Horror logo

True Scary Story

By a Beach several years ago

By Taylor C.Published 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I haven't talked about this for a long time, not because it's too terrifying to tell, I just never felt the need I suppose, but with everything that's been going on recently, I'd say its best to do so now.

Several years ago when I was a little kid, I was always too scared to go far out on my boogie board, so I'd spend the bulk of my time at the beach, walking along the shore picking up various shells and rocks. My older sister, on the other hand, always went incredibly far out. She was almost always the farthest one out on her board—yup, the daredevil type.

As usual, she'd egg me on to come out with her since it was always fun and exhilarating, I replied with no thanks just like I always did, and she said I was a wuss, no surprise there.

Of course, she was the farthest one out, catching the waves on her boogie board, and these waves were getting pretty big. I continued looking around for shells and enjoying the view from where I was. A little while later, I saw some seals out in the water, getting incredibly close to my sister, but seals, I heard, were usually sweet and social, but I continued watching closely and saw that it looked like one of them was flashing around, like it was being attacked. Soon enough there seemed to be fewer and fewer seals quite quickly.

I noticed there were lifeguards that were beginning to line up, but no one noticed as they were still by the tower. My mother noticed like I had, and went over to see what the problem was as my sister was the furthest one out there.

The man with the shades she was speaking to pointed to my sister who almost looked like a dot she was so far and said "Is that your kid?" My mom nodded nervously saying yes.

He stayed entirely stone faced, turned to look at my mother and said "Bring her in."

My mother's eyes widened. She went down to wave to my sister. I did the same. When my sister finally noticed us, she waved back smiling. My mother looked like she was about to blow up.

I saw only one seal now, and it had begun flashing around. It looked like it had been pulled down, and I didn't see anything after that for at least a minute. I then saw something big and dark swimming towards my sister. She had a black boogie board and a black bathing suit on, certainly giving a similar look to a seal.

Eventually my sister realized what she meant, and she starting swimming to shore. Once she got to where many people were splashing around and laying in the water, I lost whatever was in the water. It was terrifying how close it got to her, and how she never realized for a second. Soon enough she got to shore, and for the rest of the day that's where we all stayed.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.