Humans logo

The Alien Who Told Me About My Date

Dating can be fun too.

By Debra DebekPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Alien Who Told Me About My Date
Photo by Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

I am snuggled up in my bed when I notice a magnificent bright light through the window that lit up the entire back yard.  It was brighter than any bolt of lightning I’d ever seen and I didn’t hear any rain outside so it couldn’t be lightning that was lighting up the nighttime sky.  I’m staring out the window but all I see is a the light that is illuminating the back yard like a football stadium. I ran to the back door and tried peering through the window blinds but still I see nothing.  Ok, my curiosity is killing me at this point but it’s also coupled with a bit of fear. Curiosity wins this one though. I go for it. I open the back door and step out onto the deck.  I look up and nearly faint from what I see.  Circular lights on a plane or space ship of some sort hovering just above the house. In a second it’s landed in the yard and a door opens. I am sure I thought of running but, paralyzed by what I was seeing, I just stood there frozen. An alien figure emerges and says, “look for the man with the UFO tattoo on his arm. This will be the man you’re meant to be with.” In an instant he was back on board and the plane disappeared. I rubbed my eyes turned and went inside.  Suddenly, I hear a crash.  Next thing I know I’m pulling myself out from my under the covers as I wake from sleeping. Apparently, Dexter, my dog, knocked over the lamp in the living room which startled and awakened me from that crazy Alien dream.

So I’m not one who puts much thought into analyzing my dreams but this one was a doozy to say the least.  I guess I have been a little too focused lately on trying to meet someone. I’m now dreaming that perhaps the Aliens can find me a date.  

It’s been a year since Robby and I broke up.  I really thought my dating days were over when I met Robby. Yet here I am on several dating apps and still not finding anyone that feels right. I’ve had countless cups of coffee and endless meet ups for drinks that you would think I would just give up at this point.  Let’s say I’ve never been a quitter and I’m sure the right person will soon appear.

My best friend Emily has been with her boyfriend Billy for 5 years now. They recently became engaged. I’m thrilled for her but you know when you’re single and alone, the more people you see who are happy, just makes you feel that much more alone.  Funny, we always said I would be the one who would be married first. 

Emily has been fixing me up with all of Billy’s friends and so far that has produced nothing but awkward moments. Especially when they have parties at their house and invite all of Billy’s friends. 

Emily called me a few weeks ago and tells me of yet another of Billy’s friends I should date. Immediately, I say no! Emily goes on to clarify that he really is not a friend but a coworker, and Billy thinks I’d really like him.  I jokingly reply, “does he have a tattoo of a UFO on his arm?” She laughed, as I did tell both Emily and Billy all about that crazy dream weeks prior. 

So I get the call from Jack, Billy’s coworker, and surprisingly the conversation flowed nicely. We started off with the usual, what do you do for a living? What are your hobbies and interests?  Turns out he’s a bit of a wine enthusiast.  He went on to explain the history of Merlot and about the more recent events that have given rise to its enormous sales and popularity.  Granted, this might not be the conversation that excites most but I do love a guy who can discuss a variety of topics.  He suggests we meet at the restaurant in town for dinner.

We met up at the restaurant, sat down, and Jack ordered us both a glass of Merlot. He went on with some more of his interesting facts about the making of wine. We ordered dinner and enjoyed conversation that flowed nicely from one topic to another. He then said he had an event he needed to get to and asked if I’d like to come along. I asked what it was but he said it’s a bit corny and perhaps I wouldn’t mind if he left that a surprise.  Well, I’m a lover of surprises so off we went. 

We pull up to what looks like a reception hall. Jack opens the door and inside standing just in front of the door is an Alien! Well not a real one of course, but someone in a costume so authentic looking that I couldn’t help but yell out, “oh my gosh” when the door opened. Inside were groups and groups of people dressed in very real looking Alien costumes and in the center of the room was a rather large sized space ship, of course.  

Apparently, Billy mentioned to Jack the dream I had about the Alien. They both searched for Sci-fi events going on and by luck found this one.  Jack called Billy cracking up to tell him just how shocked I was when the door opened. They wanted to go so far as to apply one of those fake tattoos of a UFO on Jacks arm but felt that would have been too obvious a set up.  The only thing I could say as I walked in and after the shock wore off a bit, was “where’s the bar in this place? I need another glass of Merlot!”

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Debra Debek

Writer enthusiast, poetry lover, using my voice to unravel a complicated life and a complicated mind of one human life sharing experiences of all human lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.