Humans logo

A Ship's Calling

By Kyle Greifenhagen

By Kyle GreifenhagenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A Ship's Calling
Photo by Ian Simmonds on Unsplash

Sometimes, I look upon the endless sea and see the ship waiting for me, at the end of all I know. It drifts seductively along the far horizon and I know that I must go to it, no matter the cost.

The way is not easy. The ever churning waters thrash about at my coming as though offended I would venture out upon them. My poor vessel doesn't stand a chance in the maelstrom and it goes down, I along with it. For a few moments there is quiet as I sink lower and lower in the dark waters.

And then the beauty of the ship compels me and I dare not stray any longer. For as much as I am comfortable in the quiet, there are greater things in store for me on that ship.

Breaking the surface, I breathe deep and fight for my life as waves of indecision pound away at my resolve and I fight hard to stay afloat. The journey is long and my strength wanes. But I cannot ignore the ship's calling. I cannot return to what was for that will never be enough.

In a moment of weakness the scene unravels all around me; the waves are too big, the water too cold, my arms and legs too tired. And the ship is so very far away. But a moment will not define me and the ship will not elude me. Again.

There are times that the ship appears and then is gone, not a trace of it upon that welcoming horizon. And then there are times, like now, that though I struggle on my journey I know it will not leave me behind. And so I close the last bit of distance and pull my weary self up onto its deck, not really knowing what to expect. Knowing only that it will be grand and enchanting and wholly invigorating for my soul.

Ethereal notes greet me as I take my first few steps upon the ship. The music is soothing and the rigors of my journey are carried far away by a whispering wind. I know not where it comes from, this wordless refrain, only that it heals my soul and beckons me forth, an unseen force that fuels my imagination.

As I explore the bowels of the ship, my desire is loosed and words flow from me effortlessly. Here, in the inner sanctum of the rarest wonder, my soul is bared. My eyes catch a glimpse and they are pleased. Of these young and energetic musings they are the only judge.

At times my desire is slowed by distractions. Ugly things, they force their way onto the ship and threaten all that I have built. But they are temporary and I know deep down that the power of the ship is greater. It fills me with hope, a force not easily undone.

As I emerge from below, a storm rages all around me. The ship tosses and turns in the fray and the only light shines from a pale moon's glow. Stumbling about, I manage to make it to the bow and lean out over the railing. At the edge of the wild, I look out and embrace the chaos. The unknown. The anchor for my soul.

For this is the way of things on the ship. At times there is a sturdy peace and at other times a thunderous chaos. And I am alone; always alone. But it is necessary. When I emerge and return back to the world there will be time for all else but until then I am blissfully apart, with only the wanderings of my heart and the quiet paths of my mind to guide me.

Time passes unbeknownst to me and still the allure of the ship is such as when I first climbed aboard. No longer cold and exhausted from the harrowing journey to reach it, I stride with purpose as my soul continues its unburdening and the madness surrounding me is held at bay. I am constantly in the eye of the storm.

When I depart the ship, it is of my own choosing. I have no doubt that it would carry me off into the eternal sea with ease and as much as I yearn for those distant waters I know that I would lose myself entirely. A break is needed and I bid the ship farewell until the next time, knowing that it won't be too long before I see it again.

In the time apart my focus drifts to other things but the memory of the ship still burns inside of me. Ever close to my ever wandering heart it moves in time with every beat. I long for its presence and desire its grandeur. But it won't be long, I'll make sure of it.

There are others like me and they, too, sail on ships of their own making. On raging seas, coursing through the depths of existence. We are one yet many and we seldom dwell in places our great ships cannot take us.

We voyage into uncharted waters and go where many dare not. We uncover these virgin seas and share what we have found. We are the trailblazers, the navigators, the first ones.

We are writers.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.