Horror logo

Poor Girls With Broken Hearts

Maybe Mama Does Know Best

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 10 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
56
Poor Girls With Broken Hearts
Photo by Roksolana Zasiadko on Unsplash

She opened the door to the wiles of his ways,

Got lost inside, of his beautiful gaze.

Her mama kept praying, this was only a phase,

She too, loved a boy, till it all went sideways.

*

Baby, she begged him, can't you take me away?

I don't want to be somewhere; I can't see your face.

I told my mama, this is more than child's play,

But she says you'll soon leave me, all alone in this place.

*

But I'm not my mama, and you ain't my dad,

We have so much more love, than they ever had.

I have it all planned out, here in my notepad,

Show her your love for me, is ironclad.

*

Oh, poor girl you've dreamt it, all up in your head

He never meant anything, he ever said.

I know right now, you wish to heaven, that you were dead,

But baby, my girl, there is so much more, still ahead.

*

I ran from my mama, and chased after that boy,

There is no way on earth, he used my heart for a toy,

No ear for her warning, his words stuck in my head.

He promised me one day, that we would be wed.

*

My poor, poor baby girl, please don't you cry,

I can't bear to see that sad look in your eye.

I've been through it too, there is no good in goodbye,

but I can help you feel better, if you're willing to try.

*

In spite of myself, I asked of her, how,

will I ever feel better, oh please tell me now.

How did you get over your broken heart?

How can I get over us being a part?

*

She smiled as she pulled from her apron, a doll,

she said, say these words, on this paper, I scrawled.

Sewed with beads at the seams, and a flock of his hair.

this will even the odds and make this break-up fair.

She pulled out a needle from the dress that she wore,

She said, make me a promise, she made sure, I swore.

It was dingy and frayed, with a smile on its face,

She said, now the magic will put him in his place.

*

I hesitated a moment, then I repeated the vow,

Nothing could stop the incantation now.

I saw the sparks fly and the smell of the fire,

The louder I spoke, all the flames, they grew higher.

*

The room started to spin, and my head it did too,

She stirred a concoction and called it her brew.

The lights flickered a bit, and the candles blew out,

In a flash I understood what she had been talking about.

*

All the feelings I felt for him, were washed all away,

I began to feel lucky I had decided to stay.

In the mirror a reflection, but it wasn't mine,

I could see the magic surround him, it had him entwined.

*

He pulled and he tugged, there was fear in his eyes,

He would come to regret leaving me, with goodbye.

Then, she pulled at the thread that held together his head,

It only took a few moments, till I knew he was dead.

*

My mama took my hand as she whispered these words,

There is a dark place in hell for boys who play games with the girls.

He made the same mistake that your daddy made too,

Poor girls like us, won't be played for a fool.

*

Now that you have this hurt, under your belt,

You'll understand now, how I knew how you felt.

I couldn't save you from the pain he would bring,

But compared to his fate, yours was only a sting.

*

She stood up and held me, kissed the top of my head,

Now run along girl, don't repeat what's been said.

Just be sure to remember, how you felt, after love lost,

Be sure to protect your heart, anyway, any cost.

fiction
56

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Manish U10 months ago

    Superb https://vocal.media/horror/the-ghosty-car-ghost-story

  • Wow, this is a different one for you. It's like a story, excellent.

  • Teresa Joiner10 months ago

    Congratulations!!!!

  • JBaz10 months ago

    What a beautiful flow throughout the entire piece. Wonderful. Congratulations

  • Grzegorz10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This was great and very deserving of a Top Story

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Hahaha! Love to hear about a man losing his head. Great stuff and it totally deserves to be a top story. Awesome.

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    WOW! absolutely deserves to be a top story congrats!

  • Talha Bin Asad10 months ago

    Absolutely loved it...!

  • Rich Janusz10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!! Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Snap, snap, snap!!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❤️🎉😉

  • Kelly Sibley 10 months ago

    Oooooo, that Mama's mean! I love the fact you wrote a horror poem, I've never thought to do that! Loved it! Creeped me out! Well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Okay, I'm impressed...and a little terrified (reading Stephen King now, so it helps). Excellent work...and I promise to break no other hearts out there... ;)

  • Marcin Nowakowski10 months ago

    Great stuff!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Congratulations Kelli 😎🥇

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh my. That's fantastic. Congrats on the TS

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Damn, that got DARK. And all for a break-up. I feel like I should steer clear of these poor girls! Great poem! The rhymes were fun to see changing throughout, and the rhythm was so perfect; it flowed and read so easily. Congrats on TS!!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Yes!! congrats, Kelli!!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story AND for making the leaderboard! Way to go, Heather!

  • Mark Graham10 months ago

    Good work and poignant. This could be used in a Family counseling session for parenting education learning how to deal with various kinds of relationships.

  • Oh yes, there's definitely a specific dark place in hell for boys like that! He got what he deserved! I wish I can do that too, lol!

  • Captivating story, beautifully & lyrically written. But is there no hope for love ever?

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Superbly written & loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.