Horror logo

Abigail 2024 Movie Review: Surprising for me!

OMG...

By Ayush VermaPublished 11 days ago 5 min read
Like
Abigail 2024 Movie Review

Guys, my friend did a very dirty prank on me today. I would like to advise all of you to never share your weaknesses with anyone. If you do this, then you can create trouble for yourself.

Now listen carefully. I have a friend to whom I told her that one of my weaknesses is that I stay away from horror movies. 

I feel very scared.

Now what did he do? I got a call from him in the morning: Let's go to the theater; a new movie has been released. When I asked for his name, he refused to tell me. He said that a new Hollywood movie has been released, so let's go watch it.

I thought that with this excuse I would get some content, and I went away.

After reaching there, I came to know that the movie was a horror movie, and I made it clear to my friend that I was not going inside, and then I understood why he was refusing to tell me the name of the movie on the phone.

Then he took me inside and started saying that there was not much horror in the movie, so there was no need to be so scared, and I agreed with him and sat down to watch.

I would like to tell you that I am happy that I came to watch this film with a completely blank mind, and as much as I read about it on Google, I should not have read it before watching it. Now it seems like this because the more you watch this film with a blank mind, mark my words, it will surprise you a lot.

Initially, there is no horror-like feel in the film, but as soon as the surprise factor comes to the fore, an enjoyable horror ride begins from there.

I am happy that I had not seen the trailer beforehand, and I also recommend that you neither watch the trailer nor search for anything about it before watching this film.

One thing I did not understand is why this film was not released in Hindi; that is, so many useless horror films from Hollywood are released on a large scale in Hindi versions, whereas this film is such a good film, made in such a good way. From production value to excellent performances, it is technically well made and does complete justice to the horror-comedy genre, but I don't know why it was not dubbed and released in Hindi on a large scale.

To be honest, even though my pants turn yellow from horror films, Abigail is really a very awesome horror film that should have been released after promoting it well.

Even my friend and I came out of the theater laughing.

See, let's discuss some basics. This film is only 1 hour and 49 minutes long, and its directors are Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett.

Matt Bettinelli-Olpin has directed many films like Scream VI, Scream, Ready or Not, Southbound, V/H/S, etc. That means we are seeing more horror films in the filmography of Matt Bettinelli-Olpin.

If you look at the casting, you will not see any familiar faces; there are completely new faces.

The lead actress here is Melissa Barrera. Whenever I was watching her throughout the film, I was thinking of Priyanka Chopra again and again because of the way her hairstyle or the way she has been presented in the film. Believe me, again and again only Priyanka Chopra is going to be remembered after seeing Melissa Barrera.

Abigail 2024 Review

Now, if I give you a little idea about the story without spoiling anything, then understand that there are some hired thieves and they are given a contract from somewhere that there is a girl from a rich family. You have to kidnap her and bring her, and in return, we will demand 50 million dollars from his father.

So among these hired thieves, some are hackers and some are Hulk-like guys; each of them has their own expertise, so in the end, these four to five people very easily kidnap the girl who belongs to a very rich family, and they had no idea how dangerous the consequences of what they were doing could be, and I don't want to tell what happens to them at the end because this is not a spoiler review.

But I will not be able to live without telling you one interesting thing.

The girl whom they plan to kidnap and succeed in is a very innocent girl, and the way she tells Melissa Barrera's character among those people, I am very sorry about what is going to happen to you now, Ufff. She says this to them when they kidnap her and bring her to their place.

After reaching this point, it seems that some twist has come because even till then the film was not looking like a horror comedy, but when that girl says that she is sad about whatever is going to happen to you guys right now, hahaha, then the excitement starts as to what is going to happen and who is going to do it, so it was suspenseful.

Even after the suspense is revealed, the film is very interesting, although nothing very different or unique or many twists and turns come, but the way everything was presented later, it was very interesting to watch everything.

The ending was even more fun, and there was a lot of bloodshed. If you like watching horror comedy films, then this film will not disappoint you at all.

As it is a horror comedy, it does not scare much, but it also has a few jump scares.

So not to scare you, but it is a horror comedy film that has a lot of bloodshed, so accordingly, you will like the film.

There is no need for parental guidance; it has been released in theaters with an A certificate. There is no sex, nudity, etc. in the film; only because of bloodshed has it been given an A. However, the censor board has also muted some words. Now I don't know why it was done; since it is an A certificate, there is no point in muting some words.

So this was my experience; the rest, when you watch this film or have seen it, please share your experiences with me if you want. I like it.

pop culturemovie review
Like

About the Creator

Ayush Verma

Nothing is impossible; the world itself says, "I' am possible!" - Audrey Hepburn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.