Humans logo

A Day In The Life - Series

My days are a little hectic as a college student sometimes but at the end of the day, it is all worth it

By Kyra E BadePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Each day brings something new to the table. Most of the time you know what to expect. But there are other times, you just never know what will happen.

Hi. I'm Kyra and this is my story.

I have many backgrounds. EMT, paraeducator, retail worker, doordasher, shipt shopper, and most importantly, a college student. I work many hours at work and even more hours in school. But it all comes with a price sometimes. The price I pay is lack of sleep. I barely get any it seems, and I am ok with that. I spend my days drinking coffee and water. I swear, I should have a caffeine drip attached with how much coffee I drink. But that's a story for another day.

Let's start with my background. I'm an EMT, that's where all the coffee came into play. Never drank it before EMT school and here I am, 3 years later drinking it multiple times a day. I love being an EMT. It makes my life worthwhile. I have some hard days, I have some crap days, but it's all worth it knowing I am helping someone in need. I've lost a few, I helped more, and I helped deliver beautiful children who are entering this world. It's truly a love-hate relationship.

I am a paraeducator. What is a paraeducator, you may ask? I assist my primary teacher with students both in our classroom as well as the students' classroom in the areas where they need help. Some of my students need help with math, some with reading, others with paying attention. I never dreamed I'd be back in elementary school, but I would not change this life for the world. I love what I do, maybe a little more than being an EMT.

Door dash and Shipt are as simple as they sound. I pick up an order and deliver it. Nothing special there. But it helps keep the money steadily coming in, especially with being a college student.

My last job is working retail. I just love the customer interactions I have throughout my shift. It's a nice break from helping children with their school work and helping those when I am on the ambulance. In a weird sense, it's peaceful. But there are still hectic days. But again, it's nice to have that break from everyday helping that I do.

So now let's discuss this college student thing I keep mentioning. I get so many faces of concern when I tell people that I go to two different schools. But, it's true, I attend two different schools at the same time with two different career outcomes. Not many people can do it, some can barely handle one school! But here I am, halfway through my one school in the medical field and many more semesters to go to my other. I will explain both of them at a later time in the series.

So why am I telling you all of this? Because I want to be able to show you that it all can be done. I will share stories of my days on the ambulance, I will share stories of what my students did throughout their day with me. If anything exciting happens during retail, I will share that too. Like the other day when we raced shopping carts back into the store because we had no customers. I will share my experience with working on two degrees from two schools and all of my accomplishments. I will share things about medical situations to the best of my ability as an EMT.

With HIPAA laws, I will not share my location or the names of my patients. I will not share the names of my classmates, or of my students or coworkers. I take all of that into consideration when I am telling stories. In these stressful times, I feel the need for positivity is greater. So please, continue watching for my stories as I begin the journey of sharing real-life experiences with you.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.