Humans logo

A realistic goal

My New Year's Resolution

By Tyler BrookePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
A realistic goal
Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

Finding True Love. Travel More. Live a stress free life. What do all these things have in common? For starters these are all new years resolutions people try to make. Not only that, but they are also very unrealistic. Before you start calling me a negative person for saying this, let me tell you why all of these are examples of unrealistic New Year's goals.

Let's start with the first one. Finding true love. Now, while it's admirable to find that special someone, there's no guarantee of that. Granted this planet supports more than 7 billion people, that doesn't mean that you will find true love. Mainly because it's a decision that's not entirely up to you. Which brings me to my next point, what constitutes as real love anyway? Are you looking for a romantic relationship? Are you looking for a lustful one? Is it a platonic relationship for a person you care deeply for? While wholesome as that New Years sounds, it's unrealistic. To quote Ricardo Montalban "True love doesn't happen right away; it's an ever-growing process. It develops after you've gone through many ups and downs, when you've suffered together, cried together, laughed together."

The next one, travel more can also be seen as vague. For starters, budget would come into play. Just because you wish to travel more, doesn't mean you will automatically get the money to do so. Take it from me, I've been wanting to go to Japan for years and I still don't have anywhere near enough money for a trip. Even if you do have the money for it, the concept sounds vague. Do you wish to travel to another state? Or perhaps another country? Maybe even another continent all together. Sounds like wishful thinking if you don't have everything you need planned for this. A good trip can take awhile to plan. To quote the late Winston Churchill "He who fails to plan is planning to fail." I know it's quoted that way, but this term can apply to anyone regardless of their gender identification.

Which brings me to the last one. Living a stress free life. Out of all of these, this one sounds like the most wholesome and arguably the most realistic. That said, it's still a tad on the idealistic side. I say this because there are many things in life that can cause stress. Wither it be financial stability, a toxic work environment or personal issues. That said, it's stress that makes people into stronger and it makes them into better versions of themselves. To quote the late Lee Lacocca "In times of great stress or adversity, it's always best to keep busy, to plow your anger and your energy into something positive."

Of course, this is not to be said that you shouldn't have a New Year's Resolution. In fact its admirable to want to better yourself. However, you just need to be realistic in your approach to do so. Many popular resolutions that fit into the realm of more realistic goals are ones like, going to bed earlier, being more positive or even loosing weight. Even those ones usually fall by the wayside within the first month. Mostly because it's an overall vague concept. More realistic than the first 3, but more vague. Like how I broke down the first three, I'm going to break down these ones as well.

For starters, let's look at the first one. Going to be earlier. While I admit the thought alone is good because it's overall good for your well, that also sounds pretty vague. For starters, the term earlier, is relative. For example, the person who said that would usually fall asleep at 2 in the morning because they were up all night playing video games or watching OVAS. Instead of going to bead at 2 in the morning, they would go to bed at 1 in the morning. Granted it's still technically earlier, but not healthy. Most people that make that resolution, typically keep it for a month and they go back sleeping status quo. To quote the Dalai Lama "Sleep is the best form of mediation."

Being more positive. This one is more wholesome of the three, but again, falls into the world of relativity. For what is negative for one person, is positive for another. Also, how would you plan on doing so? When you train your brain to think a particular way of thinking, it becomes natural. That said, negativity is not good for one's health. Negativity can lead to: chronic stress, upsets in the hormone balance and damages to the immune system. So it's good to make the attempt to be more positive. Though it should really be more of a life style change than a New Year's resolution.

The last one is not only the most often heard of (and usually the first resolution people think of when they think of New Year's resolution) but also the one that fits closely to mine. Before I tell you mine however, let me tell you why this one is as unrealistic as the rest. For starters, the overall concept is vague. There are many things that factor in to the concept of weight lost. For starters, do you plan to work out more? Do you plan to regulate your choleric intake? Do you plan on replacing your usually meals with healthier ones? These are all factors that go in to weight loss that people don't plan accordingly to, nor do they have the patience and stamina to follow through with it. I say this because many (not all) but many people who have this New Year's resolution, tend to give up on it come February when things like Chinese New Year, Super bowl and Valentine's Day occur where people encourage on less than healthy foods like egg rolls, hot wings and bonbons.

That said, wanting to lead a healthier lifestyle is defiantly a good thing to do. It's always good to take care of your body. Wither it's spiritually, emotionally, mentally or even physically. Which is why my New Year's resolution is to drink more water. Before the week of New Year's Eve, I found that a good portion of my recycling bin had consisted of Arizona Iced Tea. Out of all the soft drinks, this is my absolute favorite. Especially when it comes can. Now, I'm not a scientist, but I think it has to do with how the soft drink is sealed and distributed. That said, when I was taking my recycling out, one of the cans had fallen from the recycling bin. I picked it up and noticed how many grams of sugar were in it. I also noticed how many of these cans were in my recycling bin.

Which is why I decided that my New Year's resolution is to drink water more often. At surface value, it does sound vague, but, I actually have a plan to do so. I bought several water bottles and even a water purifier. I make it a point to drink nothing but water when I have meals at home. When I go out with my friends, I also just order water (neat, not a fan of ice). Not only is that more health efficient, but it's also cheaper as well.

It is officially the 18th of January and most of what I drank is water. Granted I know have a job that requires me to wake up at 330/4 in the morning and I need my coffee and I do like to save my Arizona's for my weekly One Piece nights. That said, most of my beverage consumption has been water. I have lost a lot of inches. I know this because I can now fit into pants that I haven't been able to fit into for years. I am going to continue this strive because not only do I feel slimmer, I've felt better than I have in a really long time. Also, I have a niece who is almost 3 years old and I would like to make sure I am around for a very long time for her. So for myself and her, I'm going to keep the course of my continual water consumption.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Brooke

Hello,

I'm Tyler Brooke. I'm 30 years of age and have enjoyed writing all my life. I'm a published author with one book to my name and plan on writing more. I joined this page to express myself creatively and to read well written stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.