Horror logo

The Unrelenting Darkness

Experimental, stream-of-consciousness story

By Paul StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
11
Image taken from Unsplash, edited in CanvaPro

I can't really remember how I got there - I was asleep and was awoken by a strange noise

Sliding off my bed, half awake, I wondered along a hallway, and followed the echoes

There was a quietness and stillness all around - an unnerving quietness full of foreboding

As I reached the end of the hallway, there was an arrow pointing to the right...

I quickly surmised that as I did not know where I was and did not feel safe where I was

The last thing I was going to do was follow the ominous blood red arrow to the right

Instead I quietly, slowly crept along the corridor to the left. Ahead there was a door

The door was a shabby wooden door that did not fit in with the stonework of the rest of the interior

There was something familiar about the door...from my childhood...but no, that was a dream

I had a recurring dream when I was a child of this ominous door that would appear

Well...everywhere...

As I approached the door, I heard the strange noise again, it was a frightful shrill

A cold shiver passed through my body, as if some kind of force passed through my body

Before I could reach for the door handle to open it, it began moving...slowly, creaking with every inch the lever pushed downwards.

Something or someone was behind the door...what it or they were...I did not know

Did I really want to know, I wondered as the door slowly blew open towards me, revealing a dark room.

It was that kind of dark that you don't often get - unless you close your eyes - there was nothing.

Empty nothingness and that ominous stillness, quietness was all around, as I walked in.

I thought back to the time in my life when I had those dreams, then the fears came back

The fears I had not felt for decades

I felt sweat dripping down my back from my neck and my heartbeat increased

Not again, not here, not now...it was just a dream

I was having difficulty breathing and was trying to fight off a panic attack

It had been so long since I had one...

I tried to ground myself, tried to wake up...but nothing worked.

Instead, I stood there, motionless, frozen in time...terrified.

The shrill from earlier started again and become more of a shriek then a scream

I tried moving, but couldn't...

I am not even sure if it was fear that was stopping me or some other...force

I didn't have time to think of a plan, as the floor started moving underneath me

It was moving forward...I think

It was hard to tell in the impossible darkness I found myself in

The screaming stopped and there was silence all around again

Yes the floor still moved

Taking me further into the dark unknown

Although my eyes were now accustomed to the darkness, I could not see anything

Until I saw a flash of light ahead

Like a light hitting a large blade

I tried to turn around and move in the opposite direction

Though, with each and every step, it felt as if I was walking through wet mud

The more I tried to fight against the invisible thick mud, the harder it was to move

As the blade hanging from the ceiling...no from mid-air was coming closer and closer into view

The realisation that there was nothing I could do came over me and I gave up fighting

I turned round to meet my fate

As the blade was inches away from my forehead

Then there was a bright light all around me, blinding me

Followed by darkness and nothingness.

*

Thanks for reading

Author's Notes: Experiment, wrote in one sitting.

More below.

You can also take a look at my profile.

fictionurban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Hehehehehehe you know I loved this! It's like getting a sweet treat! Thank you so much for this story! 🍩🥐

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I was on the edge of my seat for this! Your suspense writing is brilliant!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    This is great! It reminds me of the Edgar Allen Poe story where the guy is captured and the blade is swinging above him in a dark room! Great work! Hope you get top story! Wonderful work! Genuinely great piece! Bravo!

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Interesting...I want more. I love the cliffhanger at the end.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Well, now. That was some pretty dark stuff there. Your experiment produced rather creepy results, sir.

  • This is some dark, cutting edge dreamworld you have here, Paul. Great job!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Really cool, such perfect confusion and nightmarish terror. I guess that's the part you either wake up...or not! I feel like the protagonist is his own stalker in this. Great work!

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Confusing and shadowy, like a nightmare... I love it 😀

  • Darkos9 months ago

    Wow, that was deep and unreally real loved to read and that you came out of it accepting ! Its the only way out of such dreams that are haunting us for years and the state that comes back out of nowhere where we fight what we already did in the past! or healed something that always appears in the worst of moments and from there somehow the best time arrives again!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.