Humans logo

A Personality Test Hater takes the Enneagram

Spoiler: the results were actually pretty true

By Madeline KeysPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Personality tests have always rubbed me the wrong way. For some reason the idea that someone could possibly have me figured out and put me into a category really irritates me. Even though I typically don't like personality tests, I know that they can be taken just for fun and it can be a great way to help you get to know yourself better. I've heard a lot of great things about the Enneagram Personality test and decided to take it. The results were shockingly and annoyingly very true for me.

As I took the Enneagram personality test, I made sure to answer all the questions as honestly as I possibly could so I could properly judge the results. The questions that I had to answer were similar to other personality tests I've taken in the past so I kind of went through it quickly. Then the results came and I read all about my personality type.

Turns out I am a Type Two also known as "The Helper," or "Caregiver." I read what multiple websites said about Type Twos and the main descriptive words I found were: warm, empathetic, people-pleasing, and generous. I definitely can be people-pleasing and I like to think I'm warm, empathetic and generous. Then it broke down into the basic desire and basic fear of a Type Two and that is where I found it really relating to me. The basic desire of a Two is to be fully loved and accepted. The basic fear of a Two on the other hand is being unwanted or unloved by the people around them. That's spot on with what I really search for in any relationship as well as my biggest fear in any relationship.

Another spot on thing about Type Two's that applies to me is that they may suppress their emotions or channel them into more positive emotions. My friends often tell me that I'm always optimistic, finding the beauty in anything. Sometimes although I feel emotions strongly about a certain thing, I push my emotions down and show more accepted or desired emotions without even meaning to.

One other way that relates to me majorly is that Type Two's need to be needed. There is nothing I love more than helping someone...or feeling like I am helping someone. In all my relationships I am attentive and try my best to listen and be empathetic. I genuinely care about people and their feelings and I even take on their feelings upon myself. However I can be selfish sometimes because I need to feel like I'm helping or I don't feel wanted. This makes me search for approval in the wrong areas. Oh, and I really hate asking for help, but most of the time it's honestly because I can't see how to help myself like I can in others.

So to sum it up: even though I'm not a fan of personality tests, I was surprised at how detailed and true my results for the Enneagram were. One thing I like about the Enneagram Personality Test over other personality tests is that the Enneagram didn't divide personality by just introvert or extrovert. The test instead used descriptions like, Type Two's are motivated and energized by feeling loved and welcomed. Lately, I have really been discovering more of who I am and by self-analyzing, I found that the Enneagram Test is actually pretty accurate for me. I recommend you try it!

I appreciate you taking time to read this. If you liked what you read please take a moment to like and share with friends and family. Also be sure to check out my profile to see more topics I've written on and if you're feeling generous my tips are always open. Thank you!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Madeline Keys

I'm just a writer trying to find her voice. I'm passionate about writing things I'm learning about and things I've experienced.

I hope you enjoy exploring my page!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.