Humans logo

A reflection on not saying goodbye

journal 2 24 2021

By Samuel BitnerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I admit I could have cherished you more before last November. I did my best with the time I thought I had. I guess I did have. You taught me lessons in your profound silence. We all see how your ripple kept us together like glue. I do not regret who I was but I can safely say I am fucking full of sorrow I cant physically show you who I am becoming and where I am going. You were there for me in some dark times. You never judged me at least never out loud. You just witnessed my storms and shared the laughter I let surface. You were there before the crucible. You were playful and that allowed me to be a bit more like myself when I always felt I had to be a rock. A shut in of emotions. You were relentless in who you were and how you lived. I respect your life time. I hope you feel the shrine I make for you in my soul.

I had a moment I tried to share with you today. I slipped into a rage as I walked in the forge. I lifted legs which you always enjoyed. In a way of showing your power even on days you didn't want to get after it. I try to dedicate them to you but then that nemesis speaks up in my mind. Like an itch I want to fight. How could you go so suddenly? How could we not say goodbye? Even as I spoke to myself of how I only had to let go of your physical presence I still felt grief. I held you tight in my heart as I punished the bone and muscles I carry here. As if I could interpret the chemicals colliding in my veins.

Eventually the storm calmed and I found my peace with you again. I saw your other halves today. I can always feel your absence when I am with them. They miss you deeply and I haven't figured out how to connect ever since. I watch them change slowly but evidently. It's not agony but something like defeat. Maybe I am simply projecting how my old self would have endured this. I watch my wounds heal. I witness the idea of you morphing into a blinding light. A piece of the story that will never not be told. I know you know this because I know this.

I try to pay it forward. The kindness you showed me. In small ways for now but at some point the world will know your name as a tribute to a gentle prince. A man who consistently took care of those close to you. I was allowed to cherish a part of you about a decade long. Evolving into a chosen identity you seemed so comfortable as. I would give you my oxygen to bring you back. I would give you my time if you wanted it. I have to accept that this is how it will be. This is how it was suppose to be. In that I have to cope by envisioning the part of you that is apart of me.

If you are watching us from the other side I hope you don't forget about me. I know I will find you again. I imagine you're building a new empire beyond this realm and thats beautiful in a way.

Deep inside the caves of my mind beneath the mountains buried by the oceans your final moment unleashed a creation. I could count each beat of my heart inside its ribcage. I could feel my lungs fill with fire as each breath pushed against the walls like trying to find its way out. The visions blurred began to focus on the objective. I know it was always there. I never knew you were the key. These writings are mine. I share them with no intention other then letting it out of this skull.

I bring you back beneath the scorching sun. We float here and I stare into your pale eyes. I seek the sorcerer. The one who worshipped hatred and would roam with devious dogs. I let you show me the reminders of how I got these scars. The story of how wounds formed and festered. Night after night feeding the damage done. In a strange way it strengthened the power I was gifted. I see the shackles you removed from my body. The lay rusted and decaying. I gently push you towards the ball of fire. Into the light that now I see as a symbol of hope. I am infinite as you are now.

Tonight I carve your name into the wood. I bury it deep so that it will keep my promise to you.

I will find you.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Samuel Bitner

I want to share the energy of my writings. It comes from an infinite place I listen to often.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.