Horror logo

The candyman

The closet in the basement

By Jaden cookPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The candyman
Photo by Oleksandr Chernobai on Unsplash

when I was little I would always go down stairs and smell my grandmas laundry soap I loved the smell of it and beside her laundry room was this closet

I would love to go down there but I always bought someone with me like my mom or my sister but this one time when we were going down my mom told me never go into that closet. I asked why but my mom just looked uncomfortable for a minute and said come on let’s go get the clothes. I always wonder why she didn’t want us in that closet I asked my brothers they just stayed quiet and I asked my aunties they did the same till I asked my oldest uncle he just told me don’t ever go into that closet down stairs. I asked why and everyone just changed the subject to something else I always thought they we’re just trying to scare me into not going down there anymore But I wanted to know what was in that closet. When I went back down there my grandma was putting a lock on it so no one will go in there she was worried I wonder what was so bad in that closet till I seen her pull out a lil bottle of water and put it all over the door I just looked at her and ran back up stairs to get ready for the family gathering tonight at the campgrounds. All of my family will be there so I thought it will be the best time to ask questions about the closet we all jump into my papa’s pickup truck and went to meet with the rest of the family there when we arrived there I went to my oldest cousin and asked what’s in the closet down stairs she just told me it was grandmas storage room back in the day but now it’s nothing. That got me wondering why would she put a lock and put water all over it? I asked my uncle again for the story of the closet and he finally said I’ll tell the story at the campfire tonight I was so happy and scared to hear what my uncle had to say about the closet down stairs but what he said about that closet I wanted to move out right away … when we all went to the campgrounds to meet up with the rest of the family I ran to my oldest uncle and asked him to tell the story about the closet in the basement he said I’ll tell it tonight when we’re telling stories I got excited and couldn’t wait but I will soon regret asking about the closet in the basement when my papa got the fire going we all gathered around the fire to tell stores my auntie pulled my oldest uncle aside to talk to him I didn’t hear what they were talking about when it was his turn to tell a story he said I’m gonna tell a story about my younger ages. When I was a little boy I would go down stairs to play in the basement closet I would bring my toys and my cat and a blanket I would play down there for hours one time my mom lost me she thought I ran outta the house but I was in the basement playing I went up stairs to get a drink and a sandwich when I can back down I seen my cat standing out side the door hissing at something I looked inside and there was a lil boy playing with my cars I asked who are you he didn’t look at me he just stood up and the light went off and back on and he was gone I ran up stairs to get my mom and I didn’t know my cat didn’t follow me when me and my mom went back down there my cat was laying on the ground not moving at all I rushed to him and asked my mom what happened she toke him to the vet and left me with my oldest sister at home that’s when we started hearing wired things going on downstairs my sister just kept me in her room tell my mom came back when I seen her car pull up she was carrying a lil box and I started crying I went back downstairs to cry in that closet and I felt a little hand on mine and it was the boy I seen earlier I asked him why would he take my cat why would he want to hurt me like this and that lil boy just said the cat was the one that brought me in here.

Part 2 coming soon

monster
Like

About the Creator

Jaden cook

I love writing scary stories about mostly anything. Scary is my happy place

Some of my stories are inspired by my family and friends and what they experienced in there time line

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.