Humans logo

A Humiliating Plee

I'll probably delete this after I post it, because I hate doing this sort of thing.

By Rebecca SmithPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
1
A Humiliating Plee
Photo by SJ Objio on Unsplash

Hello, World of Vocal.

Life in the UK is pretty grim at the moment. We're in the depths of a 'Cost of Living Crisis' that seems like it's been going on forever and there is no end in sight. And that is where this post comes into it.

I have zero money. I work full time, multiple jobs, and never spend money on anything bar essentials, yet I am still finding it hard to keep my head above water. I'm running out of the essentials like shampoo and feminine hygeine products, I've hardly eaten in months and work are giving me less and less hours, so I can't even afford my next lot of rent, let alone all the other bills that come with running a home. It is humilitating and de-humanising. I can't go out with my friends, I can't treat myself to a coffee, I can't even buy a packet of gum to freshen my breath. I hate it.

I have tried to claim Universal Credit, but they won't help me, because they deem that I am purposley not working enough. I work 17 hours a day, 6 days a week, I don't really know how they think I can work more!! Plus, tax absolutely screws me. I've tried selling all my things on Vinted and eBay, and that started off great, but now I'm running out of things to sell and it's gone quiet again. I used to make money from selling my Cross Stitches (they were gothic and alternative and full of swear words), but I now can't even afford all the hoops and threads I need, etc, so I can't make them to sell them.

I've asked my one family member for help, but he is also struggling to survive right now. I don't want to ask my friends for a handout, because I know a lot of them are finding it hard too. I write behind a fake name on here, so it's my last ditch attempt.

With there being 'tips' on here, I was wondering if anyone would mind leaving a contribution? I know it's a lot to ask, but even with over 60 stories posted on here, I'vve made £20 in 3 years. THREE years! It's awful! I know it's a big ask and it is so embarassing, and I will no doubt delete this soon because the shame will take over, but I had to ask. I'm literally trying anything I can to be able to pay my rent.

So if any of my stories have ever made you smile, or you've ever looked at it and learnt something, then please consider leaving a tip. I write about all kinds of stuff; anything I think people will like. I have a Master's degree, but cannot put it top good use, because COVID messed that up. That's why this is even more degrading, because I have a Master's and can't even find a well-paid job. Life has been awful to me since day dot, and this just seems like it's trying to kick me to the ground and humiliate me even more.

I thought I'd keep this plain and pretty basic, because I didn't want to go into detail and make it seem like I'm trying to get a load of sympathy. Doing this is awful enough.

So yeah, please, if you can, even if it's only a couple of quid, I'd really, really appreciate it. If there was some way of doing something in return, I would do it. This really is my last ditch attempt.

Thank you for reading this rambling post. and I'm so sorry to have made it.

Rebecca x

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Smith

She/Her

Just be f*cking nice 🙌

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Smith is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.