Humans logo

A CONTAGIOUS CAMARADERIE

A beautiful journey of friendship

By Joseph AntoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
A CONTAGIOUS CAMARADERIE
Photo by Sarah Noltner on Unsplash

It has been nearly 2 years in my workplace and seems like I am exhausting myself with undue stress. The foolhardy work setup and illicit way of working constantly remind me to take a giant leap. Finally, on the occasion of the Advent season, my dream was fulfilled and I got a wonderful break. All of a sudden there was a burgeoning spurt of dopamine and serotonin and this life which seemed hay-wired a few weeks ago, now was falling into perfect places. With a new challenge in hand and an exhilarated approach towards life, I was dreaming about the novel opportunity to which I would be subjected.

Now it has been 4 months in my new workplace, however, the irony of the situation is that the past miseries haven’t been faded off and the current scenario is just a mere repetition of my previous job. The rash and reckless approach followed by a toxic environment are just creating more vacuum in my life and the void was getting deeper.

Then one day had a chance encounter to meet a great and charismatic individual whose joyous persona caught me dumbfounded. Her positive approach and an over-the-top mannerism were something to which I was not accustomed. Since I grew up as an introvert and most of the time, I found joy in spending time with all by myself. Moreover, I always had difficulties conveying my thoughts, but not this time. This new friend of mine had a better way of communicating with me; she appropriately understood my silence. My facial expression of mine was read in such a beautiful way by her that at times I didn’t have to speak to convey my thoughts to her. However, it was exorbitant levels of exuberance that she possessed was a great takeaway from her. A vibrant risk-based approach of hers captivated my mind and she always kept on looking for the next big challenge, rather than being confined to a single monotonous work. I still remember spending some great moments with her, such as working on a project together, visiting new places, trying new cuisine, and dreaming to move abroad together. I would have been deprived of the beautiful silence of the nature park, had you didn’t force me to make a move. Remaining confined to a monotonous routine would have been my life had not you been there for me. The tranquil beach walk and the soothing sound of waves, I wouldn’t have experienced if you weren’t by my side. Sooner I realized that the workplace always exhibited this toxicity, but it was the support of this friend that assisted me in facing the crunch situations with great ease.

Now we are no more together since that was what destiny had in for us a diverse path, but even though she isn’t by my side anymore. The extremely high levels of contagious energy which she possessed can be felt by me every single day. Somehow I can find joy in all sorts of mundane tasks. Surely that’s the kind of change that occurs when you have a great individual with some positivity in her. The only regret of mine is that we were unable to cross the hurdle of moving abroad. But that’s how life is, it can be unpredictable at times. So just like my friend says if you hurdle just cross it or look for another hurdle. Since life always throws numerous challenges to us. With that in mind, I am eager to embrace new challenges and conquer new frontiers.

Those cherished moments of mine taught me that no matter how much miserable your life may be or how much joyous it may be. It is of minimal value if there is no one to share such a thing. On that note, I would request my fellow readers that whatever situation you may be in, just do not punish yourself and face it all alone and resist the challenges. Try to find a partner, a friend, or a companion; you will never know what you will across. However, I am sure about one thing that you will find more meaning for your struggles and a wonderful approach to combat any such situation.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Joseph Anto

A healthcare research professional with strong inclination towards writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.