Horror logo

Tips for Beginner Writers Staring Down From the Sky

Cursed Image Challenge, Graveyards and Clouds.

By Leslie ScottPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Just this past week I came across Vocal. I have always enjoyed writing and have recently taken up blogging. While in the midst of wasting time last week on facebook, as we do, I came across an ad for Vocal. It intrigued me so I started to explore. I must admit I felt pretty intimidated as the writers on here definitely have experience beyond me, talent that is much more refined and familiarity with writing nuances that I still need to learn. But what a place for me to learn and get inspired. I came across the writing challenges and my interest peaked even further. Being one that has always been fascinated with the paranormal, horror movies and basically all things creepy, you can only imagine how excited I was to come across the cursed images challenge. So, it was game on! My imagination started going wild and all my attention focused on what I could write about to enter. Having an image from a few years ago I write a piece and submit. I must confess I was quite thrilled to have written my first story. Then the next day I start to question it, doubt it, thinking how could I have done better, things I should have added or not added. I suppose this is all the makings of a writer. But I decide that I need a creepier image and story, spookier, just better. My little brain starts going crazy, I'm driving home from work, thinking, overthinking, then there it is! A cemetery! And it is dusk! How incredibly perfect! I park my car and rush into the graveyard with anticipation like that of a child on Christmas morning. I start taking pictures of everything. Every grave, every spooky building, trees, the pathway, everything! Surely one of these 5000 photos has the makings of a entry into the cursed images challenge. (ok not quite 5000....ha)

I continue on my way home feeling pretty proud of myself. Living out in the country, I always enjoy my ride home, no matter the season. Always so much to see, admire and just a peaceful way to unwind from a long day at work. Plus, today I'm headed home to attempt my second story for the challenge. Right around the corner from my house is a beautiful spot that always seems to put on the most impressive displays in the sky, especially at dusk. I must have hundreds of pics from this particular spot. Hitting it at the right time you can catch the most spectacular sunset backdrops. Like so many times before I stop as the scene tonight was once again remarkable. I click away and add yet another 10 or so pics to my already over packed photo gallery. I get back in my car and I'm still looking for creepy images that catch my eye. Probably stopping at least another 3 times to take pics of images I deem worthy of possibly being my focus for this challenge.

I pull into my driveway and park the car, getting out I decide to take some more pictures around my house, pictures of the chicken coop, the decorative scarecrow I have up for halloween, some more trees and even a dead flower. Rush inside and god bless his heart, my husband has made supper. I wolf that down anxious to see all the creepy photos that are gonna compete for the story tonight.

I put on my usual go to comfy clothes and curl up with my laptop and here we go.....scroll image after image of photos from the cemetery. Looking for that perfect winning cursed image. Disappointed does not cover it!!! Just images from a cemetery. That's it! Nothing creepy, other then its images from a cemetery. No hidden ghost girls in background, no orbs, no zombies, nothing! I can't work with these! (Like I'm suddenly some type of famous entitled director! HA! ) I start to desperately scroll through my pics to see if I possibly caught anything of a spooky nature from my many other stops on the way home, and BOOM! There it is! It is actually alarming to me!

The photos I took of the stunning display from my favorite photo OP stop are nothing less then spine tingling. Not one from the grave yard or any that were intended for this use. But one that was taken for the pure beauty of the scene. How did I not see this insidious face in the sky staring down as I was clicking away?

The one thing I have been obsessed with all day, looking in the most obvious of spots, all with no luck, but here it is at a moment of innocence, a cursed image. A picture taken with the intent of viewing pleasure and for its pure show of nature, turns out to be a literal cursed image. Every photo I took at this spot on this particular evening has this fiendish looking face. No matter the angle, there it is. Staring down, with such a cunning look, subtle yet something so incredibly spine chilling about it's presence. It's mesmerizing to look at, but yet too sinister to look at for too long.

I may not win this challenge or even come close but what I learned from this experience is invaluable. Overthinking, trying too hard is not the way to go, there is no perfect place or location for a story. The perfect stories and photos find you, that's what makes a good writer, seeing the perfect piece in the most imperfect of places, especially when it comes to the paranormal. It has it's own rules. Like showing up on a photo meant for an uncomplicated picture of a dusk sky.

1

About the Creator

Leslie Scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.