Horror logo

Good Boy

Starving

By Nicole BiblePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Good Boy
Photo by Caleb Fisher on Unsplash

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window.

Well, years are relative, but it surely seems like it’s been that long. Then again, I’m seven, so what do I know?

The candle was necessary considering we hadn’t any electricity, and the group of people had all seemed very dismayed before taking me away from my father.

I’m getting ahead of myself; I should probably start back at the beginning, or at least, what leads up to my life ending as it is this very moment.

I lived in this cabin all my life with my father. He was very kind to me, always taking me to the lake to swim and play ball. We curled up cozy in his bed or reclining arm chair, even when I was too big to actually fit.

Life was great, but one day he fell and never got back up. I’d finished all the food I could reach. I’d grown lonely, but mostly, starving.

His smell had changed dramatically, and I had an increasingly hard time finding it unpleasant, on the contrary, as the days without food increased, I found myself looking at him as if he’d never been my father.

I’d whimper and lick my chops.

When the hunger grew too much to bear, I decided he’d slept plenty long enough. I trotted to him and gave his face a lick.

He didn’t respond.

In fact, the normal rhythmic movement he had displayed in the past wasn’t there anymore.

He was so still, and flies buzzed around him incessantly.

Drool drizzled in a glop to the hardwood floor.

Maybe I could give him a light nip…

I would never hurt him, but he didn’t seem to be getting up anytime soon, so may be a little nip would be just the thing to rouse him.

I bit harder than I had intended, and some flesh came away in my mouth.

It tasted better than anything I’d ever eaten.

I swallowed it whole, and my stomach rumbled for more.

My father didn’t move, and not a sound came from his gaping mouth.

Surely he wouldn’t miss his face.

My small bites became bigger and bigger.

After his face, I began gnawing on his fingers.

The bones made the most satisfying crunch.

Crunch, crunch, crunch.

Mm… I’m still hungry…

Should I tear at his clothes? I’ve seen him without them, so surely they aren’t necessary…

Maybe I shouldn’t. Will he be angry with me?

I’ll take a break. Maybe he’ll wake up.

I had diarrhea in the floor and vomited some of him. I didn’t remember eating his hair.

I vomited again, but then I ate that too. It’s better than tearing at his clothes. He seemed to like wearing them.

I drank from the toilet again, and again, and again.

I don’t like how I’m feeling. I want to nip him again, but something feels wrong. I cannot understand it.

That’s when the people approached; I could smell them, and I barked as my tail wagged.

Maybe they’d help my father.

They lit the candle in the window…

It was strange to see the light. I lowered my tail when they approached my father, and then I growled.

It was a low rumbling that I didn’t know if I could control.

I bared my teeth.

I’d never growled before. This wasn’t pleasing, the people backed away, and one held something pointed at me.

I tried to wag my tail. I tried to show them I didn’t mean any harm, but I was still hungry, and didn’t want to eat my father anymore.

I made a strange snarl…

I think I heard a sound, but I’m unsure.

Everything disappeared.

I don’t think it hurt.

psychological
7

About the Creator

Nicole Bible

Hiya! Let’s be friends! I’m fun-loving and happy in my infinite existence! Comment for me, and I’ll return it! 🥰 I enjoy cuddles with my exotic Savanna Cat,🐈 watching 90’s anime, and engaging with anyone in the writing or art community!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Guy Cramb2 years ago

    Oh, Geez, did it have to be a Golden Retriever? A Rottweiler or Poodle, please. Cute creature POV piece. Would gladly read the pups siblings stories...other cabins--no human intruders, just huangry pups and human hash before its gone bad {{Wink}}

  • Ronin Wing2 years ago

    That poor pupper.😞 I loved this POV. Well done, Nicole!

  • Paegan Clark2 years ago

    I too laughed out loud when he said “surely he wouldn’t miss his face” Loved the idea of it being a person but actually his dog in the dogs pov! VERY COOL!!! 🖤🖤🖤 also, very campfire.

  • Danny Diez2 years ago

    You rock the first person narrator very well! When I read "eat my father" my eye did a little twitch xD

  • I loved how it built up the emotions and how my heart actually hurt once I realized it was from the dog’s perspective. Wonderful!

  • Ryan King2 years ago

    Wow! Fantastic out of the box original story! Interesting perspective… I love it!

  • Elijah Ward2 years ago

    What a story 😱 beautifully told!!

  • Matt carne2 years ago

    A delicious "tail" told from a fresh perspective! Loved hearing from the dogs thoughts... he truly was a good boy!

  • Heidi Robertson2 years ago

    Excellent story! I thought it was really unique to have it told from the dog's point of view. One thing that really struck me was the dog's continued innocence and optimism even while committing these heinous acts. This story was also realistic and led me to think about what happens to animals when their owners die at home; something I had not thought much about before reading this story.

  • Rayne0_o2 years ago

    This was great! I enjoyed the MC's thought processes, and I laughed out loud at 'Surely he wouldn't miss his face.' That was some insight. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

  • I’d love to read, like, and comment for comment with other writers! So drop me your honest opinion and I’ll share the support! 🥰

  • Rex Williams2 years ago

    On first look, I thought the image was odd for a horror story and found it intriguing. Knowing the narrator would die immediately and was only seven was chilling. My initial thoughts were the death would be from a dog attack, thus the tittle and image. I started getting the vibe that the narrator WAS the dog, and even though it became more and more obvious what was going to happen next, I could not look away. This is a very gruesome and nauseating tale, but I appreciated how the writer portrayed it staying true to the dog's POV and emotional attachment to their "father." It was heartbreaking at the end because you can't help but feel terrible for the poor doggo, and I appreciated the death was quick and painless. I'd like to point out that it is common for pets left attended with a deceased owner to eat them, making this realistic and that much more terrifying. I'm looking forward to more from this author.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.