Humans logo

A Letter to My Sister (A Short True Story about Racism)

(A Short True Story about Racism)

By Bella BanksPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Picture Credit: Caress via Pinterest

To the Heavily Pregnant, Tall, Dark and Beautiful Caribbean/Jamaican Lady I met on the train to work one beautiful British summer morning.

I wish we had met on better terms.

I wish your first hello to me wasn’t the heart breaking words “Go Back to Your Country”

I wish you hadn’t looked at me and instinctively decided I wasn’t worthy of your love simply because I am Black African.

You got on the packed train and being heavily pregnant, you needed a seat.

If I was more aware of my surroundings and not totally focused on my phone that morning, I most definitely would have offered my seat to you like I always do.

I wish you weren’t so quick to judge my absent-mindedness that fateful morning, as an unwillingness on my part to offer you my seat on the train.

Your first few words to me gave me an unpleasant insight into your heart, to the shock and disgust of everyone on the train that morning.

One of the many insulting words you hurled at me that day was “Go back to your Country” !

Those particular words hit a nerve.

My first reaction was total shock and amazement, firstly at the fact that I had just been racially abused, and more shockingly the fact that it came from a black woman!

But I did the best I could to maintain my composure and then proceeded to quickly educate you, on the ills of racism, whilst expressing my utter shock and amazement in the best way I possibly could.

Still! a nagging feeling/thought enveloped my brain- I couldn’t help but wonder why you said what you said to me!

Suddenly, I remembered what a Portuguese friend had mentioned a few weeks back during a conversation about race.

He had mentioned that some Caribbean’s/Jamaicans have certain reservations and anger towards Black African people because they believe our Ancestors sold them into slavery, hence why a lot of Caribbean’s/Jamaicans have little or no knowledge/links to their African heritage.

For this, I am deeply and wholeheartedly sorry. I apologize on behalf of my African Ancestors. I can only imagine the pain and feeling of displacement etc, you feel whenever you see an African person, and I am sorry about that.

Whilst I totally understand your anger towards my Ancestors, I struggle to understand why you have chosen to transfer this anger onto me.

This is not okay.

I am not my Ancestors and I will never be. I have always treated you, (like I do everyone else) equally & with love and respect. Hence I expect nothing less, back from you.

Please find it in your heart to forgive my Ancestors and do the best you can to move on from the memory, hurt and pain caused by them.

I wish you all the very best as you think deeply about this, heal from the pain of the past and lastly try to move on from it.

Lots of Love, Your African Sister. ❤️

CAVEAT:

I hope you enjoyed reading this piece. I apologize if you find any of my views above offensive. Please note that the above piece was written purely from my perspective and personal experience. Thank you

Photo Credit: Caress via Pinterest

humanity
1

About the Creator

Bella Banks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.