Humans logo

A Crafty Way To Mend A Broken Heart

Recapturing Happiness!

By Debra DebekPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
10
A Crafty Way To Mend A Broken Heart
Photo by Adam Valstar on Unsplash

I pulled into the beach parking lot unaware at the time of how this one small afternoon’s whimsical venture would begin my journey from the depths of heartbreak and devastation to a life of new found wisdom, inspiration and peace. 

As I pulled into the parking lot of the beach on this sunny but cold winter afternoon I noticed I was, for a moment,  the only car in the lot.  Then, within minutes, several other cars pulled in as well. It was a large parking lot yet we all seemed to park clustered together in the same vicinity.  We all pulled into the spots that gave the widest view of the water. None of us got out of our cars. We all just sat and looked at the water. This led me to question why people feel drawn and gravitated to water.  I had many theories of my own but needed to google search to see what other theories might be presented. Here’s one that definitely rings true for me. 

At the time I had been in the midst of my divorce and for anyone who has experienced this life altering event, you know the toll it can take on an individual emotionally.  I had just moved out of our home and moved in with my sister and her family who lived in a small beach town.  I was starting from scratch again with no job, and no ability to find one either given my current emotional state of mind.  The heartbreak I felt was something I never imagined I’d ever feel in my life and nothing I was prepared to deal with. Who really is ever prepared for life altering events?

With my self esteem at an all time low and a racing mind full of sadness, I began to pull into that beach parking lot on a daily basis as a means to capture some form of peace of my mind. Gazing at the water just quelled all the tumultuous thoughts in my head as I emptied them one by one in rhythm with the ocean’s waves.  

After a few visits I ventured out of my car to walk the beach and discovered on this sandy beach little gems gleaming from the reflection of the suns rays.  I had seen sea glass before but never saw them from this perspective. These were little bright colored broken pieces of my heart, at least that’s how I saw them at the time, that I would begin to collect and would become the catalyst to mending my heart.  I walked hours and hours each day collecting buckets. Eventually, I had so much I had to ask myself, what do I do with all of them? 

I loved the colors and decided I was going to find out how to turn them into necklaces I could wear proudly from my neck. These little gems were saving me one day at a time by giving me a new found passion as I collected hours of joy with each piece nestled in the sand that I excitedly picked up. 

I bought all the supplies I needed. A small drill, some twine, colored rope, and a pair of scissors.  That was all I needed; just a few items and I was off. I had already collected the sea glass so now my kit to a new found peace was complete.  I watched countless YouTube videos on using a drill to make the holes in the glass, to learn what size drill bits to use, etc.  I learned how to make slip knots as a way of closing the necklace and knots for hanging the glass on the rope.

Learning different knots led me to making bracelets too that were so much fun to make.  For this, all I needed was rope and scissors. Friends and family began submitting requests as they admired my proudly worn creations.  I made the bracelet below for a friend who is a huge Mets fan by using the Mets colors for the rope.

With crafting I found comfort and peace. My mind’s troubles emptied to make space to see the light at the end of the dark tunnel and to feel joy and happiness once again.  I didn’t know when I started this craft that it would ultimately lead to mending my broken heart and setting me back on my path to happiness, but it did in fact end up doing just that. Apparently, there’s a lot of research on the emotional benefits of crafting.  The article below elaborates on this. 

According to another article listed below, crafting and the benefits are likened to meditation.  I couldn’t agree more.

Without any of this information prior to my new found passion, I became living proof that crafting heals, crafting reduces stress, and crafting brings happiness!

So if you’re stressed or struggling start crafting and watch yourself blossom.  Even if you’re happy, go ahead and add more happiness to your existence and get crafty! 

These weren’t elaborate creations that I made, yet I enjoyed creating them, wearing them and others enjoyed them as well.

I did get back to life and started working again but I do continue to set aside time for some peaceful crafting that will now always be a part of my life. 

Crafting didn’t make me who I am it just reminded me at a time I had forgotten of the person I have always been.  A happy person ! 😊 

diy
10

About the Creator

Debra Debek

Writer enthusiast, poetry lover, using my voice to unravel a complicated life and a complicated mind of one human life sharing experiences of all human lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.