Horror logo

THE SHADOW IN THE MIRROR

When The Shadow In The Mirror Becomes Real, Are You Ready To Face It?

By Nurrafly QuadPublished 3 days ago 3 min read

I always felt something strange when I looked into the old mirror in the living room. Every time I gazed into it, I sensed a pair of eyes watching from behind my reflection. But I chalked it up to my imagination... until one night, I discovered something that changed everything.

That night, rain poured down heavily, accompanied by crashing thunder. I was alone in my late grandmother's old house. This house always felt cold and silent, but that night it was more terrifying than usual.

I sat in the living room, staring at the large mirror hanging on the wall. The mirror had been there since my grandmother was young, and she said it came from a grand house in the neighboring village that had long been abandoned. As I looked into the mirror, I saw my reflection. But then, I noticed another shadow behind me. I turned quickly, but nothing was there.

My heart pounded. I tried to convince myself it was just the shadows of the trees outside swaying in the wind. But when I looked back at the mirror, I saw the shadow again. This time, the shadow moved closer to me. I felt my blood freeze, unable to move.

With trembling hands, I grabbed a flashlight from the table and slowly approached the mirror. The shadow drew nearer, and I could see it more clearly. It was a woman with long, disheveled hair and a pale face. Her empty eyes stared straight at me.

I screamed and ran away from the mirror, trying to calm myself. My mind raced, searching for a logical explanation, but nothing made sense. I knew something was wrong with that mirror. I had to find answers.

I opened my grandmother's desk drawer and found an old diary. The pages were filled with her neat handwriting. I started reading and found notes about the mirror. It turned out my grandmother got it from a mysterious old woman. The woman warned that the mirror contained an evil spirit that could take the soul of anyone who dared to stare at it for too long.

Grandma wrote that the spirit was the ghost of a woman who had been murdered in front of the mirror. The woman haunted the mirror, looking for new victims to drag into her realm. Chills ran down my spine as I realized the shadow I saw was not just my imagination.

I decided to destroy the mirror. I grabbed a hammer from the garage and returned to the living room. With one hard swing, I shattered the mirror into tiny pieces. But before the last shard hit the floor, I saw the shadowy woman smile wickedly and disappear.

I thought it was over, but when I looked at the floor, the shards began to move on their own, forming a strange shape. Suddenly, a hand emerged from one of the shards, followed by the body of the woman I had seen earlier.

She stood before me, smiling with cold eyes. "You have freed me," she said in a raspy voice. I backed away, terrified and confused. The woman stepped closer, and before I could react, she grabbed my hand and pulled me into the remaining shards.

I woke up inside the mirror, seeing the outside world from behind the glass. There, in the living room, I saw my own body, but something was wrong. My eyes looked empty and cold, just like the woman’s. I tried to scream, but no sound came out. I was trapped inside the mirror while the woman took over my body.

Now, I can see and hear everything from within the mirror. Every night, I watch my own body wander around the house, doing terrifying things. I am trapped here, waiting for someone unfortunate enough to gaze into this mirror again and take my place.

But until that day comes, all I can do is hope... and fear.

Do you dare to look into an old mirror in your house now? There might be something watching from behind your reflection...

supernaturalhalloweenfiction

About the Creator

Nurrafly Quad

Terror lurks in the dark. Discover horror stories and creepy pasta that will make your blood run cold. Prepare yourself for an unforgettable spine-chilling experience. Dare you to unveil the darkness?

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nurrafly QuadWritten by Nurrafly Quad

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.