Humans logo

2022: Prioritizing Self Care

Resolution for Rest and Rejuvenation

By Jessica C.Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Another new year brings another round of resolutions. Year after year, individuals become invigorated by the new year and pledge to commit to self-improvement. New Year’s resolutions abound, full of hope and promise, but as the year continues, more and more devotees drop off, struggling to remain committed. The resolutions sound incredible on paper, as concepts, but implementing them into daily life can prove challenging. Habits, obligations, responsibilities, stress, and daily routines accumulate, leaving our pure intentions and aspirations to wither and become neglected. As time progresses, they become forgotten altogether with vows to attempt again next year.

Many of the resolutions comprise of desires to implement healthier lifestyles of improved diet and exercise, improving financial income, committing more effort to improving careers, and so on, but we often overlook one crucial component of our lives: rest and sleep. Time and time again we sacrifice our sleep for other responsibilities, desires, and commitments, supplementing “rest” with caffeine so we can make it through our day. Caffeine isn’t inherently bad, but our society relies too heavily on this resource, allowing it to become a crutch and addiction. Many can’t function without their morning cup of coffee or other caffeinated brew. These drinks would serve better as treats and indulgences to savor rather than vital supports that ensure we can function daily. As wonderful as they are, they aren’t proper substitutes for actual rest. Sleep is what we need, but as a society we rarely give our bodies the sleep they need.

The past two years have been full of change and unforeseen challenges. No one would have anticipated them to play out the way they have, but these two years have illuminated what’s most important for many people. Individuals have reflected on what matters most, considering how much time should be dedicated to work, family, and personal life. Now’s the time to contemplate other areas that need our attention, including sleep. Sleep is vital, and it’s about time we stop pushing it to the backburner. Society’s tendency to procrastinate acquiring adequate rest will only work for so long until it blows up in our faces. How much can we actually accomplish when we’re exhausted and dead to the world if we’re being completely honest with ourselves? Sure, we’re there physically, but are we mentally, emotionally, and spiritually? We have many things we value, but we need to get our priorities straight.

Our work, family, and other commitments are, indeed, important, but our wellbeing is just as crucial. In fact, it’s more vital, as when we properly prioritize our health and wellbeing we can show up as our best selves. You can’t fill other people’s cups when your cup is empty. If we start prioritizing our rest instead of constantly forcing ourselves to be on the go, we’ll be able to accomplish more. Our focus will improve. We won’t just be there physically—we’ll show up in our lives in our entirety: physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

2022 is a brand-new year, and I commit to prioritizing my wellbeing. Productivity has long been a focus of my life, but it’s time for rest to take a seat at the table of importance. It’s okay to take time to just be, to relax, and rejuvenate; it’s crucial, especially in today’s society. Down time needs to come to the forefront instead of being constantly ignored.

As a child, I spent summers reading books—I easily read a whole chapter book each day. Growing up has thrown daunting class schedules with copious piles of homework and long work hours. For the longest time, my work schedule was 12 hours or longer between my two jobs and babysitting so I could work on dwindling the student loan debt I acquired. Releasing myself from the shackles of student loan debt and paying off bills to ensure I can live comfortably is important, but I had been burning myself out by constantly running from one job to the next. There was never ample time to breathe—it was constant go, go, go. I’d come home to eat, get some sleep, and start the whole process over again. It’s unhealthy. I refuse to return to such a life; it did no one any good.

These past two years have reminded me of the importance of down time and rest. I’ve returned to reading again. I’ve started writing again. I make time to create art. I ensure there’s time to breathe, take a moment to relax, and just be. My work hours have diminished (along with my income), but I feel so much more relaxed. Sleep and rest are priorities, not something to be blatantly ignored because I “have to work so much.” My life is much more fulfilling nowadays, and 2022 will be a year of balance, where rest and being productive are equally important. I won’t stop working, but I will live a fulfilling life—one I enjoy, one I can be creative, one where I’m not run ragged. Selfcare is no laughing matter, and it’s about time I take it seriously. 2022 is a year to destress, a year of no pressure, a year to focus on happiness and rejuvenation. It’s time to arise from the ashes of the past two years as our biggest, brightest, and best self!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jessica C.

I've always enjoyed creating, whether it be art or stories. I've enjoyed creating art from a young age and have worked in a variety of schools. I adore anime & cats. Over the summer we adopted baby Tsuki/Tsukihime, my moon princess kitten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.