photo by Womanizer WOW Tech on Unsplash

It's been a typical week, nothing too exciting has happened just the same typical stuff but for some reason or another it's been a long week, physically it feels the same as any other week but mentally it feels different somehow, almost as though something is missing. I can't seem to shake this feeling that there's something that I'm lacking, but what? What could I be missing out on? What is it that I'm needing that I don't already have? I sit here going through the events of this week and I can't quite put my finger on it. Is there something I wanted to do and didn't? Is there somewhere I wanted to go and couldn't? I sit here racking my brain and I just can't figure out what it is that has me feeling like something is missing or just isn't right so to take my mind off of this feeling I grab the TV remote and flip to my favorite channel and bunker down for the night. As I'm watching my shows I get a text from a number I'm not familiar with, and it's not just the average text saying " hey how are you?" but a text saying " I miss you, and I still want you." Thrown for a loop my curiosity starts to run wild, who could this be? Could it just be a mistaken number? So instead of replying I just shake it off and go back to watching my shows. A few minutes later I get another text from the same number but this one was a bit spicier than the last. This one said " I love your body, I need it and crave it." Now my curiosity is running ramped so this time I answer, but not with a similar response but with " who is this?" Suddenly I get a reply " this is your favorite lover." I chuckled and thought to myself, my favorite lover. Hmmm. I thought this is odd but with my interest peaked, I continued to respond. I sent back a reply saying " give me a hint." And when I got no response back I just thought maybe this person figured out they had the wrong number. So again I go back to my shows, and all the sudden another text comes in but this time even spicier. This time the message said " It was many years ago, we were young then, I had just moved to town, I was new and nervous, I didn't know anyone, I was walking the hall of our school looking and feeling lost, I wasn't watching where I was walking and we bumped into each other, we both looked up and we locked eyes, you gave me a smile that seemed to light the whole place up, I gave you a goofy yet nervous smile back, you said " Hi I'm Jenny, what's your name?" I was at a loss for words, you were absolutely stunning and beautiful standing there with your right hand extended waiting for me to reply and shake your hand, a minute or two went by although it seemed like an eternity, I reached out and shook your hand and with a real shaky voice I said, " Hi Jenny I'm jack." That entire moment was totally magical for me, I knew right then I had to know more about you, I couldn't help feeling like we were going to be more than just friends." And the text ended there. All the sudden it was as though a light bulb went off above my head, my heart and mind started racing, and it all came flooding back. I thought to myself " could it be? " Could it really be Jack? The guy I fell so deeply in love with all those years ago? So I decided to ask a question that only Jack could know the answer to. So I responded with " on our first date we went to the Dairy Queen for ice cream, you got a vanilla cone and I got a chocolate dipped cone, we ate our cones and then went down by the river, we rolled up our pant legs and took off our socks and shoes, sat down on the bank and stuck our feet in the water, you noticed the birth mark on the calf of my left leg, what was the shape of my birth mark?" A minute or two went by and he answered, he said " it was in the shape of a heart." he goes on to say " I remember it distinctly because I remember saying it felt like it was a sign, a sign that we were meant to meet and be more than just friends." My eyes got wide, my chin dropped and I gasped. And in the silence of the moment I just yelled, " It is! It's Jack! It's really Jack!" I was in total shock! I couldn't believe that after all these years he still remembered me! More than that he still thought about me! It was then that I could feel the butterflies in my tummy all over again, it was like the first day we met! My heart was racing, I began to shake. so much so I dropped my phone. The next thing I knew I had a smile 10 miles wide on my face and I couldn't stop smiling. And all the sudden the events of that summer came rushing back to me as though they had just happened. I started to feel hot and flushed in the face from the memories that came to mind. It was our first and only summer together, and we were inseparable, we did everything together, one summer day we were on a picnic, I wanted to look good for him so I put on my cutest yet somewhat short summer dress and a matching pair of flip flops, there was a slight breeze in the air, just enough that it wasn't to hot outside it was perfect, little did I know that it was perfect for more than just a picnic, Jack and I met at our favorite spot along the river, it was quiet and semi hidden, we deemed it our spot. We laid down the blanket I had brought for us to sit on and we ate our sandwiches, we talked and laughed and held hands, suddenly we stopped laughing and looked up into each others eyes and without a word or both of us even knowing what was about to happen we locked lips and before we knew it we were both smack dab in the middle of our first kiss, it was so romantic, suddenly his arms were no longer at his side as they were wrapped around me embracing me in his arms he pulled me closer to him pressing my body against his so tight, I wanted to stop but couldn't, for some reason it just felt so right, our bodies pressed together, his arms holding me so tight, his lips were so soft and smooth and I was wearing a cherry flavored lip gloss I had just found at the dollar store on one of me and my mothers shopping trips, suddenly i feel his hand on my chest and he was caressing my lady lumps ever so gently, to say the least I was a bit shocked but I liked it, it was almost like this was the moment I had longed for ever since we met, so I pushed out my chest allowing him to continue, it was turning me on in a big way, suddenly we stopped kissing and I could feel his silky soft lips gently kissing my neck, his breathe was hot and sweet, it was ending shivers down my spine, I couldn't help but to reciprocate, one thing lead to another and some would say for two younger kids we took it way too far that day, we say it felt so right. That day changed my life forever, I was so deeply in love with Jack I knew that he was the one, the one for me. Well later that evening changed the entire course of this love story as my parents announced that my dad had accepted a job offer in another state and that we were going to be moving, I was so devastated, I had finally found the one for me and now I was moving, I was breathless, it was as though time stood still. Now here it is 12 years later, I'm still single, never had a boyfriend since I was with Jack, and he's texting me. Once again time was standing still, my heart was skipping beats, my pulse was racing, and before my brain could catch up to my mouth I text Jack back and blurted out" this is my address, come by at 2, I'll be ready and waiting, I can't wait to see you, I hope you really do come by". And I looked at the time it was only 45 minutes till 2. I had to hurry, what was I going to wear? Should I wear red? No blue? No White? I looked up and what did I see? But the dress I wore on that fateful day that changed my life forever! The day I fell in love with Jack! Well seeing as this was a dress I wore so many years ago chances are it wouldn't even fit anymore, but then again I really hadn't changed that much since then, I was still tall and lanky, thin and fit so I decided to try it on. And to my surprise it still fits! And I must say I still looked stunning in it! So it's settled I knew what I was going to wear! Suddenly I glanced down at the time, OH NO! I said out loud. 15 minutes! I only had 15 minutes until 2! I really had to hurry now. No time to wash my hair so I grabbed my brush and gave my hair a quick comb through grabbed my hair scrunchie and threw it quickly back into a ponytail. Ok now I'm ready, I slipped on a matching pair of flip flops grabbed my phone and went dashing down the stairs to wait by the door to see if the man I fell desperately in love with all those years ago was going to come swooping through that door, sweeping me off my feet and swaddling me in his strong and loving arms like he did all those years ago. It's now 5 minutes till 2 and my excitement has now turned into sheer panic, what if he doesn't love me anymore? What if he doesn't feel the same way anymore? What if he's happy being single now? And what's worse what if he's married and happy now? No I told myself, stop jumping to conclusions, you're going to ruin the moment before it has the chance to happen. So I took a deep breath and calmed myself down, and just then it was like magic all over again! Before I knew it Jack had come swooping through the door, rushed over to me with lightning speed, grabbed me up with his strong loving arms, swaddled me in his embrace, pressing my body against his, and kissing me in the most hot, seductive, passionate, long kiss I'd ever had in my life! When we finally stopped kissing Jack looked me dead in my eyes, gave me his smile that I loved so much, told me how much he'd been missing me and how he never stopped thinking about me not for one second, he dropped down on one knee, pulled this fancy, velvet, tiny box out of his pocket, shaking and with a sparkle in his eye, and a tear rolling down his blushing red cheek he says " Jenny you have always been and will always be the love of my life and the only one I could ever see myself being with and the only one I want to spend the rest of my life with! Will you make me the happiest man on earth and be my wife till the end of time?" And without one thought I said YES! It was then that very moment that I finally figured out exactly what it was that I was lacking! I finally found what I was missing out on.

love
Like

About the Creator

Amy McGuffey

For me, writing has become an effective way for me to write about the things that have had a negative impact on my life, and move on from them. Also, writing allows me to write about the good things, and express my imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.