Horror logo

Shallows Pond

Shallows Pond... they say the dead wander the watery floor guided by the light of the moon in search of fresh flesh and a boat to carry them home.

By Kelly BPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photograph Taken by Kelly Burdge

Shallows Pond... they say the dead wander the watery floor guided by the light of the moon in search of fresh flesh and a boat to carry them home.

“I don’t want to be here.” I whispered through gritted teeth as my mom tried to pull me from the car.

“Jessica, this will be healing. You haven’t been the same since…” her voice trailed off then continued more firmly. “What would people think if you were not there? You were one of the last to see her alive.” It was a year ago to the date and it still stung as much as that night.

Eventually I gave in and stumbled behind my mom down the rocky path. I kept my head down so that the water was out of sight. Even though the summer camp had been shut down after the incident, it still looked exactly the same. The tall pines towering between the cabins casting long shadows, the narrow, overgrown path to the Shallows Pond. I thought about running back to the car.

As we reached the clearing, a small crowd was gathered on the sandy shore. Farah’s family was up front holding on to each other as if they were afraid another family member was going to drift away like Farah did.

Directly behind them were Carrigan, Amber, and Amanda. They were hugging each other close as fake tears trickled down their faces. Carrigan made a big show of throwing flowers into the water and then embracing Farah’s mom.

“Ugh” slipped out of my mouth in disgust before I could keep it in. My mom elbowed me as a few people turned to glare.

I turned my attention to the water, taking a sharp breath as my eyes met the horizon. The sunlight danced across the crystal clear water concealing the horror beneath.

Images of that night began to take over my mind. The cruel smile that crossed Carrigan’s lips as she dared Farah to go out on the lake alone. How sweet waify thin Farah looked so fragile, as if she could break at any minute. How her large blue eye, filled with fear, looked to me for help but only received a dismissive shrug instead. Bile rose in my throat when I remembered my actions, how Carrigan’s acceptance was more important than being a friend to Farah.

As Farah’s mom began to say a few words my mind drifted to us on the shore watching as Farah paddled out alone into the night. The white wooden boat disappearing behind a curtain of fog. How Carrigan squealed with glee as she shut off the lantern leaving no light for Farah to find her way back to shore.

I remembered how the splash cut through the silence of the night and how I dove to the lantern struggling to to turn it on. How I saw the boney hand reaching out of the water and pull sweet Farah off the boat and down to the depths of the lake before a scream could even escape her mouth. My therapist tells me the hand is just a projection of guilt, but I know what I saw.

The ceremony by the water was difficult, but the reception after was unbearable. The stuffy room and plate of food I could not bring myself to touch. The words Carrigan's father said as he stood before us:

“...We will never know why Farah decided to go out on the water alone that night, she was terrified of the water but we will always keep in our hearts the brave four girls that noticed she was missing and went to find her. I know she is smiling down on them, thanking them for their bravery.” He said dissolving into tears.

As soon as he finished Carrigan stood and gave him a hug. From behind his back her gazed turned toward me. Her eyes narrowed as a smug smile settled across her lips. Panic and disgust began to well up inside me. I had to get out.

I slipped outside hoping the cool night air would help sooth me but the night was foggy and the inky black water looked like a void waiting to swallow me whole. Before I turned to head back in I saw a dim light a few yards out on the water. As I strained to see more clearly I could just make out the white outline of a small row boat.

I edged closer to the water looking out, the boat was slowly drifting closer to the shore. Suddenly a shove from behind sent me splashing into the water. I screamed as I scooted to my feet and back to the shore.

“Haha, you should see the look on your face.” Carrigan said laughing. She looked at Amber and Amanda who flanked her sides. They looked at each other unsure and then each gave a nervous giggle.

I wiped the water from my eyes and noticed the boat was just becoming visible in the fog.

“None of this is funny, especially after what you did to Farah… What we did.” I spat back at her.

“We did nothing, she wanted to go out on the boat and we came to find her.” She said through gritted teeth.

“Don’t you feel the least bit guilty? You should tell her parents the truth, you owe them that.” I answered stepping away from her. The mirth in her face vanished and her face twisted in anger.

“Is that some kind of threat? Because if it is, I would hate to see you end up in the water just like her.” She growled. She stepped toward me as I stepped back feeling my heels begin to sink into the water.

The boat grew closer now just a few yards from shore.

Carrigan reached for my shirt and clenched it in her fist. I tried to push her away but my feet slid in the slick mud.

“Don’t make me silence you, because I will, and I will tell them you were so filled with grief you decided to go out on the pond to join Farah.” She said, her eyes wild.

She tried to push me back further into the water. I looked to Amanda and Amber but neither moved to help. Both stood frozen, just like I did when Farah set off on the water alone.

I took another step back as Carrigan’s hold tightened. Water began to swirl around my knees as my feet sank into the soft sediment.

Carrigan raised her hand to strike just as something jolted me from behind. As I turned we all froze in horror. The pale white row boat was just visible in the moonlight. Standing on the bow was Farah. Her seafoam dress was soaked and torn exposing her bones that lay beneath. Her eyes glowed a haunting blue as she held up a small lantern that gave off a dim golden light.

When she opened her mouth, her voice was like the whisper of wind between the trees.

“Who wants to come for a boat ride?” she asked, smiling at us with bits of flesh missing from her face.

“Come on Carrigan, I dare you.” She hissed as she turned toward Carrigan and reached out her hand made of just bones.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Kelly B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.