Humans logo

A Quiet Love

Love doesn’t need to be loud.

By Sara CaramellaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Quiet Love
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Love does not have to be loud. Love does not have be in your face. Love does not have to be anything you don’t want it to be. These are lessons that took me awhile to learn. But now I have learned that love can be showed in a thousand different ways. Love is unique to each person and each type of love. I don’t love my boyfriend, friends and family all the same and it was about time I stopped expecting them to all love me the exact same way. It all started with Josh, he has taught me so much.

Josh has never been the type to post me on Instagram, Snapchat or Facebook. But he does ask to take pictures with me. He has never been the type to talk a lot about me but he does brag to his friends about me. The things he does always show me just how much he loves me. He holds my hands whenever he can, he gives me hugs when I need them most, he always supports me and constantly tells me how proud he is of me. He talks to his friends about how much he loves me, he introduces me to everyone and he always makes sure I know I am loved.

I always thought love had to be in your face. But it does not need to be that loud. Josh shows his love by the way he tucks me into bed when he leaves for work, he shows me he loves me when he doesn’t tear me down .. even when he is upset. Josh shows love his own way and it has become my favorite way. I love looking at rocks, so he brings pretty rocks home. He knows how much I love wild sunflowers, so he points them out and picks them for me when he can. He knows I love cows, so he points them out and slows down so I can look at them. He knows how much I love turquoise, so he always compliments me when I wear it. He knows what my favorite foods are, so he’ll just show up with them from time to time. He loves me, all my flaws and all my own loves.

Josh texts me everyday on his lunch break to check in, he calls me in the evenings when he is away from home and he drove 3 hours one way after work to visit me in the hospital. He has always makes sure he understands me and he values communication. He loves me quietly, but he isn’t always quiet. He has shown me how important communication really is. He lets me express myself and he expresses himself. We work together as a team and check in on each other.

I think my favorite thing about his type of love is that it is warm, consistent and always supportive. Josh has loved me through some of the worst times in my life. I know I have challenged him, upset him and frustrated him but he never makes me feel like a burden. He communicates with me, listens to me and shows how much he cares for me. He helps me out in any way I need and has always been my number one supporter. He gives me time to do my homework, he gives me space to think and be myself. He knows how much I love true crime and since he doesn’t like it, he gives me space to listen to my podcasts and watch documentaries. At the end of the day, I know Josh will support my decisions and do whatever he can to help my mental health, physical health and emotional health.

It is hard finding someone that loves you and doesn’t try to change you. It is a challenge to find someone that refuses to give up on you. It is even harder to find someone that makes you a better person. Someone that loves you in the way you need, not the way you want is what every person should go for. But once you find that love, keep it. Reflect on yourself and work on yourself so you can accept and cherish this type of love. It is a challenge every single day, but it is worth it. Love does not need to be loud. Love just needs to be given and showed in your own way.

love
Like

About the Creator

Sara Caramella

26. Crisis Counselor. Domestic Violence Survivor.

I believe in sharing my story so others know they are never alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.