Horror logo

Can You Imagine?

My imagination did this...

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - February 2024
27
Image Created with DALL-E software

The sound of small clawed feet as they skittered across the wood floor below my bed echoed through my dark bedroom.

 

I sat straight up in alarm. “Did you hear that?” I asked my husband as I gave him a shake, while he laid along side me.

 

“Hear what?” He mumbled in a groggy voice as he rolled over to look at me through sleepy eyes.

 

The same skittering sound came from under the bed again and I jumped in alarm.

 

“That sound.” I murmured in a fearful voice.

 

“I don’t hear anything.” He replied through a muffled voice with his face smushed into the pillow.

 

The sound started up again and my blood ran cold in anxiety. I pulled my legs up to my chest and hugged them tight, while I waited for the sound to start up again but it didn’t. I continued to wait for some time but nothing did and eventually I convinced myself that it was safe enough to lay back down. Eventually I relaxed enough that I was able to forget about the sound and fall asleep.

 

 

Hours later I was awakened by something wet as it rubbed against my hand. It left a cold slimy texture upon my palm as it hung over the edge.

“Ack.” I squeaked and yanked my hand back. I scooted myself towards the middle of the bed in fear, until I bumped into my husband and disturbed him as he slept.

 

“What now?” He mumbled in a dream-ridden voice.

 

“Something brushed against my hand.” I whimpered as I laid there and scanned the edge for any sign of the thing that touched me. Worried that it would crest over the edge and show it’s ugly face.

 

“It’s just a dream, go back to sleep.” He grumbled as he tossed a heavy arm over me in consolation.

 

I nodded to myself and hoped he was right. With a sigh I was convinced that this was nothing but my imagination and within seconds I felt safe enough to fall back asleep.

 

 

But my rest didn’t last long, at some point my foot precariously dangled off the edge of the bed. Which I only realized after a cold scaly hand reached up and yanked me half out of the bed as I yelped in terror.

I scrambled back on to the bed in a sweaty panic and curled up in a ball alongside my husband. I glanced over and saw his foot as it peeked out of the covers and over the edge. Without another thought I dove across the bed and pulled it into safety, just as that skittering sound from earlier had headed for his side.

 

“What are you doing?” He asked in impatience.

 

“It was coming for you.” I explained in a panic as I peaked over his side and saw a long black tail disappear below the bed, followed by the clacking of claws on wood floor.

 

“What was?” He asked through a scowl as he slapped lips together sleepily.

 

“The thing under the bed.” I stated as I curled up in the middle again, worried the creature would be brave enough to jump onto the bed next.

 

“What?” He asked one more time.

 

“There’s a thing under the bed and I can hear it running around. It touched my hand, grabbed my foot and tried to drag me out of the bed.” I explained with a fear-filled look at my husband.

 

“There is nothing under the bed.” He sighed in exhaustion.

 

“Yes there is!” I argued as the skittering sound circled the underside of our bed again.

 

“Fine, then I’ll have a look under and show you there’s nothing there.” He explained as he haphazardly rolled out of bed and reached for his phone.

 

“No!” I shouted and dove across the bed to drag him back on.

 

But he already had the flashlight setting on and was peering underneath.

“Relax, there’s nothing here.” He said with a furrowed brow in annoyance.

 

“Yes there is.” I protested and scooted over to the edge.

 

“Like I said, it’s just your imagination. Look.” He stated and moved the flashlight down to show me.”

 

But as I peered over the edge I saw a clawed scaly hand wrap its fingers around his ankle and in the blink of an eye my husband disappeared below the bed without a sound. The only thing that remained was his phone as it lay on the floor, it’s light shone upwards and cast the room in an eery glow.

And that was the last time I saw of him. All thanks to my imagination.

urban legendsupernaturalpsychologicalmonsterfiction
27

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelly Sibley 2 months ago

    Your poor husband. It's a good story, though, so there's a silver lining there!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    I guess that's cheaper than a divorce 🤦‍♂️🤷‍♂️. Great story, Donna!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    That even put me on edge, and I love horror. Excellent entry, Donna and congrats on the TS

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Wonderful! Well done! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Hey Donna, it has been a while. Husband should have listened. so sorry you are now a widow. Monster under the bed dreams of hubby disappearing. Still you have the cats and dogs and the monster to keep you company. Beware...you are next. Congrats on TS.

  • Yayyyyyyyy I'm soooo happy that this got a Top Story!!! Congratulations! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Ayyy congrats, Donna!

  • Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story! YAY!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Back to say congrats.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    So, how's the marriage? ;)

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    Hey hey! Ho ho! Look at my girl Donna Go! Congrats on Top Story my friend! Super super well deserved! Once again expressing my happiness that I'm not that specific incarnation of the eternal being that is Alex XD

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Omg I was so terrified for him and then that last line!! So is he gone or was it just a waking dream?? I NEED ANSWERS!

  • Hahahahahahhahahahahahaha!!! Me to Alex be like, "See ya, wouldn't wanna be ya!" 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Moral of the story, always listen to the wife! She is always right! In the lost ancient language, husband means wrong and wife means right. That is why opposite attracts. And husbands exists to prove that wives are right. Because how else to prove something is right without the wrong. Also, remember the Husband Clause. The husband only exists to be blamed for everything. In this story, he exists as a sacrifice. Or maybe a peace offering, to make peace with the creature. I knowwww that I'm not making much sense but please bare with me. I'm in my "everything suddenly seems so funny to me" kinda mood now 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Anyway, thank you so much for making my day with this story! 🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ha ha, that final sarcastic irritation!

  • I love the way you build the tension and curiosity, then the matter-of-fact way you conclude the story with "And that was the last time I saw of him. All thanks to my imagination." Poor hubby! (I hope he had a good life insurance policy!) Great story, Donna.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Oh damn! Alex noo!! Loved this story, Donna :) The double sense of dread and mild amusement as the narrative just barely, almost convinced me there was nothing there but then YOINK! Disappeared dude. Very nicely done :)

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Holy moly! The lights would have been on in my room the second I heard a thing! I guess that’s one way of bumping off your husband!! Great story Donna!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That was wild! Poor hubby.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    That's some imagination you've got there! Fun story, H!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.