Horror logo

Through the Looking Glass

A short story based on true events

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
Through the Looking Glass
Photo by Curology on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. In my reflection I could see a hideous looking creature behind me. It was black with yellow patches along its body with golden yellow eyes that peered deeply into my own. It had two curled horns on the top of its head. I turned around and nothing was there. I looked back at the mirror and the being was still behind me. I finished washing my hands in the bathroom sink and dashed out the door as quickly as I could, my heart was racing a million times an hour. What in the hell did I just see in my bathroom?

I tried to erase it from my thoughts and make a cup of chamomile tea before bed. I took all my medication, took a sip of tea and went straight up to my bedroom with my cup and a nice book to read. Setting the cup down on my bedside table, I got changed into my pajamas. All of a sudden I felt pinpricks down my spine. Its like whatever was in my bathroom, followed me into my bedroom. I slowly turned my head around, and nothing was there. I lit a stick of incense to clear my space before I eventually winded down for the night.

I turned the lights out but left my bedside lamp on, and began reading the next chapter of my book. I happened to be reading a book on the Salem Witch trials. After I read for a little while, I began to grow tired. I still couldn't shake the feeling that something was there. Ignoring that thought, I set my book on my night table and turned the lamp off.

It took me a while to fully fall asleep. I couldn't shake the feeling that something was watching me. After a few hours of fitful sleep, I awoke to something grabbing my foot. With a jolt I sat up and flicked on the lamp next to me. Nothing was there. I looked at the time on my phone and it read 3:33 a.m. in the morning. I shuddered with fear. Was what I seen in the mirror real? It couldn't have been. It had to have been my imagination. Now that I was fully awake and terrified, I decided to camp out on the couch instead of my bedroom. It felt safer for me considering what had just happened.

When I got downstairs, I could sense that something was there. I couldn't quite put my finger on it but I knew in my heart there was a demon presently living in my house. I didn't know what to do but I was terrified. I turned all the lights on and laid down on the couch. A smell of rotten eggs became very apparent but my house was spotless. I scrunched my eyes together so tight and pulled my comforter over my head as if that would protect me from whatever invisible forces where out there. I began silently praying to God to send angels to protect me. I prayed as hard as I could even though I didn't really know how.

All of a sudden, the blanket was pulled off of me. I stood up terrified, looking around to see what did it. There was nothing there. Why could I only see this creature when I'm looking in the mirror? The lights I had turned on in my living room flickered once, just once, all at the same time. I was completely spooked. Whatever was happening to me was real. I couldn't keep pretending that something didn't happen. What did this demon want with me? Why was it here? I sat on the couch and prayed that this night would end.

Chloe Rose Violet

Check out another one of my short stories below!

supernaturalmonster
3

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Your descriptive language was so engaging. You did a great job playing on the senses and using that to create fear and suspense in your story! I am completely blown away, sitting at the edge of me seat wanting to know what happens next!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.