Humans logo

A Rumble In The Forest

Adventurous Meeting

By AndriaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
A Rumble In The Forest
Photo by Ash Edmonds on Unsplash

There was a hush in the valley as all were asleep. The night creatures came out and began their nightly affairs in the nearby forest. Owls hooted as they began to hunt for food. Wildcats prowled on padded feet looking for their next meal. The mice scuttled back and forth to their holes with scraps of food.

Moira had carefully set up cameras in the trees so that she could see the menagerie of animals go about their nightly routines. She was excited as it was rumoured that a black panther was a denizen of the forest. The local people called the panther Mara, and believed that Mara was a magical spirit of the forest. Moira desperately wanted to capture some footage of the beast. Moira was tucked away snug as a bug in her hideout. Tree branches covered her tent only leaving a gap for her to come in and out. Snuggling into her sleeping bag she put out her lamp and settled down to see what the night would hold? Moira watched patiently but constantly fell asleep until awakened by her head jolting upwards. A loud snarl gained her attention as she fumbled for her hand held camera. Moira saw that it was the panther silhouetted as a darker outline on her screen. She had no doubt that it was the big cat. It was moving swiftly out of the camera’s range. Jumping up she put on her boots, grabbed a torch and was out of the tent.

Moira could no longer see the cat so she switched on her torch and went towards the place where she had last seen it. The light of the torch illuminated the pad prints of the cat and Moira began to follow them. After a few minutes Moira stopped to gain her bearings. She found herself faced with dense bushes that allowed her very little room to maneuver. Surely the cat would not have gone this way but the paw prints stopped in front of the bushes. Where could the panther be? Moira barely thought this when she heard a cry and someone burst out in front of her pushing her to the ground.

‘What the heck…?’

Moira fell to the ground with a thud noticing something dark jumping to where she had stood. Lifting her head she found the big cat on the ground just ahead of her. It’s golden eyes pierced right through her causing the hair on her arms to stand up. Moira realised she was violently shaking. To her right she saw a pair of boots with legs that ended in a person. The person had a gun trained onto the panther ready to fire. She grabbed the legs and with all of her might pushed. The person misfired sending a shot off into one of the trees. Moira looked to see if the cat was safe? Yes, the cat had got away she thought as she sat triumphantly next to the person.

‘Just what on earth were you thinking of you idiot? You could have got us killed.’

‘I would ask the same of you – what are you thinking of shooting such a beautiful animal.’

‘That beautiful animal is a killer and very nearly had you for its next meal!’

‘Why are you making this into such a drama? The cat didn’t touch me.’

‘No it did not because it saw me ready to blow its head off.’

‘It’s people like you who kill innocent animals until they face extinction. You should be ashamed of yourself.’

Without realising it Moira had her torch shining right in to the face of a gorgeous woman.

‘Do you mind, your torch is in my face.’

Lowering her torch Moira stomped off towards her tent leaving an astonished stranger staring after her. After a few minutes the stranger turned to leave but having second thoughts she followed Moira who was standing shaking as the shock of what had just happened sank in.

‘Are you all right?’ she asked Moira.

‘No I’m not!’

Moira burst into tears and the stranger said, ‘You’re suffering from shock.’

‘If I wanted your opinion I would have asked for it, you animal killer.’

‘Please yourself I was only trying to help. What you need is a sweet cup of tea.’

‘Don’t presume to tell me what I need,’ sobbed Moira.

‘My name is Alex and I’d like to make you a cup of tea.’

‘What ever, go knock yourself out,’ said Moira pointing to her tent.

‘The tea is in a rucksack to your left.’

After saying this Moira slumped down on the ground and continued to cry. The sun was peeping over the horizon so Moira absently switched off her torch. She watched the colours of the sunrise and marveled at how beautiful the world was. Her thoughts were disturbed when Alex came with the tea.

‘How are you doing? What is your name?’ asked Alex

‘My name is Moira, and thank you for the tea.’

‘You’re welcome,’ said Alex who sat down. ‘Look I want to clear one thing up. I am not a hunter of beautiful animals and I would never shoot one unless I or someone else was in danger. You may not want to accept my explanation but that’s your call.’ After a few minutes Moira responded.

‘My names Moira and I’m a wildlife photographer.’

‘Thanks for sharing Moira. You already know my name and as for what I am doing in the rainforest, I’m a warden. I go around checking that no poachers come on site, hence the gun for protection. I would never shoot an animal unless I thought it was absolutely necessary. I took a shot at the panther, as I believed I was saving your life.’

Moira starred at Alex and shaking her head said,

‘I owe you an apology Alex as I totally misread the situation. You’re right, that panther was poised to attack me. Thank you for saving my life.’

‘No bother, I’m glad that you are safe and alive. As for the panther he or she has gone deep into the forest, alive and well.’

They both sat meditating on what had happened, drinking their tea and watching the sunrise. Moira was the first to get up and asked if Alex had finished her tea. As she reached for the mug she could not help noticing how good-looking Alex was. Their hands briefly touched and Moira felt the thrill of attraction. She would have smashed the mug if Alex had not been quick and grabbed it.

‘That was close.’

‘Oh I’m so clumsy!’ Alex handed the mug to Moira and their eyes met in mutual admiration.

‘I guess I had better stick around to look after you,’ laughed Alex.

‘I’m glad I saved you Moira as you are beautiful.’

‘Oh, umm, why thank you Alex,’ mumbled Moira blushing. Before she could move away Alex embraced her and gave her a kiss on her lips. Than she apologised as she saw the shocked look on Moira’s face.

‘Oh no, I didn’t mean that your kiss was unwanted. It was lovely and I’d like you to kiss me again please.’

Alex needed no further encouragement she kissed Moira again. This time the response was clear as Moira passionately kissed her back. They both laughed and Moira nodded her head to the tent. Starting to unbutton her shirt Alex led Moira into the tent. The sound of passionate lovemaking mingled with the forests sounds. After they had satiated their passion they lay in Moira’s tent totally spent.

‘Do you know you are so beautiful my darling Moira?’

‘I believe you have already told me that. What an exciting first date,’ exclaimed a contented Moira.’

‘It is the first of many,’ laughed Alex. Alex was right as they agreed to go on a more traditional date. The scene was set in a lovely hotel room. Moira and Alex sat at a candlelit table on the balcony before them a feast to eat. Alex picked up the bottle of Merlot and poured out a glass for Moira and herself. Taking the first sip Moira exclaimed,

‘What wine is this? It’s so pungent and delicious.’

‘I’m a member of a wine club called “Bright Cellars”. This is a Merlot from them and I agree with you it is so drinkable. And so are you Moira.’

Blushing Moira raised her glass, ‘Here’s to an infinity of first dates with excellent wine to drink.’

They were both laughing for the rest of the meal as the wine flowed. Exchanging jovial banter their eyes hungry for each other.

‘Do you know what, I love you Alex.’

‘I love you more.’

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Andria

Born in Wales and living in Scotland. Studied at University of Aberdeen. Retired Minister. I love animals and travelling. I also like to read and write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.