Horror logo

The Walkers

Chapter One

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
4
The Walkers
Photo by Mark König on Unsplash

I'm sitting on the edge of a cliff. It's a truly beautiful day. The sky is a gorgeous azure blue without a cloud in sight. Below me is a sea of green as far as the eye can see. A true ocean of a forest that seems to go on forever. I hear footsteps behind me but before I have time to see who it is I get kicked off the cliff. I turn as I fall to see my mother's face twisted into an almost inhuman sneer, "Die you filthy beast!" She howls at me as I fall. I turn back around to stare at the forest canopy waiting to catch me. I find myself oddly at peace with this moment.

I snap awake leaning against a crumbling wall in the bedroom of a dilapidated building. The only light I have is the smoldering embers of a dying fire. It's still night out, thankfully. I hate that dream so much. I had it exactly three times before my mother actually did kick me off the cliff. Obviously I didn't think anything of it at the time. I was a teenager at the time and I just assumed it was a weird teenage thing. Now though I've learned every time I have it that danger is on my way. I really hope I haven't wandered into a pack of insomniacs.

My head twitches to the left slightly as I hear a can getting kicked. Well I guess I'm not getting any more sleep. I quickly dump some water over the embers to kill out the light entirely. My hand finding my machete and then taking a quick moment to make sure my 9mm Beretta has the safety off. Hopefully the gun won't be needed since it will only attract more walkers but still it does come in handy. Alright fire is out check. Weapons ready check. Let's get moving.

I positioned myself so that if the door got opened I would be behind it and could strike as soon as whoever was out there walked past it. Keeping my ear against the wall I listened for any sounds while silently praying to myself they would just go away. While walkers weren't known for being stealthy the insomniac bunch were a different breed. Something about their status as night owls gave them better control over their bodies.

I continue listening and then almost jump out of my skin as I hear a loud thump and someone whispering loudly, "Dammit my toes! Hate having to move at night.” I let out a breath of relief. It was another survivor but now the question was would I have to fight them or not. I ready my machete keeping it pointed down but still able to strike quickly.

I reach a hand up to the door knob and slowly open the door while saying, "Hello there fellow survivor. I don't suppose we can talk?"

I hear scrambling followed by panting as the person on the other side ducks down for cover. "Shit! You scared the hell out of me. You've been here this whole time I'm guessing?"

I chuckled softly, "Sure have. I promise you I don't want a fight. I would hate to draw any insomniacs here. So how about on the count of three I'll let you see me in the doorway and you make sure I can see you? I will be armed but I promise that's only because well for all I know you're a marauder and I'd like a fighting chance if so."

Everything was silent for a moment before I finally got a response from the person outside "Fine. But I'll be armed as well for the same reasons. Can't trust anybody these days you know."

I actually laughed this time at the absurdity of this whole ordeal, "True enough. Well then one, two, and three." I stepped out into the frame of the doorway to see a young man maybe in his twenties staring back at me down the sights of a .308 caliber rifle. I withheld my instinct to duck back away from his sight and we just stared at each other for what felt like an eternity before he finally lowered his weapon.

He continued to hold his breath for a few more seconds before finally taking a deep breath, his knees sagging a bit "Oh my god, that was terrifying. Think I found a place for the night only to hear your voice. You scared me half to death."

I smirked though I wasn't sure he could tell with all the shadows around us "How do you think I felt? I only woke up five minutes ago and right after waking up I hear you kicking furniture. Thought you were either a walker or a thief and neither one is good for me. So I'm sorry I scared you but I hope you can understand why. But now that we're at least acquaintances, come on into my room for the evening. We can swap names and stories till the sun rises.'

He stepped forward, his face coming into better view. It was gaunt and it looked like he hadn't slept in a couple of days. His body seemed at least somewhat malnourished. "I would appreciate that. Maybe you can explain to me what the hell is going on in this country. I came here for a vacation and get attacked by a bunch of elders. Since then I've been running for my life. You called them walkers so I'm assuming you have some clue as to what they are." I stepped out of the doorway back into the room, my mind reeling from what he had just said. What did he mean? He didn't know what was going on? Was this not happening all over the world? He had come here for vacation, he said. So the rest of the world didn't even know what had happened here.

I made my way to my dead fire grabbing some extra wood and kindling I had gathered earlier in the day. The water had already dried out for the most part so I just dumped the new wood on top and found my fire starter lighting it up. I sat down by the fire pulling a granola bar out of my pack tossing it to my new companion who had finally made it to the fire. "You look like you haven't eaten in a while. Eat and I'll try to fill you in on what's happening here. Let's see… It must have been about eight years ago when suddenly everyone over the age of thirty-three just went nuts. Started bashing in every young skull they could find. My own mother kicked me off a cliff.

They aren't zombies in any sense, they're just hyper aggressive. We call them walkers because even though they are like that all they ever do is walk. They won't run to catch you, they'll just keep following you until night falls. Once the sun fully sets they collapse wherever they're standing until the sun comes back. Except for the insomniacs. They wake up at night and they do seem to be capable of running. Not very long distance but they can. Insomniacs also seem to be a bit smarter than your average walker. Most walkers will just keep bashing against a door trying to get to you. Insomniacs will actually open it to keep coming after you. Oh and by the way my name is Steven. What's yours?"

The young man sat and listened through my whole breakdown of the current situation nodding along at times. Once I finished he moved in a little closer to the now growing fire so that he could warm his hands. "Name is Bob. I got to tell you Steven that's a hell of a story. I don't know if I could survive something like that just out of nowhere. I mean I've barely survived here and it's only been a week. But you've made it eight years. That is seriously impressive."

I shrugged, "I wouldn't call it impressive. I've just done what I had to to survive. You said you came here on vacation right? So I'm assuming you and the rest of the world have no idea what's happening here? I can't even believe that it's only localized to my country. I honestly figured the whole world had crumbled since no one ever came to save us."

Bob fidgeted where he sat, "Yeah I had no clue. I mean I know eight years ago your country declared independence from the rest of the world and ceased all trade. I only know that though from what I found online before I drove here. Speaking of…" He reached into a pocket of his pants pulling out a small rectangular device, "Can you tell me why I have gotten no signal on my phone since cooking here? Even my normal mobile data was cut off as soon as I got about a mile into your country. I keep hoping I can get a signal and call someone but no luck."

I leaned forward looking at the device in his hands, "Sorry I can't help you with that. I don't even know what you're talking about or what you're holding. You said you could use that to call someone? You don't have to use a phone connected to a wall? Oh and what's the internet?"

Bob stared at me in stunned silence. His eyes are almost as wide as dinner plates. "You're kidding me right?! I mean the internet is at least twenty years old at this point and cell phones have to be around thirty. This particular model is almost four years old now. I had debated about upgrading before I came here but I just didn't have the money." Bob coughs clearing his throat, "Sorry for reacting like that. I just wasn't expecting you to say that. I mean you've been fighting essentially zombies for eight years but never seen a cell phone. Well this little device in my hands is capable of making phone calls when it actually has a signal. The internet is…" Bob sits and thinks scratching under his chin then snaps his fingers, "Like the library of Alexandria! The greatest collection of knowledge in the past world but we now have it all in a digital form. You know what a computer is, maybe?"

I nod emphatically, "Now that I do know. Giant boxes that you can put information in and it does calculations for you far faster than any person can. But they're super expensive and only the government owns them."

Bob shakes his head laughing, "Yeah that was computers almost eighty years ago. But now most computers can be bought by regular people and they fit on your desk. Wow, your country is really behind technologically speaking. I mean next you'll tell me that cars were still a luxury for the wealthy and that most citizens walked or used horses for transportation." I lowered my head, biting my lip choosing to say nothing. Bob stared at me for a moment before speaking, "Shit… I'm sorry I didn't mean to offend you with that. It's just what you're describing is unlike any other country on Earth at this point. A place I guess now stuck in an older time period. I never would have guessed."

I sighed, adjusting myself so I can lean back against the wall where I had been sleeping earlier, "Well this has been an informative night. Information that I don't even know if it means anything in our current situation. However with all of this I think it might be best for each of us to get some sleep and head out in the morning. Assuming you wouldn't mind traveling with me? Two people is better than one and I can give you some tips on how to survive here."

Bob nodded, moving himself so he could lean against another of the walls, "Doesn't seem like a bad plan. Honestly probably the only thing that will keep me from dying here. So I'll take you up on that offer."

I closed my eyes, nodding quietly thanking whatever God was watching over me for sending me someone even if they weren't exactly full blown survivor material.

Morning came faster than I would have hoped but daylight means it's time to move. Walkers I can deal with insomniacs I can not. Bob was still asleep when I awoke but a quick push against his shoe had him awake in the blink of an eye. "Twitchy fellow aren't you? Not necessarily a bad thing but make sure that it didn't cause you to do something stupid one day." Now that day was on us I was about to get a full look at him. He stood a little taller than me which wasn't saying much since I was only five foot six on a good day. Had started springing a beard though it was pretty obvious it wasn't natural to his face. His face was starting to go a little gaunt just from lack of sleep and food. The rest of him was a bit on the heavier side but that wouldn't last too long here. Clothes still looked decent and his gun was still in good condition. I pointed at his gun, "So please tell me that you do know how to fire that thing? Also why did you bring a gun to a country you were going to for a vacation?"

Bob was fully up now making sure all his stuff was packed up. "I've become quite twitchy since coming here and hopefully yes I won't do anything dumb. As for the gun I'm no pro with it but I can fire it yes. I brought it with me because I had read online that hunting here was legal even for tourists. I haven't been hunting in ages so I thought it might be fun. Thank God I brought so much spare ammo I've already had to drop almost fifty rounds on walkers. Anyways, what's the plan from here? I'm hoping you have a plan besides survive because if not I'm not sure I can stay with you for too long."

I raised an eyebrow, "You do have a plan? Mine is simple. I'm making my way for the capital. Pinning all my hopes that maybe someone there has survived and even maybe that some younger people like myself have been working on a cure." Bob laughed a full body one at that which was quickly hushed by me slapping my hand over his mouth, "Do you want to attract walkers? For crying out loud! Now I'm starting to wonder how you've made it this far."

Bob's face flushed red from embarrassment, "I'm so sorry. The reason I laughed is because that was my plan too. Maybe not the cure part but make my way to the capital in search of any standing government. Hopefully someone who could explain the situation or maybe better get me out of here."

I sighed, shaking my head, "You're fine but getting you out of here is probably going to be quite difficult. But I guess you won't know till we get there and try. Now just for fun I don't suppose you actually have a map or have you just been stumbling around hoping you would find a sign?"

Bob grinned wide, his face seeming less sunken in for a moment, "Believe it or not I actually do. Everyone back home called me crazy for it. 'Oh Bob! No one uses physical maps anymore. That's why we have the internet.' Welp, who's laughing now? I knew there was a small chance I could end up somewhere with no service. Wouldn't have been the first time." He reaches into his backpack pulling out a map.

Now that I took a good look at his backpack I realized it seemed pretty advanced for someone just vacationing. It had dozens of little pockets and zipped up compartments that were all fairly easy to access from almost any angle. I saw words on it saying something about it being used as either a cooler or a thermal container. I thought about it for a moment but then shrugged the thought off. He was from a much more advanced country than my own. Maybe this was just their technology on display.

Bob was spreading the map out in front of me now pointing at a spot. I leaned in and realized he actually knew where he was right now. We were in a small town called Ponton. It was named as such for a meal that had become famous here back when it was just a small gathering of people that barely constituted a village. He started running his finger up to the northwest, stopping at the capital of Frump which was named after the wife of the founder of our country. I found that my mind had been drifting, staring at the map and I hadn't heard anything Bob had said. "I'm sorry Bob, could you repeat all that? I got lost for a moment."

Bob sighed nodding, "Alright listen from here to the capital isn't but about two hundred miles. I'd say as long as we can make good time every day, maybe find some horses we could make it in two to three weeks, maybe much shorter if we are able to use horses for most of the journey."

I nodded along my eyes tracing the route he was showing, "I only see one major problem and that's here." I put my finger down on the map pointing at a town showed Squeen. " We are going to have to give this place a wide berth. A group of young people like me have claimed that town and if you come through one of two things happen. You either get conscripted or you get used as bait to lure in walkers for them to shoot. I ended up there once and set half the town on fire just to escape. I show up and they'll hand me to the walkers."

Bob grinned again making a point to only quietly chuckle, "You'll have to tell me that story at some point it sounds great but point made. Well it will be a bit before we even get close so for now let's head out and we can think on it more later."

I shrugged, "Sounds good." I finished collecting my stuff. Bob repacked his map. We both took different points of the house to look out and confirm we were still alone and no walkers were around. We then proceeded to head out making towards the woods on the outskirts of town.

If you enjoyed this first chapter please let me know with a subscribe and maybe a tip. Every little bit helps me continue to produce my writing. Thank you and I hope you enjoyed the read.

fiction
4

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.