Humans logo

11 Reasons Why Gospel Artistes Shouldn't Charge For Ministration – Nathaniel Bassey

What the gospel singer said

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Mercy Chinwo, and the discourse around gospel artistes charging for performances is the conversation of today. It all started really when popular social media commentator Daniel Regha expressed disbelief at claims that popular gospel singer, Mercy Chinwo, charges N10 million to perform in churches. Taking to social media, Daniel Regha wrote saying:

Mercy Chinwo charging N10m to perform in churches is ridiculous, gospel artistes shouldn't charge a dime; The church's obligated to provide hospitality & cover the transportation costs of invitees if necessary, but paying anyone to perform is wrong. A true christian won't charge.

Well, that led into a conversation around it, and one of people's biggest arguments for why gospel artistes should not charge money for performance is an 11-point list made by fellow singer Nathaniel Bassey about why he doesn't charge for ministration. Here is what Nathaniel Bassey said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Nathaniel Bassey

Speaking about 11 reasons why he doesn't charge for ministration, Nathaniel Bassey said:

NATHANIEL BASSEY: 1. When I am called to minister, I take it as an invitation to minister, first to the Lord and then to his people. So I always say to myself, 'if God is calling me to minister to him, how much will be enough to charge him.

2. The blood that purchased me and the reason for which I minister was free of charge (1Peter 1:18,19). How much could I have afforded to pay if He charged me for a drop of His blood.

3. I feel that the moment I place a charge on my ministry, I directly exclude a group of people. Because as soon as I say that this is the basis of my ministry, then those who cannot meet up will find somebody else. Matthew 16:15 - The gospel (through preaching or song) should be taking to all, none excluded.

4. When I go to minister I want the Holy Ghost to be there, so if I enthrone Mammon I immediately dethrone the Holy Ghost (1Peter 4:11).

5. I must prioritize my MINISTRY over 'MONEY-STRY'. My attitude must not cause people to stumble (1Cor 9:12).

6. There are few areas of life that I can demonstrate my trust in God, like money or finance. If I say God is my El-Shaddai and Jehovah Jireh then I must trust Him by living by faith.

7. How much value or premium can I really place on the anointing or Grace on my life? Even a billion dollars is an insult for the Grace I carry. We have this treasure in Earthen vessels.

8. Every opportunity to minister is an opportunity to show gratitude and express worship to God. He left Heaven, came to Earth and died like a man, the least I can do is to express gratitude to Him.

9. To guard my heart (Prov 4:23). One of the things that can defile my motive as a music minister is mammon. And when my motive is wrong, my worship cannot be right. Revival Update. Worship is about focus, whatever you focus on becomes your object of worship.

10. Doing God’s will (Matt 7:21). God said to me personally, ‘You Nathaniel Bassey, your ministry is without charge, you will live by faith'. And I know at the end of time, He will say, 'well done good and faithful servant', not because I did my own bidding, but because I did the will of God.

11. There are certain realms God cannot use you when you go about minding the envelope. As someone rightly said, 'if you mind the envelope, you cannot develop.'

What do you think about this whole discourse? Do you agree with what Nathaniel Bassey said, or do you think that gospel singers should charge to perform? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.