Humans logo

A Hug vs. An Embrace

The Gr8 Deb8

By Sassy Lady Ava GPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Hugs from little man- my nephew, my heart

While writing a poem that ended up morphing into a song there came this gr8 deb8. Not great as in epic, but great as in good conversation and food for thought. The gr8 deb8- - - A hug vs. an embrace was born.

While the word "hug" is the more common terminology, to me it would be more accurate to say that the two words are equally interchangeable. I set out to write a poem about a hug/hugging/hugs and being that my flair for poetry writing really only works for me if it rhymes I had a very hard time getting my point across and telling my story using the word "hug." Frustrated, but not terribly so, I seemingly without thought chose to use the word "embrace." To me they are one in the same, but are they?

As I began to write I notice a difference immediately. My words flowed easily and hip, hip hooray I was on my way. Once it became apparent that my poem was moving in a different direction and becoming a song I steadily wrote my story to a fractured melody in my head. As I wrote I felt quite pleased with the message I was conveying. I was taking a moment in time and then expanding upon it. While my song is very specific to a specific moment of my life and the expansion that followed thereafter; I believe that I am not alone in my experience.

I was still keenly aware that if I was ever going to reach past more than just one person I was going to have to open up my writing so that it was not so specific and others could relate to my story. I do not really set my mind to do that but somehow it always does and this was no exception...EXCEPT some specific phrasing in verse one that could easily be adapted to fit nearly any situation that the song could be applied to.

As my writing comes to an end I am feeling quite superlative about what I have conveyed to the listener. In my heart I know my story, I told my story and there is no doubt in my mind that it will be seen in any other light. I thought it was cut and dry, to the point, nothing more, nothing less.

Then I began to go over the song in my head with the melody-working out the kinks, doing some editing, working on timing, phrasing and flow. Unfortunately for me I get inside my head too much and for too long, to which there is usually some sort of consequence to pay for doing so. The consequence here being my song, that just minutes ago conveyed a story in a clear and concise manner, has taken on a whole other life of it's own and in my mind has now gone in a totally different direction... and if I'm thinking it can be completely misinterpreted how much more so might the person to whom the song is written about? So this was how the gr8 deb8 was launched.

In the middle of my therapy session I decide to pop the question... no-- nothing like THAT. I ask my Dr. if she thinks there is a difference between the the two words "hug" and "embrace" or were they equally interchangeable? She thinks for a moment and her answer is they are different.

I am not actually sure myself at this point and feel I have valid arguments for both sides, but for the sake of my song I battle for them to be equal. My first argument to prove my point is presented as this: if you were looking at two people "hugging" how could you tell if it was a hug or an embrace; sex is irrelevant. My point taken she now scurries for her phone and her ever popular answer for just about everything she doesn't know or is unsure about--. the ever popular Google.

She Google's hug vs. embrace. She comes across one that answers favorably to her as I scramble to the almighty Thesaurus which answers favorably to me. Hug meaning embrace and one of the synonyms for embrace... hug. As my session came to a close I still am not sure that we actually settled or agreed on a conclusion.

So, now that I have spent not just minutes or hours but DAYS in my head over these lyrics and I am still left with a dilemma. Do I re-write the song or do I trust that the person the song is written about knows me and my writing well enough to hear the song exactly how it was written and that they totally "get" what I'm saying without seeing the song in a totally different light that if that happens could cause them to feel totally different and possibly change our relationship drastically and NOT for the better?

I think more than a misinterpretation I am more mad, feeling as if I don't share it, then I do not trust them to know me and my writing well enough to see it just for what it is and nothing else--- so, I am torn. Does not sharing mean I don't trust? If the song is misinterpreted, is that their problem and not mine to take on, being as though I am clear on my intention behind the lyric?

As I still ponder the hug vs. embrace deb8 my conclusion is inconclusive.

Before writing this song I probably would have argued to the death that the two were completely interchangeable--one not meaning anything different from the other. After writing this song and using the word "embrace" as opposed to the word "hug" for aesthetic purposes I can see how in a certain context the word embrace comes off as a word you would use to perhaps describe the action of a couple vs the action of just two "any bodies. "

So, with that being said I am still up in the air about sharing my song. My heart tells me that it will be just fine and that I'm overreacting because I spent too much time in my head thinking about it and my head says sharing it is going to be a mistake and my worst fears will come true.

So long inquiring minds! Perhaps there will be a part three should the song be shared and the outcome...you will have to stay tuned.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sassy Lady Ava G

Poet, Songwriter, Parody writer and performer, Grammar tyrant, Cre8v by nature, here to hone my skills.

Ask for additional details...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.