Horror logo

Fragments

The Pieces of Our Lives

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 9 min read
26
Image designed by Rick Henry using Microsoft Word and Photoshop

<<< Warning! This story contains sensitive subject matters. If you are sensitive to certain topics please scroll to the end of this story to see a brief description of what is in this story >>>

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I walked by the mirror and noticed something freaky about it. I became intimidated by the mirror. I had to step back from it. Something just wasn't right. My stomach grew shaky, so I hid behind the room divider in my bedroom. That way the mirror was not able to see me, but I could keep an eye on it.

It didn't last very long. The mirror managed to find me. A young girl, maybe 5 or 6 years old, had her arm outstretched with her index finger motioning for me to "come here."

What would a young girl like her want with a washed up twice divorced 72-year-old man like me? She looks vaguely familiar, but I can't place her.

"Come here," said the soft little voice. But I didn't budge, I stayed behind the room divider. This was all just a bit too strange for me.

"Come here daddy," the little girl spoke in a commanding voice.

What? She called me daddy. I took a better look at her. She's my daughter! What a shock. I'm not sure what to do.

"Daddy, daddy, please come here," as tears streamed from her eyes. She killed herself in 1997 at the age of twenty-four. She put a shotgun in her mouth, pulled the trigger, and left her brains splattered on the wall of our home.

She came to live with me when her mom and I divorced when she was six. Her mom was much worse than I was.

At first I was reluctant, but I stepped closer to the mirror. I had to see my daughter. I hadn't seen her in twenty-six years.

She outstretched her arm but this time her hand came out of the mirror. This was a frightening experience. It was an aggressive move. Her hand almost slapped my arm as it came toward me.

"Come on daddy. Come and visit with me." She said with her hand still reaching for me.

I stood there and began to back up, but something compelled me, and I took hold of her hand.

She tugged on me but she couldn’t pull my 192-pound body toward her.

I stepped closer. She said, "Step in and join me for tea." I wanted to step in, but I was afraid of breaking the mirror. She could tell I was hesitating.

"You won't break the mirror. Just step in."

So, I stepped toward the mirror with my left foot, and it slipped through like it was water.

It was the most amazing feeling. I felt youthful and vibrant like I was twenty-nine again. I had this extreme happiness take over me.

"Hi daddy," Lilly said. She grabbed my hand and took me walking. The world inside this mirror was fascinating.

There were flowers everywhere: pink flowers, yellow flowers, green flowers, tiny flowers, huge flowers, flowers dancing in the wind.

The sound of drums, guitars, and handclapping filled the air. The flowers grew tall and began swaying to the happy music. Lily began dancing with the flowers. She motioned for me to join her.

My body involuntarily propelled toward her, and I skipped over to her with a springy bounce I hadn't had in 40 years. It felt good. I held my head up tall and enjoyed the dancing.

Suddenly the flowers came to life, and they began singing the words: "Shiny happy people laughing ... Meet me in the crowd, people people...Throw your love around, love me, love me. Take it into town, happy, happy…"

Everything was so happy. The flowers were dancing, the sun was shining, and best of all I was dancing with my beautiful daughter. We were together again.

Lily grabbed my hand, "Come on daddy. I want to take you to see the ocean." She had always loved the ocean.

Somehow her clothes changed and she was wearing her favorite Minnie Mouse sweater. I was taken back. My six-year-old Lily was now thirteen in a flash.

She led me through the suburbs of central Orange County, California. We lived there in the mid-1980s with my second wife and her son Joel. Joel was five years younger than Lily.

Soon the suburbs turned into dusky skies and barren roads. I had an eerie feeling here. It was a big change from the dancing flowers to the deserted city. Lily was now 24, the age she was when she took her life. My heart broke and it never healed. I know I wasn't the perfect dad but I sure loved my Lily.

She took me inside an old, abandoned office building. It was dark as we entered. It felt as if we were walking into a dark tunnel. The passageway was narrow. As we walked in I noticed small shiny particles on the ground and as we walked further in on the ceiling and finally surrounding us on the walls.

We sat in a large echoing room. There was one cushiony chair in which Lily sat. I found an old wooden crate and sat on it. It was very uncomfortable, but I made it work.

"We've got a lot to talk about daddy. "

"Yes, a lot of unsaid things that needed to be said."

"Oh, I agree daddy. Why don't I go first and then we'll see what you have to say after I'm done," she said in a chilling voíce.

Something in her tone of voice did not sit well with me. I became unsettled by this. My stomach began to quiver, and my hands started to shake.

"Are you okay daddy?"

"Yes, I'm fine," I lied.

"I don't know daddy. I don't think you're fine."

I felt as if I was being interrogated.

I despondently said, "I'm fine." I rubbed my hand against my pant leg and a tiny piece of shiny matter lodged into my fingertip. I pulled it out of my finger, and it began to bleed. The tiny matter was a piece of mirror. It was very small, but I could see my face in it. My face was covered with horror. Seeing this shook me and I threw the little piece of mirror on the floor. It blended in with all the other tiny fragments of what I assumed were mirrors.

“Scared Daddy?”

"No sweetie, no."

"Well let's get this conversation going." Lily said.

She presented me with a small photo, "Do you know who this is?"

"Yes, that is your stepbrother Joel.

"Ding! Ding!," Motioning her hand like she was ringing a bell, "You're correct daddy. Let's talk about my little stepbrother Joel."

My stomach sank. I tried burying this long ago. I thought this was part of my past.

"You thought this was part of your past daddy?" She knew what I was thinking. "Yes, daddy I know what you're thinking."

I stood up, "Well sweetie I've got to go now."

"Where do you think you're going daddy? You won't find your way out of here. You'll die trying. Now sit down daddy. We have stuff to talk about."

My body shook as I sat back down.

"Joel was only eight years old when you married his mom. He was a good little boy and you broke him. You broke his spirit. I saw you when he was only nine and you took his head and banged it against the wall. His ear started bleeding. You banged his head a second time and a third time. Then he fell to the ground. He did nothing wrong; you just beat him for the sake of beating him. When his mom came back from the grocery store you told her he fell when you guys were outside tossing the football. He was too afraid to say anything to his mom. For that matter I was too afraid to say anything."

"Well, he tried…"

Lily cut me off quickly, "No well daddy. He did nothing wrong," she growled her words, "He did nothing wrong."

"I remember when he was eleven years old, and you touched him inappropriately. He was growing and he was a good-looking boy. You fondled him and grabbed him and when he pulled away you whirled him to the ground and spit on him. You told him to never walk away from you. I saw that. I was sixteen and so frightened. I cried for him.

"But Lily, I found God. I've faced my sins."

"Don't but me dad. You don't know what facing your sins means."

"When he was thirteen you chased him around the house with a two by four. Joel was crying and screaming for help, and I couldn't do anything. I was paralyzed with fear. You beat him on his back. You hit him twice.

"Oh sweetie, that was a long…"

"No, it wasn't dad. To me it isn't."

"I had to watch you for six years as you beat, belittled, and sexually assaulted Joel. It only ended because his mom divorced you and took Joel away when he was 14."

"I've been forgiven."

"No dad, you have not been forgiven. You do not know what forgiveness is or what it looks like."

"Okay well we're done. Take me back so I can go home."

"Oh no dad we're not done there's more to talk about."

I sat there in fear. I didn't want to hear anymore. I was emotionally distraught.

"The story doesn't end here. After Joel left the memories of him festered in my mind. I became tormented by guilt. I never told anybody. I should have told somebody. I couldn't handle the guilt anymore and because of your dirty deeds I killed myself. Dad, I killed myself because of you. Let that sink in."

I had tears rolling from my eyes. I was defeated. My baby killed herself because of me. What a nightmare. How can I live with myself?

Then a whirlwind picked up in the room and the pieces of mirror started swirling all around me. The mirror recomposed itself in front of me. It was the mirror I walked through. I felt a sense of relief. I could step out of this world and go back home. I stood up and stepped my foot forward.

"No dad. You're not getting out of here. You can't step through that mirror. Its purpose has changed. It's going to stay here with you in this room so you can watch yourself wither away as you slowly die from starvation.

In the blink of an eye. Lilly disappeared and I was left alone to face the cutting fragments of my sins.

===

Spoiler Alert!!!

Spoiler below!

Please do not read below this alert so as not to spoil the story for you.

This spoiler is in place for those that may be triggered by certain topics.

===

Spoiler begins here:

This story contains discussion of suicide, child abuse, physical beatings, and sexual abuse against a child.

Spoiler ends here.

===

fiction
26

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    You have admirable storytelling skills. I am curious. If the story had continued, what changes would we have seen in the main character?

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Wow, Rick, that was dark and awesome. Definitely the right choice of perspective!

  • Wow, this shook me. So well done. A great idea, taking the perspective of the abuser

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Rick, I liked the concept of writing a story from the perspective of the antagonist who is sure that he's a good man and has atoned for his sins. Well done!

  • Jeffrey A. Sapp 11 months ago

    Wow this is something else.

  • C. Rommial Butler12 months ago

    Sometimes facing oneself is the hardest thing to do, eh? Good job!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Very well done Rick. I guess he got what he deserved.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I Like this a lot! Dad didn't realize that his actions could literally come back to haunt him. And the reason the daughter offed herself was a great reveal. That's one of the worse things someone can tell you.

  • Gripping & triggering for me. That sudden shift from the playfulness & humor of the first few paragraphs to the revelation of the daughter's suicide was a absolutely breathtaking & shattering. Then you repeated the formula with the initial entrance into mirth & joy followed by a more drawn out confrontation with the past & the horrifying revelation of why she did it. Our son died in a car accident at the age of 18 & a half, a month before his high school graduation &, even though the circumstances of his death were different, I constantly find myself thinking of all the mistakes I made as a father & all the times I wish I had done better. None of the trauma his daughter & stepson suffered apply to me, & yet I find myself identifying with being confronted by all the things I got wrong. From my own experience, I would have made only one change to your story. He would not simply starve to death but rather be stuck in an eternity of watching through the mirror all the mistakes he made & what it cost him. Whether it be Hell or Purgatory or something else from some other mythology, I can't think of anything more horrific. Powerful & visceral storytelling. Thank you for sharing this.

  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    This is a touching and emotional story that portrays the love and loss that can be felt through the bond between a parent and their child. The description of the father's reunion with his daughter is very vivid and captures the moment well, while the sensitive subject matter is handled with care. The author uses excellent descriptive language to convey the changing emotions and experiences of the father as he reconnects with his daughter. Overall, this story is well-written and engaging, leaving a strong impression on the reader. Thanks to the author for sharing their work with us.

  • well done! The story is amazing!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You had a sweet essence at the beginning with little hints throughout where it was going. A great build to the finale. The ending was perfect. Well done

  • Beth Sarahabout a year ago

    Brilliant story 👏👏👏

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This went from 0 to 100 real fast. I love how people think that by finding God they should be forgiven of their earthly sins. Just because you've been forgiven does not mean you shouldn't face justice. Well done on this dark and twisted tale.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Super creepy and well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb story telling on abuse!!! Super job!!!💖💖💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Very scary and realistic depictions of abuse. Very well written

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    By the end I really wanted dear old dad to die. Great story Rick!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very creepy and dark story. You did an excellent job on this story 👍👍

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    This challenge really is bringing out the best (and worst) in us. Creepy and disturbing. Liked the hiding from the mirror at the start. Well done.

  • Jenni Lonmonabout a year ago

    Wow Rick, I did not see that twist coming!!! Very well written 👏🏻

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    The pain one causes is eternal. Traumatic story - strong message. Well done Rick. 🥰

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    That was quite disturbing. Well done.

  • Lily is totally correct. He thinks he found God, faced his sins, has been forgiven and that it was a long time ago. Lol! Jokes on him. Sins are sins, no matter how long ago it was or if you've repented or how much forgiveness you've asked. Everything has consequences and he has to face it. Good deeds or repenting ain't gonna cancel out your sins. They are there forever. I loved your story so much, Rick!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.