Humans logo

A letter to all the women I will never be

but could have been (or maybe am in another timeline), and who walk along with me every day

By ForbsiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A letter to all the women I will never be
Photo by Vonecia Carswell on Unsplash

I am the sum of a multitude of choices made through the moments that make up the years that make up this life I've been living. Any one of those choices made differently and I wouldn't be the me that I am, right here and now. Wild...

By Jon Tyson on Unsplash

To all the women I will never be:

Thank you.

Thank you for creating the space for this version to exist in. By no means am I perfect - whatever that means - but I'm loved and I love. I'm embracing each moment I've been given in this life and doing my best to recognize and appreciate the little things that make life worth living.

Thank you for giving me strength and optimism - despite society doing it's best to stomp it out of me. I am the woman I am because of the women I'll never become. These pieces of potential that came together to create what is. The miracle that conspired to create the life I'm living in this body, with this mind, and spirit.

I am grateful for the guidance I have found in connecting with various parts of myself. I'm super excited to continue meeting and connecting with them. My child is pure joy and she reminds me to make time for play. My elder is wise and she helps keep me grounded. I've gotten glimpses of the emotional teenager who helps me feel all the things (instead of burying them away). There's the wanderer, the wonderer, and the one who will never stop believing in the magic this world has to offer.

By Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

To the mother who never bared her own children. Thank you for sharing your love and nurturing. Thank you for gifting me to ability to care for others. A gentle caress, a soft touch, the ability to reparent myself as needed.

To the witch with all her magic. Creating awareness of connection with all things. To know I am made of stardust and magic and with this I can achieve anything I desire. Abundance abounds around me in the beauty of this world.

To the hippie in all her freedom. Her soul forever dancing with mind. Reminding me to find my own beat and enjoy the simple pleasures in life. Don't take things so seriously, none of us get out alive.

To the wild woman who never lost her sense of self. The ongoing reminder to keep up the practices that connected me to me and to the greater whole of mother nature. We are one and the same and we often forget that what we do to ourselves we do to her and vice versa. It's way passed time for humanity as a whole to do better. She reminds me to keep doing my part.

To the powerhouse who won't let anyone take her down. Thank you for sharing your strength and determination. Thank you for helping me pick myself up when I fall and not letting me give in to giving up when I'm so close. In balance, I appreciate knowing when to let go and walk away. When something has run it's course and life has other plans and other paths for me to follow and opportunities to create my own.

By Miriam Espacio on Unsplash

To all the versions of me making their own decisions and leading different lives across this infinite vast of space and time. Thank you. I feel the interconnectedness and the lessons we're each, and all, learning. Together and apart but always connected. All various parts of a greater whole.

We never know the full extent of any influence we may have. Where the ripple we began may end up. The impact of decisions made long ago still influence the woman I am today and I am continually spiraling around, coming back, going deeper, and seeing more each time.

To all the women I will never be:

Thank you.

I am forever grateful for your influence on the woman that I am and the woman I continue to become.

With immense gratitude and love.

- the woman that is me

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Forbsie

Forever student of life. I love to learn and am always up for exploring. I use breath and yoga to explore my inner world and get to know myself as deeply as I can. I use writing to share a glimpse of my world with you. I hope you enjoy it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.