Horror logo

I Prefer Psychotic

A Horror Story Made For Grade Nine English

By mikayla mariePublished 4 years ago 10 min read

“Have a good day at school honey,” Mom says. It’s the first day. I am terrified. I’ve been homeschooled all my life until my parents died. Karen and Josh took me in after that. They’re so kind and they spoil me. I guess they thought after my real parents were murdered, I was having a hard time to recover.

I walk into school, teenagers bustling through the halls. I end up finding my homeroom and my eyes land on this girl. Wow. She has emerald green eyes and chocolate brown hair. She looks over at me and smiles. God, her smile is gorgeous. I take a seat in the back, close to where she is. The teacher comes into the class and makes us introduce ourselves. It was so embarrassing. I don’t like to talk to people, I’m kind of shy. Homeroom ends quickly after that. I get up to leave but the girl approaches me.

“Hey, I’m Jenny. You live around here?” she asked me.

“No, I’m new. My-my parents are Karen and Josh Kennedy. I’m Luke,” I shake her hand. She seems very kind.

“Well, if you want to, sometime we can hang out at my place? I have pizza.”

“Sure! Sounds like fun!” I give her my phone. She puts her number in and sends herself a text.

Well, I’ll see you later!” And she leaves. I guess grade ten won’t be as bad as I thought.

The day passed by and I walked back home, wondering what mom was cooking for supper. My phone vibrated, it had to be my mom wondering where I was, my parents were overprotective. It was Jenny. “Hey what’s up?” she texted.

“Nothing, walking home from school.” I typed in as I walked. I waited a minute to see if she was going to reply but she didn’t. I carried on walking home. I reached my driveway and walked straight up to the door.

“I’m home,” I yelled, waiting for my mom to run out and smother me with questions. Surprisingly she never so I walked into the kitchen to grab a snack. As I walked in, I saw my mom asleep on the couch. She must’ve of been tired, she was up all night this week because I kept getting bad nightmares and delusions. I would sometimes wake up screaming. The truth was, I was Schizophrenic and I heard voices. I used to be able to control it but it’s getting worse. “Mom,” I said softly as I looked down at her on the couch.

“What?” she said as she jumped up. “Luke! How was your day?” she smiled as she wiped her eyes. “Did you meet any new friends?”

“Yeah, it was great, I actually enjoyed school and I met this girl,” I said as I remembered I was texting her on the way home. “I’ll be right back, I gotta go talk to someone.” I said as I left the room and took out my phone.

“Cool. I got to go but I’ll text you when I get home.” Jenny texted that an hour ago so I decided to wait until I went to school the next day.

A month passes of going to school and talking to Jenny, life couldn’t be any better. It was a Friday evening and my mom was working late and my dad was gone out with friends. I started to catch feelings for Jenny but the thing was, I was getting more ill everyday. I would be up all night hearing the voices, they were torturing me and I could not take it anymore.

“Hey, what’s up?” I texted Jenny. She replied within a minute saying, “I’m home babysitting my sister, my parents are gone out.” I replied with a simple, “me too!” A couple minutes pass and my phone vibrated. “You wanna come over?” asked Jenny. “Sure!” I typed as I felt a sudden urge of excitement. Jenny gives me her address and I realize it’s only a few streets away. Perfect! I arrive at her house in less than 10 minutes. I knock on her door. It creaks open.

“Jenny?” I whispered. I walked inside, looking around for Jenny.

“AHHHHH!!!” she screamed like a banshee, jumping out from behind the door.

“You scared me,” I told her, grasping my chest.

“Sorry about that,” she laughed. “Wanna go up to my room?”

“Sure!” I followed her upstairs to a blue room which I guessed was hers.

“This is it,” she told me.

“Nice.” I take a seat on her bed. We talked for awhile about school and the teachers we hate. Jenny tells me she has a younger sister named Becca.

“So do you have any siblings?” Jenny questioned me.

“Um no, I’m an only child. My real parents were murdered and they didn’t have the chance,” I sigh. I miss them. I really do.

“If you don’t mind me asking, what were their names?” I forgot their first names since it’s been five years, so I told Jenny their last.

“Witcher. I don’t remember their first ones, I was very young.” True, in a way.

“Oh, I’m sorry.” She seemed uncomfortable. “Do you miss them?”

“NO!” I screamed. “I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to lash out on you.” I ruined it. Whatever chance I had with Jenny just disappeared because I cannot control myself.

“Oh ok, um, I got to use the bathroom, be right back.” She gives me a small smile. I nod. She leaves the room, leaving me all alone. I looked around her room, seeing photos of her and her family. So happy. Jenny is gone for about five minutes when I hear a scream. Panicking, I ran to the bathroom and barge in. She is on the floor, tears pouring down her face.

“You-you killed them! Your parents! You’re not Luke Kennedy. Your real name is Lu-Lucifer Witcher!” Jenny confronted me. No. It is not true.

“Shut up!” I screamed. She attempts to escape but I push her making her hit her head off the bathtub.

“Ouch. Just leave, please,” she begged. She is not getting away after what she just pulled. I slammed the door, locking it.

“You must be crazy to think I’d let you go after you found out about my past. Who I really am. I can’t let you go out spreading that, now can I?”

“You-you’re insane! Leave now!” Jenny screamed.

“Um, no. By the way, I prefer psychotic.” A devilish grin breaks out on my face. I take her tiny neck between my hands and squeeze as hard as I can. Her agonizing screams echo throughout the house. She stops. So do I. She’s dead. Good. I open the door and a little girl is standing there.

“Where’s Jenny?” the girl asked. Must be Becca.

“She’s sleeping,” I lied. “Go watch tv now, she’s fine.” Becca walks off. I go to leave but I hear a voice.

“Mommy, dad, I don’t think Jenny is okay, I-” I knocked the phone out of her hands.

“What do you think you’re doing?” She doesn’t answer me. Fear is written all across her face. She goes to scream but I take her head and with a quick, swift motion, I snap her neck. A sick cracking fills the room. I drop the body and walk out of Jenny’s home. Tonight is just beginning.

I can hear the voices in my head. They are practically screaming. I can feel the demons slowly taking over my body. “There’s no going back!” I yelled in agony as I fled out the door of the late Jennifer Miller’s house. I walked home slowly that night, embracing the demons; letting them take over my mind and actions. I walked up to my house, “Mom’s home!” I said in excitement, feeling the devilish smirk grow on my face. I walked in, looking around to see where my mom was. “The kitchen,” I said to myself as I walked silently along the wooden floor, hearing the creaks it made every so often.

“Hi Luke,” my mom said as she looked up from her chinese food.

“Hi mother, what’s going on?” I asked slowly as I tilted my head and smiled.

“Is something wrong?” my mom questions me as she lays down her chopsticks.

“Nothing really,” I said as I laughed. “I need to tell you something.” I said as I walked over to the set of knives.

“What is it Luke?” my mom questioned with an anxious look on her face.

“Come over and I’ll tell you,” I said as I looked at the dark, night sky. She came over quickly, staring me straight in the eye, she had an uneasy look on her face and I liked it. “You know my friend Jenny,” I said, waiting for her reaction when she finds out.

“Yes, is that where you were tonight?” she asked as she breathed heavy.

“Yes, I was at Jenny’s and well, she died.” I exclaimed with a smirk.

“What? How Luke?” my mom said with a sigh as she covered her mouth, her eyes nearly popping out.

“The demons killed her mom!” I screamed as I saw my mom jump in fright.

“What do you mean L-Luke?” my mom stutters.

“The demons in my head killed her Mother!” I said, knowing that it was all just beginning now.

“You killed her!” Mom screamed as she shook her head in disbelief, tears flowing from her eyes.

“Guess what I’m going to do to you?” I said as the fire burned in my eyes.

“No, Luke, NO!” she screamed. I grabbed the bread knife and rub my thumb across the edge.

“Razor sharp, just the way I like em,” I said as I saw the pain in my mom’s eyes. “Don’t cry Karen, my mother never cried,” I declared.

“No Luke, we can fix this!” my mom screamed as she backs up into the wall.

“It’s too late now Karen,” I yelled, feeling the devil take over my corpse. “I’M THE DEVIL!” I screamed as I drop the knife and hit my mom hard in the head. She fell straight onto the cold, hard, kitchen floor. I grab the knife and my mom’s arm. I drag her across the floor and up the full set of stairs. I throw her lifeless body against her bed. “Time to get the rope!” I said as I ran down to the garage. It was about a half an hour later and my mom’s eyes fluttered open.

“What’s going on” my mom said in fear as she looks down at her body that was rope tied to her bed.

“This will only hurt a little,” I giggled as I took out the knife. I traced the knife across my mom’s neck, seeing the fear in her eyes.

“No!” she cried as she tried breaking loose. I pushed harder and it was too late. I saw the crimson coloured liquid flow out of her neck like a waterfall. I pushed harder, putting all my pressure on the knife.

“One down, one more to go!” I screamed in excitement. I heard my father’s car pull into the driveway. I closed my parent’s door, waiting for my dad to fall into my trap.

“Karen! Luke!” he yelled from downstairs. “I’m home!” I could hear the crackling of wood on the staircase as every footstep hit them. “Karen, you in here?” he questioned as he knocked on the door. “I’m coming in!” he exclaimed as he swung open the door carefully. “What the hell! Holy crap!” he screamed in shock, his eyes focused on the pool of blood slowly forming.

“Hi dad,” I said slowly as I jumped from behind the door.

“Luke, you did this?” he yelled in disbelief.

“Yes father and now it’s your turn.” I said as I cornered him. The knife slid into his side, dripping red with blood. He fell to the ground in pain. I grabbed the extra rope, grabbing the back of his head and wrapping the noose firmly around his neck. “You’re coming with me Joshua!” I yelled as I dragged him by his legs.

“Please no Luke, we can fix this!” he yelled angrily.

“Sorry but the voices want you, they tell me they don’t like you.” I said, grinning as I dragged him to the stairs. “Bye bye!” I screamed as I pushed him face first down the long flight of stairs. I ran to the kitchen phone. dialing 9-1-1.

“Hello, 9-1-1, what’s your emergency?” the dispatch questioned.

“My p-p-parents, they’re dead!” I screamed, acting as if I just got home.

“What is your name? Where do you live?” she asked.

“My name’s Luke, L-Luke Kennedy and I-I live on 7 New Jersey Lane,” I stuttered, trying to act worried, letting out an occasional sniffle.

“Okay, the police will be right there. Can you please describe the crime scene?” she demanded.

“Well-well I just came home and found my dad dead on the floor with a noose wrapped around his neck,” I let out a sigh. “ He must’ve killed my mother and then killed himself!” I exclaimed.

“Can you tell me how he killed your mother?” she asked.

“H-h-he stabbed her, s-slit her throat!” I yelled in pain.

“Okay, the police will be right there to investigate, goodbye,” she said softly. I hung up. I walked up to my dad, smiling at his pain.

“You weren’t the first victims!” I said, thinking back to five years ago, the year 2000; I was ten when I ended the lives of my birth parents. “You weren’t the first victims, you certainly won’t be the last!” I declared as I fled the house of the late Karen and Joshua Kennedy.

slasher

About the Creator

mikayla marie

basically a life story in the form of journalism. i guess that's poetic

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    mikayla marieWritten by mikayla marie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.