Horror logo

Timely Crucial Purpose

Nightmarish, poetic story thing

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 3 min read
18

Travelling through the darkest and most foreboding of landscapes

Travelling until I found a house covered in moss and wisteria drapes

I met a man well-versed in prose, rhyme, verse and wordplay.

I was beckoned by him inside and told I was welcome to stay.

I felt the initial fears and concerns I had, being hidden away.

I walked in and listened carefully to what he had to say.

He told me he had been waiting a long time for me.

He then handed me a rusty old silver skeleton key.

"First door on the left, he said, with a crooked smile

First door on the left, you can rest there for a while

I will come and knock for you first thing in the morning

I will come and get you when the day is just dawning

Then we will begin this most timely, crucial purpose

Then we will start digging deep, under the surface."

That night I lay in the bed that they had supplied.

That night I knew any requests would be denied.

I would be stuck there, imprisoned as their slave.

I would be trapped without escape; I need to be brave.

Sleep took over, and then my mind went misty and dark.

Sleep took me deep into the dark, and then came that spark.

That spark of creativity that came to me in the dark of night.

That spark that drove my imagination under the moonlight.

I had very little to no control over this cerebral device.

I had always been a vessel, just a part of the sacrifice.

My captor obviously knew I had this unique ability.

My captor, who was volatility masked behind civility.

Sleep was interrupted by the sound of ominous creaking.

Sleep that was keeping me safe from the terror creeping.

What would become of me once they were done with me.

What would happen if I tried to escape and break free?

Surely death for me, or more enforced enslavement.

Surely death was promised to all suffering detainment.

The creaking and shrieking continued during the night.

The creaking left me paralysed in bed with deathly fright.

There was an awful smell, like people burning alive in hell.

There was a horrible feeling rising in me as they tolled a bell.

Was it morning, had I been asleep, and was it all a dream?

Was the day dawning? A reasonable explanation I could gleam.

I didn't have to wait and deliberate for very much longer.

I soon heard more creaking and then door thuds full of anger.

My captor whispered sinisterly behind the door that it was time.

My fate was sealed indeed, as a prisoner for no reason or rhyme.

"Get up, come up, get prepared and join us down in the old dinner hall

Get out, and be careful, down the cracks; we don't want you to fall."

I laughed nervously and followed the sinister old man down the hallway.

I looked cautiously and carefully for a swift Irish exit to shorten my stay.

Unfortunately, there were just walls and doors, doors that were locked.

Unfortunately, there were dead ends, and my freedom indeed blocked.

The dining hall was large and intimidating, and my bones were shaking.

The dining hall had a smell, a pungent stench of unnamed meat baking.

"What do you want from me? What do you need? Why won't you let me go?

What is that awful smell? I'm not a butcher; about writing is all I know."

"Exactly", he said as he became animated, his eyes gleaming a deep and burning fiery red.

Exactly, just what we need, a writer of distinction with veins that must be bled.

I tried to speak, but he silenced me quickly and broke a stick against my back.

I screamed and shouted, to no avail, then noticed the old bones in a sack.

*

Thanks for reading!

vintageurban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalmonsterfiction
18

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Test11 months ago

    Oooh this has such a gorgeous Gothic feel to it. I love the vivid imagery in this dark little poem. Well done, Paul!

  • J. Delaney-Howe12 months ago

    LOVE the format of this story. Reads like a poem. Great work.

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    The beginning of this poem reminded me of Hotel California, then banked hard into Poe and Stoker territory. I love the use of the couplets, it really added to the mood. Wonderfully done!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Love the use of couplets. The subtitle is superb!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Genius! I absolutely love it!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Great job my friend ❤️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Damn creepy....I love it. I like how the plot slowly unfolded.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    I love a good gothic tale. The pace of your piece read very well like a thriller, even though it’s more poetic prose. Very enjoyable Paul. 😊

  • I sense this is more about essence than message, & that it's essence could be instilled into just about anything. The driven need to write becomes the most obvious, since it's explicitly named. To be creative? Simply to be? Or simply a sense of foreboding to be found in whatever phobias we entertain? Or maybe I'm just not sufficiently clever to discover what's in plain sight & hitting me across the face (or back).

  • Bex Jordanabout a year ago

    Ooo, I love the rhyme scheme and cadence! This reads like an olde-timey fairy tale or ballad, well done ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my. That's a horror story. Very well done.

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Nice. Buddy, think I’ll find a Hilton 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.