Horror logo

The Well

Short Horror Story

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 4 min read
13
The Well
Photo by Call Me Fred on Unsplash

There is a well that sits at the end of a dirt track behind our house. For as long as I can remember, it has always filled me with dread. Just one look at it and a cold shiver would run down my spine. My parents said it was all in my imagination, that it was irrational.

While I know there was no real reason for it, it had no dark past. Yet, whenever I looked in its direction, the world seemed darker, colder. My parents thought I would grow out of it, I did too, but no.

Even when I was at college out of town, when I returned, the fear returned.

Now 27 years old, I inherited the family home from my parents, who downsized. I was sitting on the steps to the back door, looking at the well. Feeling that same dread I had felt every time I set my eyes upon it.

Then it happened...

For the first time in 20 years - a sound came from the well.

The sound was like one shaky single note on a viola played throughout the day. It didn't matter if I was in the yard, in the house or off the property. Even if I had my earphones in, I would still hear the faint but eerie sound.

I started keeping a record, using a calender and journal, I became obsessed. Marking an x on the calender if I heard the sound when I woke. It consumed my life. I couldn't stop thinking about it...the well...couldn't stop hearing it...the sound.

As things were different now and I had, what I believed was a tangible reason to feel uneasy about the well...I felt less insane.

That was short-lived though. Only I heard it...no-one else. As my parents were unable to visit, one of my cousins came and could not hear the sound.

I felt like I was going insane, hearing things - but I knew it was real, it had to be real. Days and weeks of X marks on the calender passed with no sign of it stopping. Then...one day in September...one normal, run-of-the-mill day as autumn slowly took effect.

The noise stopped.

I was sitting on the steps to the back door, looking at the well...and there was silence. I was so elated to finally be free of the sound that had plagued my mind for so very long. The sound that had made me feel like I was going insane. That I didn't pay close enough attention to the fact that this silence was not normal silence.

There was no crickets, no morning birdsong. No sound of the neighbour's dogs in the distance. Nothing. The silence became deafening and the dread the well had given me for all my life, was amplified.

I felt a strong urge to look away from the well, but there was an even stronger urge that kept me focused on it.

The well was calling to me. Beckoning me.

A strong magnetic force was pulling me towards it. As hard as I tried to fight it, I stood up and slowly lifted one foot in front of the other. I couldn't fight it. Left and then right. Left and then right.

My heartbeat and breathing increased as I approached the well and then...nothing. I just stood there. Inches away from the well that had plagued me all my life.

Couldn't move. Like I was frozen in time or my feet were part of the ground beneath them.

I felt strangely calm. I had been running from and avoiding this well all my life and now standing inches away from it, without any way to escape, I felt at ease. As my legs freed up and I could move...without thinking I knew what I had to do...the only logical thing, was to jump into the well...where my parents lay.

-

Janie felt a cold shiver run down her back as she reached the devestating end of the letter she had found under some dusty books in the study of her family home. "What's that?" her mother asked as she walked into the study. "I think it's a journal written by the guy that lived here. What happened to him?" she replied putting the letter back on the pile of books. "I'm not sure sweetie..."

*

Thanks for reading!

I seem to be on something of a horror spree right now. This took more than one sitting, but the idea had been playing back and forth in my mind. I toyed around with the formatting, but felt it worked better with the fact that the bulk of the story is a letter than knowing from the beginning.

Thoughts?

Here are a couple of other recently published pieces:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

CONTENT WARNINGsupernaturalpsychologicalfiction
13

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Well..., if that's just not the darnedest!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    Paul, you set such a tension-filled scene right from the beginning and I am all here for it! I love the pacing of this and the way you built even more tension with just the mention of that single sound! It was just as eery though when the sound stopped! I couldn’t believe he jumped in and the reveal that his parents were in there too! Such a captivating and amazing story!! I loved this one Paul!!! I'll be thinking about this for a while now and probably every time I see a well!! 😅

  • Hahahahahahahahhahahaha where his parents lay! That was awesomeeee! I was rooting for him to jump into the well from the beginning and was so happy that he did. But I didn't expect that his parents "downsized" to into the well. That was a brilliant twist! 🍩🥐

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    This was very chilling. Enjoyed it immensely

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    This was so atmospheric and spooky. I liked how this seemingly innocuous thing, a well, was haunting him his whole life until he gave into his fate. I also like the mystery of not knowing what really happened.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Well, that did not go...well... Loved it!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great story! After this and seeing The Ring I’m avoiding wells!

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    Wells and bridges are both things I distrust! Now I have one more reason to give for that

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Worked for me! Great job!

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Great! When I was young I listened so many noises even the light was switching on in the room sometimes alone but because when we are young we are already made crazy insane by narcissists we accept the weirdness out of us which is simply being more sensitive to the environment and sounds and energy of the people and objects and places even things that happened long time ago we can still feel them and sense them great horror story somehow i cant read horrors but i read this one! hah! the strange thing is about it that two days ago I opened the window and on a raining day first time in here i listened the sound of a saxophone that I have never listened before it was so loudly for me just for me because nobody else noticed or listened to it and somehow it made me to arrive in there but also to the fact that no matter what we do we always feel and sense things that others non sensitive just can't! somehow is good to know others like that because from the insane you just getting back your inner sense of being and feel pretty normal ! i know it suppose to be a horror but somehow it became very personal one!

  • Test8 months ago

    OMG. Super Scary-I am staying away from wells forever 🤍 I really loved the paragraph with the lack of sound-super creative and really built up tension :) Love this! Even though I am a complete wimp when it comes to horror!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.