Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The last train

Never again

By michelle johnsonPublished 12 months ago 8 min read
The last train
Photo by Misael Silvera on Unsplash

it's getting late three of us are

returning after attending a wedding

ceremony of an office colleague three of

us mean me Ratan and Su shovin on the

one hand were such great friends on the

other hand there are many differences of

opinion between us whenever we three sit

together we start to argue on various

topics especially Ratan and Su shovin

Ratan is an atheist he wants to verify

every inch of the world with rationalism

and Su shovin is a very pious man we got

up in the empty compartment su shovin

said look this is called luck do you

understand now rafen that was the

beginning of the debate good luck bad

luck then the discussion went to

astrology Ratan is dismissing everything

as a hoax and a superstition and Su

Chauvin is making a counter statement

such witch astrologer made predictions

in which country and in which year etc

Ratan is trying to refute all the

details with all the sharp arguments and

me I'm trying to support them both

sometimes I'm shaking my head for Rothen

and sometimes for su shovin in today's

debate Rathlin is in a win-win situation

he said listen to this day no one has

been able to speak accurately about the

future everything that seems to have

matched is a loose assumption the whole

thing is cleverly wrapped up it could be

X or it could be Y that's the technique

of explaining everything people who have

faith in astrologers are impressed by

those rules that's how it works

so you're saying the future cannot be

predicted just then a man speaks up from

the other side of the compartment the

three of us looked back wrath and

measured the man from head to toe the

man is sitting with his body covered

with a gray black sheet his face is

filled with a white beard the age is not

definite but it must be around 60 he has

a dirty bag with him at first glance

it's not strange to think that he's a

bag bond or crazy the man put the sheet

aside and came towards us Rothen said in

a slightly diagonal manner what do you

think in the future be predicted yes

Shakespeare said many things happen in

this universe that are beyond our

comprehension we know all these things I

want to hear from you what's your

opinion the man stared at rather than

for a moment then he smiled a little to

be honest there is one thing in this bag

that I can show you and after you see

that you might change your mind

sooo Chauvin seemed very excited are you

an astrologer no I'm just an ordinary

guy I can show you something that I

learned by the grace of my guru if you

wish to see oh okay so now you'll bring

out a skull and tell us the future using

that skull right uh uh-huh no it's not

like that I can only draw I can draw a

little bit I don't get it what to draw

the future I can draw the future

I can draw any man's future portrait I

can show you the picture of the age you

want to see everyone is silent then su

Chauvin said very interesting huh

interesting this is a new kind of

cunning all bogus

I stopped rapping and looked at the man

he picked up his bag he said there was

something in the bag you have drawing

tools in that bag the tools are nothing

more than a drawing pad and a pencil my

guru gave me that as a gift who is your

guru by the way the man who could give

such a powerful gift he must be a

world-famous guy and you also this

learning is not for money or fame but

it's allowed to show the disbelievers

and speaking of my guru you will not

recognize him he lived a solitary life

away from the locality the train was

crossing a bridge cold wind was blowing

in the soft light there's a creepy

atmosphere in the train compartment and

the words coming out of that man gave me

a shiver he is saying that he can draw a

portrait of the future how is that

possible how do you draw these portraits

and you see those images the man shook

his head means yes the picture floats

when I closed my eyes and touch the

pencil on the pad I can draw it

immediately then draw a portrait of one

of us okay

draw mine now would I look like at the

age of 60 to 70

doesn't work like that you have to ride

on this pad any future time year date

even hours and minutes eternity is

eternal specify a point the man took out

a pad and a pencil and proceeds towards

the shovin but the calculation in his

mind he wrote on top of the pad 20th of

August which means he will be 76 years

old then write more such hours and

minutes sue Shelvin looked at us and

smiled a little then wrote at 9:15 p.m.

he will just draw up a random picture I

was looking at the man from the

beginning the man gently touches the

pencil on the pad and stares at Sue

shovin and then slowly the two eyelids

are coming down ice if he's hypnotizing

and falling asleep surprisingly the man

starts to draw on the pad with his eyes

closed

how long did it take not even a minute

the man opens his eyes he extends the

pat towards su shovin the three of us

leaned over there's a picture of an old

man he's bald wrinkles all over the face

like a spider's web it glasses on the

eyes I don't know much about painting

but I have to say that the man is very

good at it

only a few strokes of the strong line I

brought the picture to life but the

question is is this really soo Chauvin

how can you prove that he would look

like that in the future there are no

signs of tooth decay yet and there's no

guarantee that the face would be like

such a dried fruit

he might get fat at that time I also

have the same suspicion but it's not

possible to prove the accuracy of this

picture at this moment well I have to

wait 40 years to prove whether it really

matches or not no we don't have to wait

40 years what he draws is 100% accurate

oh I see you have a vision of the future

now listen I saw my grandfather he died

seven years ago everyone says I look

exactly like him I saw a picture of his

young age he looks exactly the same as

me he also had dense hair on his head he

died at the age of 78 I don't believe it

you want to put me down that's why

you're making up such stories no no not

at all

believe me I I can take you to my

uncle's house and show you the picture

no I want to decide it now rathas John

tighten he turned to me and said let him

draw your portrait I know you'll be

honest about it me I mean the way

Rathbun said I had no choice but to

hesitate and write the same date on a

white page of the pad sushi oven and I

are the same age so I'll sit would look

like him at the age of 75 to 76 let's

see how the picture looks like

the man closes his eyes but this time

the pencil did not move there was not a

single stain on the white paper I looked

at the man with questioning eyes the man

looked at me for two to three seconds

and slowly shook his head left and right

what what's wrong it's blank no picture

of that age can be seen why can't the

picture be seen the man bowed his head

no answer

Ratan said with a poisonous smile that

means you don't dare to face it anymore

No hold on a second do you mean I will

not live to that age that's why you

didn't see the picture yes Wow excellent

now we're talking alright let's reduce

the date to two or five years you'll

definitely see a picture for sure also

we can find out when he will die draw

five to seven times and you'll get an

accurate result am i right the man

raised his head and looked at ratha then

said no you're wrong I can only draw a

picture of a man once I can't do it a

second time really and draw a portrait

of mine give me the pad I'm writing down

the time month and date the man pushed

the pad forward wrath and wrote on the

pad on 26th of June 2020 Rothen Hey

you have to write a time in the future

this is today's date wait brother

Ratan smiled then he looked at his watch

10:45 p.m.

eleven o'clock at night now let's see

what I would look like after 15 minutes

no more guessing before we get off the

train it'll prove that you're lying or

not the man looked at Rafa then he

closes his eyes and almost immediately

opened his eyes the pencil did not move

a bit my heart was pounding so Chauvin

made a faint scream and Ravan stood up

he's shaking what do you mean I I

couldn't see the picture what I mean I

didn't get to see the picture what do

you want to say I'll die after 15

minutes I'm not saying anything but if

the picture does not appear on the paper

that it means yes

alright I'll get off to the next station

I'm sorry for bothering you all know

you'll have to resolve it you have to

admit that you're a fraud you were

trying to deceive us by telling lies

wratten's fist tightening and his

forehead veins swelled the man went to

the door and stood there the train is

crossing another bridge

the compartment is shaking lights are

fading wrath and gritted his teeth see

how the thief is trying to escape the

man looked up in the rumble we heard him

say 15 minutes is not over yet

oh so you're not done wait

I'll teach you a good lesson Ratan made

angry roars and went towards the man he

was about to punch that guy but the man

moved away from the door and Ratan we

saw him stumble on an iron that was high

on the floor and bailed through the door

and just then the Train shook violently

and at the same time the lights went out

a scream for a second process and slowly

blew into the air we sat motionless the

bridge ends the train is running on the

hard ground

lights come back there's no one at the

door

neither Rathod nor the man it's just the

wind the train is running fast I looked

into my watch it's 11 o'clock at night

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MJWritten by michelle johnson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.