Horror logo

Chloe's Movie Challenge

A list of movies and television series reviewed by me

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 10 months ago • 10 min read
Like
Chloe's Movie Challenge
Photo by Denise Jans on Unsplash

This post may contain some movie spoilers. Please proceed with caution.

This post was really fun to make and I had to do some deep thinking in order to create it.

I challenge my Vocal followers and friends to write a list of their top movie/television series picks.

#1- Last movie you watched...

Day After Tomorrow (2004)

I watched this movie today with my partner and it was surprisingly good. We had found it on Disney+ and I loved this apocalyptic tale of the world turning into the new Ice Age.

#2- Last movie you watched in theaters...

Super Mario Bros (2023)

I watched this movie in theaters with my son and partner a few months back. It quite easily became his favourite movie. This was one of the best animated movies that I have ever seen.

#3- A film you always wanted to watch but haven't...

Girl in The Basement (2021)

Ever since I seen a few TikTok clips of this movie, I have been obsessed with this movie. I want to watch it so badly but it is not on any of my streaming devices. Sadness. Based on a true story about a woman locked in the basement by her father for over twenty-four years, it tells a harrowing tale.

#4- Favourite movie soundtrack...

Nerve (2016)

I loved this movie. It is an action/thriller adventure movie that had an incredible plot, cast and soundtrack. The music was utterly perfect in my opinion.

#5- A movie you like because of its story...

The Saw Franchise (2004-2021)

I love these movies. I even have them all on disc. I find them to be so exciting because of the storyline. If I could go back and erase my memory of them, just to be surprised again, I totally would. If you don't like horror or slasher movies than these will not be your cup of tea. I find the characters to be intriguing, the puzzles to be confusing, and the overal message that Jigsaw portrays to be terrifying. If you haven't watched them yet, what are you doing reading this post? G0 online and watch them. There are nine films total within the franchise. Trust me, they are worth the watch if you don't mind a lot of gore. I cringed at some parts myself but the story is worth it.

#6-Your favourite duo on screen...

Bones (2005-2017)

Booth and Brennan from the tv series Bones

This has always been one of my favourite TV shows. I remember watching episode when it first came out with my grandma. I love a good crime television series but this one tops most of them. It's funny, inspiring, the storyline is beautifully written, and the crime element is spot on in my opinion.

#7- A film that disappointed you...

The Nun (2018)

I hated this movie. I was so disappointed by it. It just wasn't what I was expecting for a horror movie and it left me feeling disappointed and like I wasted my time watching it. And trust me I gave it a second chance and tried watching it again and nope, it still disappointed me. It was just boring and not worth the watch. Or the money I spent on it.

#8- A TV series you think is underrated...

The 100 (2014-2020)

I started watching this series when it first came out back in 2014 and I followed it in a huge way. It was an amazing futuristic TV show based on a novel written by Kass Morgan. They strayed away from her original ideas but kept some of the main characters and plot points. It was an incredible cast and story from start to finish. I highly recommend this series to anyone. I was super disappointed that the spin off series was cancelled because I wanted more from the show. 10/10 recommend.

#9- Your favourite scene from a movie...

Related to the one above, but a scene I never get tired of is the one from The 100 during Season 6. It is such a romantic scene and it utterly melted my heart the first time that I watched it.

#10- A film that reminds you of someone...

The Fault in Our Stars (2015)

I watched this movie in theaters back in high school with some of my best friends back in the day. It was an utterly perfect evening with good times and good friends. A memory on Facebook still pops up every year of our night out and I will forever remember watching this beautiful movie with them. If you haven't heard of this movie, it was based on the novel written by John Green. It is about two cancer patients falling in love with each other. It is quite romantic and sweet. A real tear-jerker.

#11- Your guilty pleasure movie...

Not a movie but the TV series Orange Is The New Black (2013-2019) happens to be my favourite guilty pleasure TV show. I never get sick of watching it. I love the raunchy sense of humor in this prison TV show that is also based on a true story.

#12- An underrated movie you want people to watch...

The Banana Splits (2019)

This movie used to be on Netflix and I feel like it should be spoken about more. I loved how it was based on a real TV series. The events that took place in this creepy horror film were obviously fictional but terrifying nonetheless. I loved it. I even wrote about it a few years back on this post below.

#13- A movie you love its colour scheme...

Thirteen Reasons Why (2017-2020)

This popular teen television series about suicide was also based on a book written by Jay Asher. I found it to be filmed incredibly well. They explore colour so well in the flashback scenes in this series. It makes it easy to tell when it is a flashback and when the scene is happening in the present. It really isn't a show meant for everyone but in my opinion it is worth the watch.

#14- Your favourite female director...

This was a tough one since there are not many female directors out there. I do have to say after the research that I did, I found that Frozen happened to be directed by two directors and one of them was a female. Her name is Jennifer Michelle Lee.

#15- A film that discusses mental health...

A Beautiful Mind (2002)

I studied this movie in a psychology class back in the day. It depicts a man that struggles with schizophrenia. It is an excellent watch and I can go back to it time and time again because of how well the plot truly was.

#16- A movie you keep going back to...

One Missed Call (2008)

I loved this movie as a child. As an adult I still find it scary to be honest. This was a hard one to decide because there are so many movies out there (many of them already on this list) that I could choose from. I remember watching this movie with my mom and I got really freaked out as a kid. It is based on a Japanese horror film by the same name.

#17- That mood changer movie...

This was a tough one for me. But I have to say that Cheaper By The Dozen (2003) is always that movie that cheers me up and puts a smile on my face.

#18- A quote you admire from your favourite film

"Your fingerprints don't fade from the lives that you have touched."

Remember Me (2010)

I loved this movie. When I read this challenge this is what instantly popped into my mind. There are so many other insightful quotes in this movie featuring Robert Pattison and Emilie de Ravin but this is by far my favourite.

#19- A movie based on a true…story…

The Conjuring (2012)

This movie is spooky to say the least. It was based on the career of Ed and Lorraine Warren, a demonologist and his psychic wife. This movie was based on the true events that happened to the Perron family back in 1974 after they moved into a new house. This movie is suspenseful, terrifying and worth the watch.

#20- Your favourite cinematographer...

Michael Fimognari

Another one that I had to do research for. I loved his work in the horror TV film The Haunting of Hill House (2018). It is by far one of the better TV series that I have watched and some of the scenes he filmed were utterly astonishing.

#21-Your favourite actor/actress...

Jennifer Lawrence

I have always found her to be an incredible actor. The way she embodies her characters should be spoken about more. I loved her in The Hunger Games (2012-2016) and in Winter's Bone (2010).

#22- A director you think is a total genius...

James Wan

He is by far my favourite director. I love his horror films. My favourite one so far happens to be Malignant (2021) but he also is responsible for directing The Conjuring (2013) and Insidious (2010) which are also amazing movies.

#23-Your favourite female lead movie...

Salt (2010)

I remember watching this movie when I was a preteen and I thought to myself…. Wow… what a badass. I fell in love with Angelina Jolie during this movie. What a phenomenal actor. This movie is about a Russian spy who’s been interrogated into the United States. Totally worth the watch.

#24- A sequel that you're not a fan of...

My Girl 2 (1994)

My Girl is one of my favourite movies. I loved the novel too. The first movie was just better than the second. The story was okay during the second film but I don't rewatch it like I do with My Girl. It just "added" more to the original story but I didn't like it as much as the first movie. Sorry not sorry.

#25- Your favourite local director...

Not a director, but I have always been fond of the fact that my local small town has a big time animator that grew up here. His name is Andrew Ford.

#26- A movie you find hopeful...

Chemical Hearts (2020)

This romantic movie starring Lili Reinhart and Austin Abrams was utterly inspiring to me as a writer. I fell in love with the story. It is worth the watch in my honest opinion.

#27- A film you know by heart...

Jurassic Park: The Lost World (1997)

I used to binge watch this sci-fi, adventure movie when I was a child. It still do this day is one of my favourite movies. I wore out a copy of the disc because my family watched it so many times. I have lines memorized and everything. It's like the movie can play in my head. "Don't go into the long grass! Not in the long grass!"

#28- Your favourite opening scene...

Shrek (2001)

This is by far my favourite childhood movie. I loved this scene as it sets the tone for the entire movie. Plus it's a good song.

#29- A film that was based on a book and executed well...

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games Part 2)

This is one of my all-time favourite movie series. I binge watch them all a few times a year. Catching Fire was executed so well. They hit the nail on the head with this one. It was so similar to the book that it surprised me the first time I watched it.

#30- A TV series that you're binging now....

Currently rewatching How I Met Your Mother for the 1000th time. It’s one of my favourite television series out there. The story is phenomenal and the actor’s chemistry is very good in my opinion. They did a great job with this one and it always cheers me up on bad days. If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend you check it out.

Thank you for reading. What was your favourite from this list?

Chloe Rose Violet

CONTENT WARNINGtv reviewmovie reviewlistpop culturemovie review
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.