Humans logo

5 Things We Didn't Know Hilda Baci Was Passing Through During Those 100 Hours

Hilda speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

At this point, we all know of Hilda Baci's record-breaking achievement for having the longest cooking time by an individual. The celebrity chef broke the record clocking in a 100 hours of cooking time, and has been an inspiration for so many people around the world. Now, Hilda Baci is opening up more about what we didn't know about her record breaking feat. Here is what Hilda Baci is now revealing.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. She was already 12 hours on her feet by time she started

HILDA BACI: So when I started, I started at a disadvantage and let me explain what I mean. During the dry run, I started at 10:19am. So I was up at 7, came in. I was rested and I got into it. Now during the main event, I was up at five, could barely sleep in the night because I was anxious. Now I got to the venue at about 7:30 and everything wasn’t ready and set. We had some issues with the CCTV cameras that we got where it wasn't picking up sound and you know, just trying to make sure that evidence was properly documented. At some point the cubicle was shocking because there were a lot of wires, so they now had to rewire it to check where the shock was coming from. So we had a lot of issues and there was a lot of press. So I got in, I did my presence interviews. I was upstairs, downstairs, checking to make sure everything was fine. Because I’m anxious I just can’t wait to start, so I had already been up for 12 hours not resting and then I started at 4, so I am starting but in truth I have already exerted myself for 12 hours and I hadn't rested. Ideally what I should have done was rested for at least six hours and probably started by eight but I didn’t do that because I just wanted to get into it.

2. She had an anxiety attack

HILDA BACI: Because I was like people have been here and they’ve been waiting, I don’t want to lose the crowd, let’s just start, people need to eat. And when I started, six hours in my body had started to tell because it’s like you need to shut down and I feel like in that moment I looked at the crowd and it sort of dawned on me what I was embarking on and then the thought of failure dawned on me as well. What happens if you fail, but in a much grander sense? So I couldn’t help but think about what would happen if I didn’t make it to that 96 hours and I just had the worst anxiety. It was horrible. I was in pain, my hands were shaking, it was very bad. It was so bad.

3. Her brother was ready to, and almost, carried her away

HILDA BACI: I had racked up 30 minutes so I took 10 minutes from my 30 minutes to do a quick vital check. I came back and I just knew that that was the wrong call, I needed more time, I needed more breaks so I got another hour, I got 25 minutes. In this period, my brother had come. He was trying to talk me through it. There was nothing my brother did not say. He got to "you know what? Guinness doesn’t matter. You know you can walk out of this place and we will go home and we will never speak of this again. If you don’t want to do this again, it’s fine. Let’s forget about it. But you’ve not dropped dead yet so I guess you can just keep going till you can’t go anymore."

4. She prayed for a miracle

HILDA BACI: I just kept trying and this point we had started praying and I honestly was begging God for a miracle. Cause my body had failed me and this was six hours in, and it was crazy to me because I had done 24 hours like it was nothing, so how am I this weak at eight hours? I was saying that if we had a betting company at the time they would have made so much money because on that day, everybody that had seen me at that time, would have gone straight to place their bets that I wasn’t going to make it because even I didn’t think I was going to make it so I honestly just begged God for a miracle and he honestly sent me a miracle.

5. She threw up at one point.

HILDA BACI: I had such a low. I was in tears and I was just cooking while in tears and just trying to do as much as I could. And then I threw up, and my eyes opened. It was such a low, then I now had such a high. Everybody was shocked because all of a sudden, I became energetic. God sent me a miracle.

What do you think about what Hilda Baci said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.