Humans logo

A bowl of noodles to remember a lifetime

I have a love for noodles, not because I like them so much, but because there is a taste in this bowl that I can't get enough of and is worth a lifetime of reminiscing.

By Holly D SalterPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
A bowl of noodles to remember a lifetime
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

  When I was a kid, I heard people say "the restaurant", so I asked my dad with a smile on my face, "What do you mean by the restaurant?" Dad laughed, "One day, I will take you to eat noodles." "Really? When will you go?" Dad looked at the sweet sorghum in the yard and said, "When the sweet sorghum grows taller, I will take you there." I was excited and waiting for .......

   The fact is that you will be able to get a lot more than just a few of the most popular and popular items on the market. Finally, wait until the day the sweet sorghum grows taller, dad cut a strain of sorghum pole bundled into a large bundle, carried on the shoulder, pulling up my hand, "Go, sell this sweet sorghum, dad take you down the restaurant." I am happy to follow my father on the road, we have to go eight miles away from the Yuanbaoshan market to sell.

  The sun is blazing, dad carrying dozens of pounds of sweet sorghum, I followed in the back all the way jogging, not long after the panting can not walk. This time, Dad put down the bundle of sorghum poles on his shoulders, carry me forward, walk a distance, put me down, and told me to wait in place, Dad went back to carry the bundle of sorghum poles, and I looked at Dad back and forth, backward moving the bundle of sweet sorghum poles, and a thin body I. Sweat wet his clothes, naive I lie on my father's wet back only feel very comfortable, smiling with a hand to wipe the beads of sweat on the neck for dad, just feel fun .......

  I don't know how long I walked, I just feel that time is very long, finally arrived. The three cents a sweet pole (sweet pole is the city people always called) is very popular, especially the children, always pulling the adult's coat corner "I want sweet pole!" The adults would come over and pick one up for their children. One by one, the number of sweet sticks decreased, Dad's money bag was full of coins, and soon the bundle of sweet sticks was sold out. Dad happily pulled me up: "Come on, let's go to the restaurant!"

   When I walked into the restaurant, it was so crowded! Dad found a seat for me and spent 25 cents to buy a bowl of noodles for me. Dad was unusually excited and said to me, "Dad is not hungry, Dad is watching you eat, to eat full." I nodded, that white transparent noodles, topped with leek and egg marinade, golden egg yolk, dotted in the middle of green leeks, trembling pieces of sauce-colored starch, was then delicious. I ate up in big bites, the noodles were delicious, and when I was full, I looked at my dad sitting across the table, smiling as he watched me eat, his satisfaction, his joy overflowing. "Dad, I'm full." "Eat some more, don't leave any!" I shook my head, and then my father took the remnants of the soup that I had left floating with a few noodles and ate it, even drinking the soup. Seeing this, I suddenly said, as if I knew better, "Daddy, I'll grow up to earn money and buy you many bowls of noodles!" Dad smiled a smile that had never been brighter. I don't know how my hungry father got me home from the eight-mile journey, but I only know that when I woke up, I was lying on the bed at home and my father was looking at me with a smile!

   After graduating from teacher training, I got my first month's salary, and it was time for me to use the money I had earned to repay my debt, but my dad had already left me. The words "Dad, when I earn money, I will buy you many bowls of noodles! became a promise that I could never keep. Despite this, I don't know if it was for the sake of remembrance, or for the sake of the "promise" of that year, an indefinable motivation prompted me to get on my bike and go to the restaurant of that year. The restaurant is much more luxurious, I want a bowl of noodles, sitting there, a few bites, put down, no longer the first time into the restaurant of that delight, never find the bowl of noodles delicious, no longer the year of happiness and warmth ....... Full of memories, full of eyes are tears, full of the heart are bitter ...... tears in the reproduction of the scene of the year: blazing sun, a father carrying a large bundle of sweet sorghum, eyes looking at me, to my heel to the bundle of heavy sweet sorghum put down, rushed to carry me stride forward, mouth kept comforting me: "Hot, right, a moment to arrive", sweat drenched his shirt, and even the tips of his hair are picked with crystal beads of sweat. I lay on my wet back, playing with the beads of sweat on his neck and hair tresses with my hands, waiting patiently in his comfort ....... A father, to meet a wish of his beloved daughter, under the scorching sun, heavy load on the body, to and from the sun-baked gravel road, what a torment to endure! The fact is that you will be able to get a lot more than just a few of these. You can imagine! The sun, the thirst, the hunger, the fatigue were all overwhelmed by the great father's love! Now, things are different, Dad! How can I repay your father's love like a mountain? The bowl of noodles back then was delicious, but now I look back on all the hardships and bitterness that my father paid. In my daughter's heart, it is no longer the satisfaction and joy of that year, but the heartache and bitterness! Moved and remorseful, I was in tears, this mountainous love of my father, how can I repay it! I didn't even have a chance to repay it!

   After I got married and had a child, I became a mother and liked to take my daughter, who had just started kindergarten, to a restaurant and ask for a few bowls of noodles, and I liked to sit across the table and watch my daughter eat the noodles, especially when I looked at her gluttonous appearance, and I could not help but laugh, laugh from the heart, laugh with happiness and satisfaction. "Mom, why don't you eat? Don't you like noodles?" "Oh, I prefer to see you eat noodles, eat in your little mouth, sweet in mommy's heart oh!" "Mom, when I grow up and make money, I will buy the best noodles for mom and dad!" I smiled, really happy! At this moment, the scene of my father taking me to eat noodles more than twenty years ago ...... came to my eyes, and I felt that my father had gone through a lot of hardship to satisfy his daughter's wish to "go to the restaurant", always with a smile on his face. Now I look back on that bowl of noodles from a mother's point of view: that bowl of noodles is full of dad's strong love! My daughter's satisfaction is my father's most beautiful wish, and my father's heart is sweet and happy! Just like me now.

   In the blink of an eye, more than twenty years have passed, and now my daughter is married to a lovely daughter. Last summer vacation to Hoh, my daughter, and son-in-law know that I like to eat noodles, and drive the family to the "Xibei oat village". This is a large-scale, a variety of noodles brand restaurant, with the Northwest regional cultural style, where the food and nature, the sense and cultural blend, has won the praise of friends across the country and even foreign. I was happy to go back to the real thing, but I could never find the excitement of the first time I went to a restaurant as a child, and the 15 yuan bowl of noodles was not as sweet as the 25 cents noodles my dad bought for me. The little granddaughter sitting in the baby chair, "eeee ......" excitedly kept shouting, the family looked at her smile, today's children's happiness, became the focus of conversation at our dinner table. So I told my daughter and son-in-law the story of the first time I went into a restaurant to eat noodles when I was a child, and when I was moved, my daughter understood the origin of my love of noodles. Seeing my daughter and son-in-law put the noodles in my child's mouth, I was overwhelmed with emotion, and I couldn't tell you how comfortable I felt, once again recalling the bowl of noodles I had back then: "Dad! It was your bowl of noodles that made the love passed on from generation to generation!"

   Not long ago, my daughter called and said that she intended to open a noodle shop after work, and I gladly agreed. In just 2 months, my daughter's family-friendly "Teppanju noodle stew" opened, and I was excited, and I wanted to tell my father, who had been sleeping in the grave, the news. I can proudly say: "Dad, I made good on my promise, we have many bowls of noodles! Your bowl of noodles, full of strong fatherly love, will make me look back on it for the rest of my life! Your strong love will be sown from generation to generation, to thousands of families!" My father's bright smile came to me in tears.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Holly D Salter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.