Humans logo

8 Female Musicians Who Are Like Sisters in Real Life (Photos)

Who said women don't support women?

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

Who said women don't support women? Today we will be counting down 8 female musicians who share love for each other and are also like sisters to each other in real life. Are you ready to see who they are? Then let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

1 & 2. Omawumi & Waje

These two are unarguably the most popular friendship duo when it comes to the Nigerian music industry. Singers Omawumi and Waje have been friends for so many years now, have done a number of collaborations and events together, and even jointly own a company together. It doesn't get more sisterly than what Omawumi and Waje have for each other. These two are the epitome of friends turned sisters in the Nigerian music industry.

3 & 4. Seyi Shay and Yemi Alade

Nigerian singers Seyi Shay and Yemi are another duo whose friendship goes back a very long time. As colleagues, they have collaborated on a number of projects: Yemi is featured on Seyi Shay's song "Pempe", Yemi had Seyi in her "Boyz" music video, etc. But outside of just being colleagues, these two women are long-time friends. According to Seyi Shay during an interview about their friendship, Seyi Shay said:

SEYI SHAY: Yemi and I have had love for each other since 2013 when I did my first Industry Night in Lagos, a night where an act headlines an intimate show for friends and industry colleagues. She came and opened for me and she was so good that I had to take her number and we continued our friendship.

5 & 6. Tiwa Savage & Amaarae

A co-working relationship turned sisterhood is the relationship between singers Tiwa Savage and Amaarae. The two popularly collaborated on Tiwa Savage's song "Tales By Moonlight", but according to Amaarae, their relationship has gone beyond just that of collaborators, and they now have a sisterhood going. Amaarae speaking about Tiwa Savage said:

AMAARAE: Tiwa has come out to support me anytime I've done a show. Whether she is in Ghana, Lagos, London, "oh you're doing a show? I'm coming.", "Oh do you want me to come on stage with you? Okay, cool I'll be there." And it's never an okay what am I gonna give back to you, it's always so sweet and always so nice. She checks on me, checks on my mum. Like really such a sweet human being.

7 & 8. Ayra Starr & Tyla

The song "Water" by South-African star Tyla is really blowing up right now, and because of the success of the song, people keep comparing Tyla to Ayra Starr. What many do not know is that these two have a very good friendship and have even recorded a song together called "Girl Next Door". During an interview when speaking about their song together, Tyla said:

TYLA: [Ayra] is doing so well for herself and I’m just so proud and happy that I’m able to have a song with her, not only because she’s an amazing artist, but because she’s truly a good friend too.

What do you think about these duos, and who, if any, is your favorite duo? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.